Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fife

Good hotel in great location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The central location and friendly staff.
Cons: Our room was on 5th floor but lift only goes to 4th floor.
Location: Location was perfect as I wanted to do shopping, visit the Christmas market and go to the theatre.
Had an evening meal in the restaurant overlooking the castle. Food and service were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel well located with a stunning view

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: The hotel is situated in the main street in Edimburgh with an amazing view to the castle
The hotel is well situated in the center of the city, with public transport right in front of the door. The cooked breakfast you can choose from a menu, and you can serve yourself from juices, cereals and fruit. The staff is friendly and helpful. Only had problems with the room as the floor wasn't plan, it had electricity sockets right behind the head while laying down on the bed and loads of sinister locked doors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location, but...

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The property & atmosphere was overly pretentious. It was just a good hotel in a prime location on Princes Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanarkshire area

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Excellent location, Princes St gardens and Scott monument across the road. Rose Street, Royal mile five minute walk, shopping excellent
Ok hotel, very pleasant helpful staff, from reception to waiting staff, breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. Room was clean but needed some refurbishment, which I beleive has been started , the bed was very comfortable but needed new pillows. The carpet fitter was measuring up the stairs and the painters had started on the woodwork , It is an old hotel with character features so some wear and tear is to be expected When refurbishment is complete it should be a lovely hotel . Some reviews I read before going were not so good, however from literature in room there has been a recent change in management and senior staff and things seem to be improving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springdale Arkansas

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Located close to transportation which made site seeing very easy. Views of castle from our room were amazing. The down fall was our room was a converted attic and luggage had to be carried up the final flight of stairs. Not a handicap friendly hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Perfect location to explore the city. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Lovely old hotel with nice staff and great view

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Excellent location and very friendly staff. Food is good also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Genuine friendly staff , lovely food , comfortable well kept room .
Cons: More evening meal choices
Location: So well positioned for most attractions - castle , golden mile , holyrood palace , tour busses terminal , rail station .
The airport transfer bus dropped us at the hotel door which was a good start to our 4 day stay . We were greeted by really friendly staff who made our stay enjoyable . Breakfast was so good . There is a limited evening menu . The hotel ; being on Princes St. ; was central to most city attractions & the room overlooked a lovely park with a great view of the castle . We would stay there again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the castle

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: location. near the edinburg castle and shopping area
Cons: noise reduction
Location: perfect location, shopping, attractions
I booked a hotel with a castle view. I ended up getting a room with a view of bird's poo on the roof. It would have been perfect if i got what i booked for,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient for train or airport travel.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, convenient, spacious room. View from the bar to Edinburgh Castle. Served hot breakfast delicious and a pleasant part of the day.
An overnight stay, close to Waverly train Station and the airport express bus. Location chosen for convenience and value for money. The concept for the hotel/club is interesting. First I heard of it.