Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great and Relaxing.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The staff is incredible and very helpful. Whatever you want to see and do, they will tell you the best way to get there, and every detail you need. The Guest House is quiet, cozy, clean, and perfectly located close enough to Princess Street, and the Royal Mile, but just far enough to escape the those loud and busy streets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liebevoll geführtes Hostel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Liebevoll geführtes Hostel, gute Ausstattung im Zimmer, super mit Baby leckeres Frühstück, Besitzerin gerne bereit für Infos und Tipps,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ingonish, Nova Scotia

Vivienne was great. She made us feel at home.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and clean. So much more than we expected. Vivienne went over and above to help us on our trip with tips on where to go and what to see. Can't wait to go back again
Cons: There was nothing that I didn't like about this hotel. It was perfect for what we needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Nice walking distance to main attractions

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: We loved the breakfasts. A lovely selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and yogurt set us up for the day.
We were extremely happy with our accommodation. Arriving early, we had only planned to drop our bags off before exploring Edinburgh, but as our room was ready we were invited to check in early. Vivienne, who runs the house, was extremely friendly and helpful in offering advice and tips and how best to use our time. The house is a pleasant walk to Edinburgh Castle and other attractions. There is also a bus stop out the front, and car parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Gastgeber, Lage und Frühstück!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Super Preis-Leistung, auch wenn die Zimmer eng und hellhörig sind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Great host

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Vivienne was a super nice and helpful host. The room was tight, but clean, with a comfortable bed. The room was very well appointed with coffee, teas, soaps, towels, bathroom amenities. My wife and I enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Piacenza

posizione e gestione ottime

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Pulizia gentilezza assistenza e l'atmosfera autenticamente scozzese.
Cons: parcheggio auto
Location: posizione perfetta per tutto.
Io e mia figlia abbiamo soggiornato 5 notti dal 5 settembre 2016. Vivienne, lagradevolissima persona che gestisce la struttura ci ha accolto e assistito veramente come si farebbe per un famigliare. Colazione abbondante e attentissima al gluten free. Pulizia perfetta. E' necessario dormire con la finestra chiusa per il traffico della via su cui si affaccia l'hotel, Mirto street, arteria importante della città. Sicuramente da consigliare per il rapporto prezzo-qualità-servizi. Se vogliamo, unico neo scarso il parcheggio privato per le auto, solo tre posti. Occhio a dove si parcheggia. Posizione perfetta per raggiungere il centro sia a piedi che in bus, con la fermata di partenza e arrivo davanti all'hotel. Grazie Vivienne!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgique

très accueillant

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: l"accueil
Cons: aucun
Location: un bus passe devant la porte pour aller au centre très pratique
La propriétaire est très accueillante ,elle donne des informations pratiques très utiles La maison est très propre et l'ambiance chaleureuse
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fabulous stay with Vivienne. Great location. Great breakfast. Highly recommend Sherwood Lodge. Great Host.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

No title

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The owner
Location: Excellent pub food at The Old Bell
Excellent owner, very considerate and charming. Hotel is comfortable and convenient.