Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leyland

Didn't even get to sample the apartment we booked

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: We never got chance to find out.
Cons: Reservation staff need to be alert to the fact that people of the same name could, on occasion, stay at the same hotel and avoid such confusion.
Location: Clerk Street offers a nice range of restaurants, pubs and shops that are bustling but without the same price level or congestion of the city centre.
Sadly we didn't get to stay in the apartment we booked because they received two bookings for the same night from two people of the same name, and therefore assumed it was a duplicate and only reserved one room. As I was the second of the two people of the same name trying to check in, the apartment had already gone and they had no other availability, so had to send us to their sister hotel 3/4 of a mile further out of the town centre, which wasn't ideal on a damp weekend when we had anticipated being able to walk everywhere. The receptionist at Richmond Place was very apologetic and did her best to help, arranging a free cab transfer for us, but it seemed that the reception team at Masson House (the substitute hotel) were less experienced at dealing with a situation like that, as they weren't in a position to be able to cover our taxi costs to travel in and out of town, and advised that we collected receipts and try to claim them back, but with no guarantee that it would be repaid to us. In the end, the substitute hotel was nice enough and covered our means, but didn't offer the same level of amenities that we'd hoped for with our first booking. We simply took on the wind and rain and walked the extra 10-15 mins in each direction to save the hassle and potential conflict of an unsuccessfully resolved taxi rebate request at a later date and tried our best to make the most of the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ricardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anders from Sverige

Edinburgh

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastiskt läge till ett överkomligt pris
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Good situation for the university

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Electrical sockets near mirrors
Location: Near university, restaurants and museums
Very convenient location for the university. Good space, clean and polite staff. Nothing fancy but all facilities you need apart from electric sockets near a mirror. Big bug bear in hotels, obviously designed by men who don't apply make up or dry hair with a hair dryer. Loads of sockets if you want to use a lap top or charge you phone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Comfortable flat in an interesting area

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: It was clean, quiet and convenient.
Cons: I couldn't get the wifi to work but that might be my fault
Location: Near the old University building, the Festival Theatre, Pleasance Venues, Queen's Hall, mosque, places to eat, bus stops, Royal Mile, Museums etc.
The Studio was long and narrow but well furnished, the kitchen area well equipped and the bathroom small but more than adequate. Everything was new and cheerful and the staff kind and helpful. It was blessedly quiet, not always the case at Festival time, and was near all the Venues we wanted to visit. Nicholson Street nearby provided a choice of places to eat, a convenience shop and cash machines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely compact but had most things in it you would need, although a couple of things like the number of towels and the complimentary toiletries were lacking. Had to clean the cutlery as their was dried on food left from the previous users, otherwise the room was clean. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the building is in a quiet area, central for everything we wanted to do. The luggage store is not in the reception area and is not supervised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by christine p.

excellent location for The Fringe

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Ebookers
Apartment was great value - clean and comfortable. Only problem was noise from the Poundland warehouse which is directly below
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ed from Newcastle upon Tyne

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
We've stayed here a couple of times during the Fringe, and its the perfect place to rest your head while you're rushing from show to show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Immaculately clean and well equipped.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: It was in a good position for all venues at the Fringe and not too far from the railway station. Also it was secure and very very clean!
Cons: Can't think of anything in particular.
Location: We went to the Edinburgh Festival so there are far too many things to mention! I presume it would also be great for people attending the Tattoo.
The apartment was secure and in a great position for all the venues at the Edinburgh Festival. We were very impressed with the friendly welcome and the security of the apartments. There was everything you could possibly need in the apartment itself, including a fully equipped kitchen area, plenty of hanging space, a hair drier, a great powerful shower with lovely toiletries and nice white towels, and even some milk and coffee. Although the room itself was on the small side, and the bed was crammed against three walls, it was perfectly ok for a couple of nights. There were plenty of mini-markets and bars and restaurants within a minute or two's walk, and the railway station is only about a 15 minute walk away. The most impressive thing of all was the cleanliness of the place - absolutely immaculate and a credit to the cleaning staff. Also, on our last day, there was a secure room for us to store our luggage until we went to catch our train home. We will definitely stay here again and have recommended the apartments to our friends and relatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Eine gute Adresse in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Die ruhige und zentrale Lage sowie das gute Preis-Leistungsverhältnis, mit Einkaufen um die Ecke.
Cons: Wir hatten zu zweit ein 120 breites Bett, eine Einzelpers. dagegen ein 140 breites. Das war eine Zumutung und darf nicht passieren.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in zentraler Lage in der Altstadt, man kann fast alles zu Fuß erreichen- Einkaufen, Besichtigen, Ausgehen und Arthurs-Seat.
Wir waren zufällig während der Festivalzeit Anfang August in Edinburgh. Es war grandios was die Stadt zu dieser Zeit alles bietet, an allen Ecken und auf allen Plätzen kann man eine bunte Mischung an kuriosen, schrägen, lustigen,kreativen jungen Leute begenen und dabei Kostproben ihres Programms bestaunen. Kultur, Natur und vor allem die gemütliche Kneipenkultur am Abend mit Lifemusik und bester Bier und Wiskyauswahl haben uns begeistert. Das Highlight war einer Tour auf den Arthurs-Seat mit wunderbaren Weitblicken auf Stadt, Meer und dahinter liegende Landschaften,