Ratings based on 1,409 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable base for night out in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Clean Room, Nice breakfast
Cons: Room signage and directions were a little confusing.
Location: .
A comfortable base, offering clean rooms, nice breakfast and a welcoming bar to start your evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location at an affordable price

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We wanted somewhere close to the city centre with ease of access to restaurants and other facilities. Perfect location. Great breakfast. Also has bar and restaurant on site. Didn't use but lots of people did!! Also very good location if want to go for run from doorstep with Arthurs Seat and venue for Edinburgh 10k on doorstep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay for all purposes

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I was so pleasantly surprised how great this place was. The staff were so kind and helpful. The place was clean and quiet. The breakfast was decent. definitely recommend for a quick stay if you have stuff to do in Edin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good Location, very helpful staff members

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff members, great location for walks around Holyrood Park and Arthurs Seat
Cons: Maybe quieter closing doors in the dorm areas, I did find that I kept getting woken up during the night when people were coming and going from rooms.
Location: Good Location for walks and from the town
I stayed for 2 nights and thought the area of the accommodation was very well situated to get to several places around the town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location, price, breakfast
Cons: Noise of slamming doors
Location: Location is 2km away from the centre. Nearby: Holyrood park, Arthur's seat, swimming pool, gym.
The hotel is located approximately 2km from the city centre, which makes it reachable by a short walk. The reception is very helpful and welcoming, and the rooms are suitable, as well. Although shared bathrooms and toilets are being used, I would not consider this a disadvantage, because there is a plenty of them, they are always free and private enough. Breakfast choices were absolutely amazing. Nevertheless, the biggest disadvantage of this accommodation is that there is absolutely no peace and quiet. The greatest problem are all the fire and rooms doors, that are constantly being slammed by residents. The constant and loud slamming noises, which are also propagated from the above floors, keep you awake at night. Hence, I did not manage to get more than 5-6 hours of good sleep at any night. I think that the owner should stick some rubber to the door frames to silence the noises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Leafy, spacious, good value for money

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting and leafy. Quiet and traffic free. Staff helpful. Clean. Food plentiful. Walking distance from most facilities.
Cons: Sausages and bacon Coffee
Location: Lovely and easy to reach most things on foot. Buses plentiful too
Pleasant environment and within walking distance from the university and old town. Food plentiful although eating arrangements a bit crowded and noisy. Staff helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, England

For the price can't complain

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Hotel was cheap bit basic no tv and a shared bathroom but breakfast was excelent and Holyrood park is beautiful 100 yards away. Staff are friendly and helpful good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It is a student residence - very convenient for young travellers. But a little bit far away from city center - not within a walking range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional and handy location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Beds and bed linen. Open for breakfast a bit earlier.
Location: Location good. 15 min walk to the Royal Mile.
Stayed for one night with daughter as she was swimming at commonwealth pool which is right next door. Room was fairly small but adequate and clean. There is tea and coffee making , ensuite shower and small tv. Security is very good as you need your keycard to get in to the building and floors aswell as your room. Only thing I found was that the bed was very hard and the bed linen could have been a bit better. Breakfast choice was very good . We waited until 7.30 am the time it stated the breakfast opened only to find it was very busy and had obviously opened earlier than 7.30 . The dining hall is open for dinner but we opted for the bar next door to it and had a lovely meal there. It has a good atmosphere and variety of people from children to adults, families to singles. I had my car with me and although I had to wait when I arrived the barrier attendants found me a space and I was issued with a parking permit which let me park the car till the following evening. The staff were all very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Reliable and comfortable accommodations...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This is my second time staying at Pollock Halls and it continues to be a great choice. Rooms are basic, but clean and tidy. Full breakfast is a great way to start the day. Staff is amazingly friendly and helpful (which was much appreciated for a solo traveler). The location is also great, right on a bus route close to the city centre. I also appreciate the on campus restaurant, bank machine and convenience store... which helps out with needed supplies in the evenings. I would definitely recommend this location!