Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Great location, bad hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Although this hotel is in a great location, it's also dirty, unsafe and has no facilities at all. You have to walk over and up the street to the sister hotel that houses the dining room. Although the hotel website states vegetarian breakfast available - it's actually just eggs and beans. There were sockets hanging off the walls in the bedroom, a shower that was full of mould, no hot water and general poor cleanliness all round.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More hostel than anything else

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The regis is perfectly fine if you want hostel kind of experience although we had our separate room, which if there was a small group of back backers would have been fine for(kitchen included) but the acessessive marks on bedsheet, the mould in the shower, the leaky roof, miniature tv and measley breadfast meant we were glad to only be staying one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value vs price!

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: breakfasts, location, proce
Cons: bathroom
Location: quite alright, not the most silent, but it's rather normal in the cities
Late check-in but it was alright. Good breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The location of the hotel was good considering its price. The breakfast provided was also nice. Rooms were cozy and spacious and felt just like home. I would definitely book in this hotel if I ever go back to Edinburgh.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bury Lancashire

Disatisfied

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Other than breakfast nothing else
Cons: It requries a complete makeover
Location: Location good for the City centre
Facilities very poor. Unclean shower cubicle no ventilation no parking free parking facilities had to walk to sister Guest house for breakfast, although the breakfast and service was good
5 out of 5
by Shirley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by lynn from angus

revamp required

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Short stay thankfully first impression was stained pillow cases on bed generally not cleanest and could do with revamp as decor fixtures and fittings old and tired. Also had to go to another guest house to check in and for breakfast not convient
5 out of 5
by Mahmoud

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Okay . . . in a pinch

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was on a street I like in Edinburgh.
Cons: Uncarpeted floors in the rooms would probably be easier to keep clean. Replacing the old wallpaper with fresh paint might also help.
Location: The location is good for bus connections to central Edinburgh.
This was a last minute choice and so not well thought out. I learned through the Internet that I had to go to a different location to register, so that saved me the frustration of going to the Regis first and discovering that I had to go down the block to register, dragging my luggage behind me, and then going back to my room. There was no staff person on site until the room cleaner arrived at check-out time.
5 out of 5
by Frances

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels