Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Good value for money

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness, level of equipment, helpful staff.
Cons: Ventilation/aircon. Thicker carpets. Quality and range of toiletries.
Location: Great location, a short walk to the main attractions and transport links.
I stayed in a split level apartment for 4 nights in March. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. My first impression was that it was typical university accommodation but actually it was better than most I've stayed in as it was aimed at business customers and had been refurbished fairly recently. It was clean, had an excellent shower, a comfortable bed, a TV on each level, a desk with plenty of sockets nearby, wifi that worked and all the kitchen equipment I needed. It was a 10 minute walk to Waverley Station and Princes Street and 3 minutes to the nearest bus stops, supermarkets and restaurants. On the downside, there was an opening window but it didn't open very far - I didn't need any heating even in March and in summer I think it could get quite hot and stuffy. The soundproofing was poor, the floorboards creaked and you could hear other people moving about at times. The room was advertised as a double but it would have been a bit cramped for 2 people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leyland

Didn't even get to sample the apartment we booked

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: We never got chance to find out.
Cons: Reservation staff need to be alert to the fact that people of the same name could, on occasion, stay at the same hotel and avoid such confusion.
Location: Clerk Street offers a nice range of restaurants, pubs and shops that are bustling but without the same price level or congestion of the city centre.
Sadly we didn't get to stay in the apartment we booked because they received two bookings for the same night from two people of the same name, and therefore assumed it was a duplicate and only reserved one room. As I was the second of the two people of the same name trying to check in, the apartment had already gone and they had no other availability, so had to send us to their sister hotel 3/4 of a mile further out of the town centre, which wasn't ideal on a damp weekend when we had anticipated being able to walk everywhere. The receptionist at Richmond Place was very apologetic and did her best to help, arranging a free cab transfer for us, but it seemed that the reception team at Masson House (the substitute hotel) were less experienced at dealing with a situation like that, as they weren't in a position to be able to cover our taxi costs to travel in and out of town, and advised that we collected receipts and try to claim them back, but with no guarantee that it would be repaid to us. In the end, the substitute hotel was nice enough and covered our means, but didn't offer the same level of amenities that we'd hoped for with our first booking. We simply took on the wind and rain and walked the extra 10-15 mins in each direction to save the hassle and potential conflict of an unsuccessfully resolved taxi rebate request at a later date and tried our best to make the most of the situation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Good situation for the university

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Electrical sockets near mirrors
Location: Near university, restaurants and museums
Very convenient location for the university. Good space, clean and polite staff. Nothing fancy but all facilities you need apart from electric sockets near a mirror. Big bug bear in hotels, obviously designed by men who don't apply make up or dry hair with a hair dryer. Loads of sockets if you want to use a lap top or charge you phone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Comfortable flat in an interesting area

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: It was clean, quiet and convenient.
Cons: I couldn't get the wifi to work but that might be my fault
Location: Near the old University building, the Festival Theatre, Pleasance Venues, Queen's Hall, mosque, places to eat, bus stops, Royal Mile, Museums etc.
The Studio was long and narrow but well furnished, the kitchen area well equipped and the bathroom small but more than adequate. Everything was new and cheerful and the staff kind and helpful. It was blessedly quiet, not always the case at Festival time, and was near all the Venues we wanted to visit. Nicholson Street nearby provided a choice of places to eat, a convenience shop and cash machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Immaculately clean and well equipped.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: It was in a good position for all venues at the Fringe and not too far from the railway station. Also it was secure and very very clean!
Cons: Can't think of anything in particular.
Location: We went to the Edinburgh Festival so there are far too many things to mention! I presume it would also be great for people attending the Tattoo.
The apartment was secure and in a great position for all the venues at the Edinburgh Festival. We were very impressed with the friendly welcome and the security of the apartments. There was everything you could possibly need in the apartment itself, including a fully equipped kitchen area, plenty of hanging space, a hair drier, a great powerful shower with lovely toiletries and nice white towels, and even some milk and coffee. Although the room itself was on the small side, and the bed was crammed against three walls, it was perfectly ok for a couple of nights. There were plenty of mini-markets and bars and restaurants within a minute or two's walk, and the railway station is only about a 15 minute walk away. The most impressive thing of all was the cleanliness of the place - absolutely immaculate and a credit to the cleaning staff. Also, on our last day, there was a secure room for us to store our luggage until we went to catch our train home. We will definitely stay here again and have recommended the apartments to our friends and relatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good access to everyplace

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We enjoyed our stay for two nights. The location is quite good: good access to famous tourists' attractions, supermarkets and restaurants. Walkable to the railway station and just 30 min. Bus drive to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location and room.
Cons: Have a free parking area for unloading the car. Returned the rental car after checking in.
Location: Close walk to Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, National museum, and hiking.
Very cool room with loft for the bed. We didn't do any cooking, but looked like they had everything in the kitchen to cook a full meal. Location was excellent; just a short walk to the Royal Mile and many nearby restaurants. When we checked out, we were able to leave our bags for the day while we explored before our flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Great shower. Very quiet
Location: Near centre of town
Great location, friendly, helpful staff. Good shower, clean room. Would happily stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice, well-equipped apartments

Posted Jul 13, 2015
This is a great option if you want an affordable place to stay that feels like home and gives you a break from restaurant food in favour of home cooked meals. A nice little apartment with everything you need and close to city centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Substandard student accommodations

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Cons: See above!
Although I was convinced that I had paid already and relayed this information to the receptionist, the receptionist at the front desk suggested that their standard practice is to pay upon check-in. So, because I could not check my credit card statement on the spot, I agreed to have them charge it again. I then called my credit card company later that day and they confirmed that, indeed, I had already paid. I went back to the front desk to have them reverse the charge. The receptionist at the time (a different one from the earlier shift) called her supervisor and her supervisor told her that I had already been charged and instructed her to reverse the charge. She took my card, "reversed" the charge, and told me that I had to wait three days for it to clear. Four days later (after leaving the country) I checked and the charge was not reversed. I then called them and a new receptionist said that a reversal had not been processed but that she would process it. Besides that unnecessary drama, the bed in the room was positioned in a perfect place for you to hit your head on the bulk head above the bed and the room that I was given was a cave with no cell phone reception.