Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peru, NY

5 Star Stay

Posted Aug 24, 2016
August 2016 - 5 star stay - room and property was better than what I viewed online - staff was excellent - breakfast was top notch - 45 min walk to golden mile - short cab ride back - 4 course Scottish dinner show next door on the property was the an unexpected delight!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eifel

Ein Traum in UK

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Alles
Cons: Nein
Location: Bummeln und Military Tattoo bestaunen
Zimmer ein Traum in Englischen edlen Einrichtungsstiel. Frühstück einfach in Ruhe mit wunderbaren Blick auf Golfplatz mit alten Bäumen genießen . Die Herren im Schottenrock äußerst aufmerksam und freundlich!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Amazing; beyond expectations.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Staying at the Prestonfield House was the highlight of our trip to the UK. We felt like royalty since the minute we arrived. The members of the staff were extremely kind, helpful, and professional. The hotel and its surrounding areas are beyond beautiful (make sure to take a walk around the green areas). The room was absolutely charming and comfortable (we couldn't hear any noise, even though there were private parties at the hotel every night). Each and every single public room is uniquely and tastefully decorated with period details. The peacocks roaming freely around the green areas are a unique and delightful sight. And I should not forget to mention the daily (yes, daily!) bottle of champagne, cookies, and chocolates in our room. If you are not staying at the hotel, make sure to have dinner at the restaurant or go for afternoon tea--you will not regret it. We are planing a future vacation to Edinburgh just to stay at the Prestonfield House. Thank you for a unique and wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Country Oasis in the middle of the city

Posted May 29, 2016
A classic Edinburgh hotel. Staff make you feel special. Peacocks flutter by your head on the terrace
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
FANTÁSTICO !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Romantic hotel with superb service

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Service!! Quiet, peaceful, romantic....we loved everything about Prestonfield House.
Cons: Wait staff in the dining room could be more informed about the meals they serve, and carpets etc show wear, but it was still fabulous.
Location: In Edinburgh. Close (although not walking distance) to the castle and train station and airport
My husband and I spent two weeks in England and Scotland celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. This was our favorite hotel of our entire trip! It is in Edinburgh, but manages to feel removed and peaceful and like a romantic sanctuary. It has little sitting rooms with fireplaces where you can sit and have a drink or visit and warm yourself by the fire. The staff here was friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed without being over bearing or pretentious. My husband said he would travel back to Scotland again just to stay at this hotel!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely setting, beautiful building. The food was very good but I cannot say we experienced anything close to the level of service described by most other reviewers (for example, we had to go find someone after waiting nearly half an hour to settle a dining bill). Perhaps it is best to leave even well behaved children at home.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Bed bugs

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Was bitten by bed bugs, when I drew this to the attention of the management I was informed this was impossible and that I should seek medical advice for other conditions, offered a voucher and sent in my way. After staying in the finest and most average hotels around the world I can honestly say I've never experienced such poor managerial attitude before