Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Frühstück
Angekommen schlafen essen losgehen. Nicht viel anderes gemacht.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danmark

God beliggenhed

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Stor buffet og fin service i indcheckning. Værelserne ok, men sengene var lidt for hårde.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tschechien

Schöne Umgebung, tolles Frühstück

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Frühstück.
Tolle Umgebung, in 20 Minuten zu Fuss im Stadtzentrum oder noch schneller mit dem Bus, gute Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe, Arthur´s Seat in 5 Minuten erreichbar, wunderbares warmes Frühstück - unglaublich breite Auswahl, etwas Ähnliches erlebte ich noch nie!, sicher, ruhig, schnelles WLAN.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Theatre visit

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Central and near to city centre
Cons: N/A
Location: Excellent location
Helpful staff and very clean facilities. Availability was key to my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant, easy access to bus stops,

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Not very good at texting, I can't complain??? Brian
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place to stay on a short journey

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location / Staff / Cafeteria / proximity to the attractions / good connectivity to the nearby places / cleaniness
Cons: The light switch in the washroom and a mechanism to control humidity in the room if its possible.
Location: Arthur's Seat / Castle / Princes Street / Hollyrood Palace/ Haymarket
I was looking around on the internet for a place to stay in Edinburgh when I read that the center most places in the city would fall in the postcode of EH1 and EH2 which is exactly the case with the Pollock halls. It lies very close to the Princes Street which in turn is about 30 mins from the Airport and walking distance from the hotel. The major attractions that are closer to the hotel are . Hollyrood Palace/ Castle / Princes street and most importantly, the Arthur's Seat which is amazing. Now onto to the experience of staying in the hotel, I thought the room, although a tad smalle in size was sufficent for one person. There is not TV in the room, the washroom is shared as is already mentioned in the website, but the probablity of not having a vacant washroom is very less. So no worries there. The cafeteria is huge and its got stuff for both the Veggies and Non-veggies. The internet availability and speed is also pretty good. All in all, I really liked the stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Kurzer Citytrip. Schönes Hotel, gut mit Bus zu erreichen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Easy reach of town centre.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: On site restaurant facilities.
Cons: Nothing needs improved.
Location: Close to town centre and well served by piblic transport.
The Pollock Halls of Residence, althogh built as student accommodation is a first class base for budget travellers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Canada

Great location...beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Enjoyed our stay at the Pollock and loved that we could walk to Edinburgh Castle and many of the other sites. Staff were great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good value for money

Posted Jul 16, 2016
It is what it is. It's not fancy but for your money you get a clean room with a comfortable enough bed to sleep in. The worst part was the tiny showers which aren't built for anyone over 5'8, but if that's the worst thing, then there's really not a lot to complain about.