Ratings based on 1,187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel is under renovation, but it wasn't disruptive. My room was beautiful. The hotel is across from the train station and very close to the tour buses.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: the interior of the hotel was very pretty. The bed, was huge and comfortable.
Location: Hotel is right in front of the train station, and bus stop. Also now, they have the Christmas Market on the other side of the train station.
The Hotel is located very close to the Bus stop and train station, which is very useful if you are traveling from the airport. The Hotel Staff was very helpful when we asked where to eat, what to see and how to navigate in the city. Rooms seem that they were renovated, and very clean. It also seems that the Hotel is actually changing the name from Royal British to Indigo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal central location amazing midweek value.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Style
Location: Opposite Waverley Mall on Princes Street, super location.
The hotel is under going renovations but this didn't impact on our stay. The new rooms are comfortable and stylish. Staff welcoming, easy access to wifi. For the price, and location cannot be bettered .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scottish Comfort & Designer Delight

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Room decor was designed with inspiration and function (and quiet on the 5th floor). Hallways are filled with Scottish portraits for tradition and modern touch. Hotel is still working on their branding and should be rated as 4-5 star.
Cons: Establishment should consider adding the "basic" trash can and desk lamp (desk area) plus a safe. I was unable to do my work while my partner was sleeping unless ceiling lights were on. Also since the reception area is beside the bar (no dividing doors) they need to consider turning down the music so we can talk /hear the receptionist during check in at 5pm.
Location: Across from Waverly Train station for convenience. Edinburgh is a small city and majority of historical attractions are walkable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burgos

Muy bien!!!! Inmejorable situación....

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: La habitación estaba muy bien, muy agradable y limpia y el baño era pequeño pero estaba bien. El desayuno no entra, tienes que pagar 12,5 libras, pero esta muy bien , y el comedor es precioso....
Cons: El hotel estaba en obras. Es un hotel antiguo y lo están reformando, pero tampoco fue muy incómodo...
Location: La ubicación es excelente Todo está cerca. Cuando la calle están la oficina de turismo, la estación de tren y muy cerquita la estación de autobús.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Central City Comfort

Posted Oct 30, 2016
All you need for a city centre break. Clean pleasant and comfortable. Didnt try food but bar and restaurant looked good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great for exploring Edinburgh

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The hotel is really lovely with great amenities and nice refurbished rooms. We even had a nice view of the castle from the windows. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

refurbished to poor standard

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: perfect
not enough wardrobe space, cold water goes all over , noisy room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

Right across from the Railway Station

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We were thrilled with our choice- we trained it from London and as soon as we popped out of the railway station, there was our hotel in all of it's glory right across the street. The next morning, we started mapping our day of walking to realize that this hotel is directly in the center of everything a tourist wants to see in 2 days. The staff was delightful and accommodating, from the front desk to the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated, excellent location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel looked newly renovated. I had a view of the city, on Princes street which made the room noisy. But this was something I expected and didn't mind. Coffee, tea, cookies in the room, which looks great. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would return.