Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Central yet Separate

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: central yet separate
Cons: Re-hang the toilet to its correct height
Location: University, SE of city, walking distance to most stuff
Excellent, all bar the toilet which was wall hung and far too low.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice old style hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Ok there are more modern hotels and in brand new condition in the heart of Edinburgh but they will be at least double the price. The room was very clean and had everything you can want. Breakfast was good and quickly served. Internet (free) was excellent and very fast. I would stay here again when going to Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was like being back at university

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room was good very clean only problem it was 3 flights up and very narrow stairways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel for a city break

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This is a nice well kept hotel within walking distance of the city centre. The staff were so friendly and honest to a fault. I tried to tip but they are not allowed to accept (some charity connection. I would stay there again and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Absolutely beautiful! The staff could not have been more friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful without a cheap price

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
When booking the Salisbury Green, we expected a converted castle, however upon arrival it was apparent we were staying in re-purposed student accommodation. Staying on the ground floor, our room was very basic with a small double bed, poor lighting (only lamps) and with only key card provided meaning you lost power to the room when going for breakfast. We were very disappointed with the quality of the room relative to the price that we paid. We would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UAE

A Magical (mini) Castle!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Premises, location, quiet, service.
Cons: TV was way too small!
Location: Arthur's Seat, Holyrood Palace, Old Town, The University of Edinburgh.
This hotel is located on the foot of Arthur's Seat, in the vicinity of Holyrood Palace, and at an okay distance from Old Town. What charmed us mostly about it is its building, which is an old Victorian house located in a rather secluded and very quiet area, surrounded by nature. I would recommend it to anyone hoping to stay in a quiet place with a magical castle-like ambience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

relaxing break in Edinburgh

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
a comfortable room, informative reception, good breakfast, a bus stop right outside the gates or a 20 min walk into the centre, free car park which is a bargain in Edinburgh and a lovely man on the gate with the parking permits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Amazing value.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Entry hall is very dated and slight damp smell, but room was great.
Location: Bus stop across road straight to city centre. Pub across road.
The room was spotlessly clean, lovely big bathroom and all staff were extremely pleasant. Easy commute to Edinburgh city centre by bus. Fantastic breakfast. Amazing value for money.