Ratings based on 1,153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Loved it!!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This hotel was clean and centrally located! Plus there are short bread cookies and Aveda bathroom products. I loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co. Durham

Exelent location.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Close to all the amenities in both the new and old parts the city The welcome our party received was friendly and very professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This hotel is right across from the train station and bus pickup. It was very nice. Kind of old but very comfy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Lovely Hotel. Very centrally situated on Princes Street close to all amenities & shops and good for sightseeing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Location to all major attractions, and the train and bus stations.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a working elevator.
Location: Walking distance to Old Town and New Town attractions, very close to park and the bus tours. Also very close to the airport bus drop-off.
I needed a hotel near the train station, and this one fit the bill. The room was nice with a wonderful view of the Old Town. Unfortunately, the elevator was broken, but the staff carried my bags up and down the stairs. I kept getting lost in the hallway, but I would find my way out. The room was very nice, and I like the shower. It was very easy to get to most of Edinburgh's major attractions as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Amazing staff, great comfy room, aveda products in bathroom!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on Princes St

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Nice location facing the Edinburgh Castle. Close to the Royal Mile and all attractions and shopping. Only negative was there is no parking close. You have to park blocks away and carry your luggage through the streets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location with terrible staff & no hot water

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The decor was great
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Great location in the centre
We arrived late on a Friday wanting showers after a long day of traveling. We were unable to take a shower as there was no hot water. The night porter came up stairs ran the tap in the bathroom (because clearly we were not trust worthy enough and he had to check himself) to find that indeed the water was tepid at best. After wiping his hands on our hand towel and placing it back on the rack (ewwww) he suggested it was warm enough to take a shower & I kid you not- it was cool water. He then informed us it was the Edinburgh fringe fest & therefore they had no other rooms to move us to. The next morning the house keeping staff were so loud slamming the door to the room next door repeatedly coming in and out (like 7 or 8 times literally) that I got up to ask them politely if they could keep it down. They then proceeded to slam the vacuum cleaner into the adjoining wall repeatedly. Good thing was the hot water was working & we assumed it was resolved, but we were wrong. The next day it was not working again, so we called down & I asked for the duty manager. When I explained the situation that we had no hot water his response was- "I would question that." as if I was lying. Like I don't have better things to do on my holiday than call the front desk of the hotel & lie to them about the water. He asked to come up stairs and show us how the taps worked. Seriously. It was a terrible experience all the way around- there are plenty of other great hotels in Edinburgh- stay in those.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel , great central location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Decor and location
Location: Very central, close to train station and shopping mall. Easy access to Royal Mile and Castle.
Very nice hotel which has recently been refurbished. We got a view of the castle as requested. Has a classic modern look and also incorporates many appropriate Scottish references into the decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albany

Nice, but undergoing construction...

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The rooms and view were great...
Cons: I understand that they were renovating, and the new look is great.
Location: Perfect location, and within walking distance of everything.
We were unable to use the stairs for much ofourvisit, making us wait forever for the elevator. That was our main complaint...