Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Underwhelmed by The Ritz.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Good location near a lot of local pubs and attractions.
Expedia's posting for The Ritz oversold the hotel. We were very excited about our stay with them, until we checked in. It looks nice on the outside, and even the common areas are cute with a lot of character. However, the room was disappointing. We were underwhelmed to say the least. To start off, the hotel doesn't have an elevator, so you had to take your luggage up a lot of stairs. Also, the hotel rooms use an old skeleton key instead of a modern key card. Once inside the room, the carpet was old and questionable and there were cracks in the walls and ceiling. In the bathroom, the painted ceiling was peeling and flakes of pink paint fall onto the floor and into the tub, the shower was sad and hard to use, and the floor was soft and had questionable dark coloring to the laminate that might be mold. I feel like the Ritz has so much potential, but they need to seriously consider some basic upgrades as well as repairs to the rooms. I understand that it's a hotel with more European character than the Hilton next door, but I was bothered by the condition of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good rest, easy access to town and friendly

Posted Oct 14, 2016
It is easy to get to the centre of Edinburgh, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a good rest and it was great to find out that this place also welcomes dogs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint but shabby

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Great location, very close to Haymarket station and the tramline, and so excellent transport links to anywhere in Edinburgh.
On the upside, it was good value for the quaint room, a good sized bath with nice hot water, coffee and tea in the room, friendly staff and breakfast provided. On the downside, the heating was off when I arrived and then when it was on, it ticked loudly throughout the night. There was a noisy bathroom fan and the shower was either freezing or boiling. The bar was not licensed after 11pm despite it being a hotel. And the place had this general feeling of being neglected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great hotel to stay

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Not a great hotel to stay. Will avoid in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ED

Very central, great location on the Haymarket

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Ebookers
Ideal, very comfortable, and exactly what I needed it for as a last minute (fairly unusual - I know) booking, and price was great! Job's a good 'un!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Poor room presentation. Fitted sheets inside out, doona cover also inside out. Room was dated and did not present well. Good location and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near everthing...

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Excellent staff. Hotel is dated but very clean. Breakfast are also included. Cant ask for more
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidstone

Ritz

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel with many original features and mixed with some modern features such as bathrooms. Spacious room comfy bed and great hosts. Excellent location for town and sightseeing and of course teams and buses. Continental breakfast which set you up for the day nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barrow in furness

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful the room was enormous and the hotel was quite
Cons: It just needs updating
Location: Location is very goid
A couple of nights break very good value very large room