Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good hotel in excellent location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, lovely staff & excellent choice at breakfast.
Location: Hotel overlooks Leith Links. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, Ocean Terminal & Royal Yacht Britannia. 10 minutes by bus into centre of Edinburgh
Perfect location for quick & easy public transport into centre of Edinburgh. Comfortable & quiet hotel - just what was needed following busy day viewing Fringe shows/events.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thames, New Zealand

Lovely guest house close to public transport

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Excellent location close to public transport and regular buses to the city or the coast.
We had a lovely experience at Sandaig. The first morning we had an early start and were given a take out breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfy. We were also really well positioned near public transport, the city and the coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Wales

Home from home

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: I stayed in rm 8 en suite needed updating bigger shower floor tiles cracked radiator needs moving as dangerous burnt leg when sat on the toilet.
Location: Great location easy bus ride into centre or walk if not raining.
Home from home stay. Very clean and one of the best beds I slept in when away from home. An outstanding breakfast. Staff very pleasant and polite at all times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia,SC

Hospitality?

Posted Oct 6, 2015
No one was there and the door was locked when we arrived. Fortunately we were with a friend from Edinburgh. He called the BnB and the owner told him how to get in to the lock box. There was an envelope on the hall table with our keys in it. The owner apologized the next day; however, I noticed 2 more guest envelopes on the table the next day which meant ,again, no one was there to greet them. The breakfast is very good and served nicely but that is the ONLY time the owners or anyone for that matter show up. It is not a welcoming atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Sandaig is great!

Posted Sep 25, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay here - close to everything we wanted to see and the hosts were GREAT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the money

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Everything clean, nice breakfast, and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and help in any way possible. I liked the fact it is not in a touristy neighborhood, and thus many good restaurants close, that were more local in flavor. The hotel is just steps away from bus stops, and about a 15 minute ride to the center of town. I would recommend, and definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location
Cons: More security re keys.
Location: A quick bus ride to old and new town, a short walk to pier area for restaurants.
Nice B&B. Owners and staff very helpful. Bus to old and new town very close and you can buy tickets at the B&B. Our room was comfortable except the angles in the ceiling made it difficult at times to move around and I hit my head during the night. One concern, all the room keys unlock all the doors! We found out by accident when we switched keys with our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Posted Jul 19, 2015
It was excellent! Karen and Andy go above and beyond to make sure your stay goes well. We got into the city early I the morning, and when asked if we could leave our luggage with them while we toured a bit, they were more than accommodating. We were also able to pick our keys up before 11, even though the room wasn't going to be ready until 2. Breakfast was wonderful, tasty and filling. Our room was clean, comfortable and quant, and relatively quiet. We were on the back side, so the only noise we heard was some of the other guests getting in later at night. We caught a tour on our last day, and Andy and Karen were more than willing to book us a cab, and leave out take-away breakfasts for us, since we would be missing breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Location is good.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
General speaking, it's fine. The bedsheets' quality can be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Nice guest house close attractions.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Andy and Karen lovely friendly hosts. Andy was more than happy to advise on places of interest to visit. Breakfast was excellent, very filling, tasty and plentiful. Bed nice and comfy, room very clean and cosy. Close to Royal Yacht Britannia which is well worth a visit. Edinburgh city centre and castle make for a very nice day out. The people are so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be recommending a stay at Sandaig to anyone visiting Edinburgh.