Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful things happen here.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
It was a good stay! I met new friends. We call ourselves JK Rowling as we went to Elephant House and know each other a lot more. Since then, we all became very close
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the amazing review, do come and visit again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Good location, but uphill & downhill walking, not suitable to elderly & family.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great feedback. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear you had problems with incline of the street, we also have another entrance from the Grass market which has no hills at all. I'm afraid Edinburgh anent old town is full of hills. We hope to see you again someday soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
The bed is not very comfortable, makes too much noise
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Please let us know which room you stayed in & we will investigate this matter further, Kind Regards Anne Sheehan Reception Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff were fine, issues with room, wasn't amazing

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Stayed there for 4 night room wasn't the cleanest I've stayed in. Bar was good overall. price of drinks was same as anywhere in town so didn't save money their.Staff overall were good polite and helpfull. Hostel is in a noisy area lots of loud people outside until early hours. But the price was good so I would give it a try could go either way. Been in worse places. Another plus is / was, I did feel safe at safestay
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Anne Sheehan, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We're sorry to hear you didn't find our cleanliness standard as high as it ordinarily is. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hostel. Could you please send us details of the room you stayed in so we may investigate further? Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay..quality budget accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Central hostel with great staff.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Really enthusiastic and helpful staff. Cool bar downstairs and great, central location. The girl at reception had heaps of recommendations for spots to visit. If I'm ever back in Edinburgh, I'll be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

As safe as its name suggests!! :)

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: You're in the middle of just about everything important, though getting to Waverley does take some manoeuvring and planning.
I was travelling alone and stayed in a room of eight; my roommates were friendly and it was comfortable. Some of the facilities in the room weren't top notch (ex: lights and outlets not working, creaky bunk beds), but in terms of what I had paid for, I got far more than what I had expected. My only issue is that there were only two outlets for8 people and one of them wasn't working throughout my four-night stay. Thankfully, there are several outlets in the main seating area that is usually empty so I charged my phone, laptop and camera there. Staff is also very friendly and approachable, and they gave great recommendations for both touristy and not-so-touristy things to do around Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Convenient and quality hostel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Great location. Would recommend. Temperature in dorm room was hot, so we all were okay with the window being open. This room however was right along the sidewalk and the noise from drunken revelers on a Saturday night made us close the window which was stifling. Other rooms were probably ok. Loved that there were large and convenient lockers on the lower level. 6€ for 24 hours with in and out access.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

handy stopover before airport trip early morning

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
More like a hotel than i had expected great value