Ratings based on 1,117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not a positive experience.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Excellent location.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Walking distance to everything in Edinburgh Old Town and New Town.
If I had known this hotel was under major construction, I would have chosen a hotel elsewhere. Dirt, debris, tools, new windows, workmen, etc, were everywhere. One elevator was out of order, some stairs were not accessible. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The two times I had breakfast I was told the porridge hadn't been delivered. Edinburgh is fantastic; the hotel wasn't.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Clean and comfortable room.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was clean and newly renovated. However the hotel is under major construction. So at this moment I wouldnt recommend staying there as there is alot of mess in the halls from the renovations. But once the renovations are complete it will be a great hotel! Very great location! Hotel staff were also very good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bo'ness

Nice hotel in the very centre of Edinburgh

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel room had a great view of Princes Street and was very modern and clean, however, after paying good money for this perfect location we did not expect things to be broken on arrival to our room. Part of the toilet seat had broken off and the sink in the bathroom would not drain away any water, the plug seemed to be stuck with no way of getting it out. Before our stay we were not aware of any building work/ refurbishment going on throughout the hotel and even when we checked in it wasn't mentioned. The areas that were being refurbished weren't cordened off in any way or didnt have any signs up to let guests know that work was taking place. Overall, it would have been a nice stay if these problems hadn't occurred and on a more positive note we were able to extend our check out time by one hour without any charge and the bar/ restaurant looked lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toledo ohio

Best location in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Terrific hotel. Great location to Feorge street shopping, Harvey Nichols and Stockbridge. Very elegant and quiet, considering the Princes Street location. Executive room needs a full length mirror and second waste basket (just an observation.) our king was comfy and the room was large. Warning! Book your bar or restaurant reservation in advance. This hotel had a great bar and restaurant This hotel is very chic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from ohio

Fourth of July in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 6, 2016
This hotel will be on par with the very best in Edinburgh, after the completions are finished. Our room was huge and comfy. The hotel restaurant and bar are tops in Edinburgh. Hotel and dining staff are exceptional. We will return again soon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

So Royal

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Location, comfy bed, breakfast buffet.
Cons: renovations
Location: The tour buses + Royal Mile are right there. As gifts, the handsome "Glenn Gary" hats were hard to find, except at www. scotlandshopdirect. com .
THE place to stay in Edinburgh. POSITIVES: A stately building with 100+ rooms, facing the train station, with a spectacular second-floor dining room and lounge overlooking the Castle and city, with friendly staff and clean rooms. NEGATIVES: This is transition from Centuries 19 to 21 during summer 2016, so half the rooms are blocked, and some details are unfinished, We would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, staff
Location: Right on Princes street so walking distance to tourist attractions.
We highly enjoyed staying here. The staff were very nice and happy to help (for example, checked us in early and gave us a US/UK adaptor to use during our stay). The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean and the location was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rostock

Mittendrin

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Gute Lage, gutes Zimmer
Location: Es befindet sich mitten im Stadtzentrum am Bahnhof Waverley. Dort hält auch der Flughafenbus, die Stadtbusse und die Straßenbahn.
Für die Erkundung von Edinburgh ist die Lage ideal, alles ist fußläufig zu erreichen. Die Stadt hat eine tolle Atmosphäre, gemütliche Pubs, spannende Museen und Galerien. Edinburgh Castle ist sehr beeindruckend, wir konnen es von unserem Zimmer aus sehen. Empfehlenswert ist eine Tour durch die zahlreichen Keller und Gewölbe der Stadt, wo einem schöne Gruselgeschichten erzählt werden.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Great Hotel close to everything you want to see!

Posted Jun 20, 2016
This hotel was under some renovations and I can't wait to come back when it is finished! My room was adorable and I had a lovely view of Princess Street, the gardens, North Bridge, the Scott Monument (which is a must to climb) and even the Castle. Hotel staff very very friendly, good food and right across the road from the busses and Waverley Station. A great place to stay!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very central to all the places of interest

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: It was a clean and comfortable hotel and the staff were extremely helpful.
Cons: Can't think of any
Location: The Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish National Gallery, The Whiskey experience are all star attractions.
We had a good time at the Royal British Hotel - it was very central for shops, restaurants, rail and bus links and also for visiting all the usual places of interest historical or otherwise.