Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Hospitality

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Andy was extremely helpful. Nice location - quick easy ride to center of town by city bus. Good B&B !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice guest house in an easy location, the owners are polite and friendly, the building is beautiful and the breakfast is worth the room rate alone :) everything was simple and easy from check in untill check out. I will recommend it to all our friends looking to stay in Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good hotel in excellent location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, lovely staff & excellent choice at breakfast.
Location: Hotel overlooks Leith Links. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, Ocean Terminal & Royal Yacht Britannia. 10 minutes by bus into centre of Edinburgh
Perfect location for quick & easy public transport into centre of Edinburgh. Comfortable & quiet hotel - just what was needed following busy day viewing Fringe shows/events.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accomodations with easy transportation

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Room was clean, beds were comfortable and quite big.
Cons: Hard to
Location: We took the bus most often into the center of Edinburgh during our stay. But you can visit the Royal Britannica quite easily.
My friends and I had been to two other cities on our UK trip before coming to the Sandaig and these were by far the most spacious. Although we were not at the city center in Edinburgh, we were very close to a bus stop which made it easy to get around to various tourist attractions. The included breakfast was also a plus. When I go back to Edinburgh, I plan to stay at the Sandaig (hopefully they won't be completely booked up!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thames, New Zealand

Lovely guest house close to public transport

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Excellent location close to public transport and regular buses to the city or the coast.
We had a lovely experience at Sandaig. The first morning we had an early start and were given a take out breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfy. We were also really well positioned near public transport, the city and the coast.
5 out of 5
by Tony

As good as ever

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Annual visit to Edinburgh and have stayed here each time. The standard has not deteriorated at all since Andy took it over and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the capital as it is on Bus Route 25 which takes you to Princess Street in about 15 minutes.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tracy from Sydney Australia

Great bed and breakfast

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Did everything they could to make us feel welcome, great breakfast easy access to Edinburgh and ocean terminal (Britannia) would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Wales

Home from home

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: I stayed in rm 8 en suite needed updating bigger shower floor tiles cracked radiator needs moving as dangerous burnt leg when sat on the toilet.
Location: Great location easy bus ride into centre or walk if not raining.
Home from home stay. Very clean and one of the best beds I slept in when away from home. An outstanding breakfast. Staff very pleasant and polite at all times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia,SC

Hospitality?

Posted Oct 6, 2015
No one was there and the door was locked when we arrived. Fortunately we were with a friend from Edinburgh. He called the BnB and the owner told him how to get in to the lock box. There was an envelope on the hall table with our keys in it. The owner apologized the next day; however, I noticed 2 more guest envelopes on the table the next day which meant ,again, no one was there to greet them. The breakfast is very good and served nicely but that is the ONLY time the owners or anyone for that matter show up. It is not a welcoming atmosphere.