Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

No title

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The owner
Location: Excellent pub food at The Old Bell
Excellent owner, very considerate and charming. Hotel is comfortable and convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leuk guesthouse

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Fijn guesthouse en vriendelijke ontvangst. Prima kamer en zeer goed uitgebreid ontbijt. Nadeel: bijna geen parkeerplek. Dus ergens in de omgeving moeten parkeren. Goed opletten of het betaald parkeren is. Gastvrouw hielp overigens wel met zoeken naar parkeerplek.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Perfect combination of hospitality and comfort

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Vivienne's hospitality, location, comfort, price
Cons: Wifi
Location: Bus route, easy walk to Royal Mile, restaurants and pubs, grocery store.
Our family was overwhelmed by Vivienne's warm hospitality. We felt "at home" during our four nights at this lovely guest house. The well appointed room (we booked a family room for four) was quite comfortable and spacious, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the selection of teas and coffee, as well as an assortment of cookies and bottled water. The room also had a fridge and a microwave. Very comfy. The breakfast was plentiful and in a lovely setting. Vivienne won my lasting affection by kindly serving up gluten-free pastries each morning to my wife and daughter. It was a real treat for them both. In addition to the general loveliness of the place, it's an easy bus ride into the city center. In fact, if you enjoy walking, it's really a nice walk of about 15-20 minutes to the Royal Mile. We walked it a couple of times and took the bus the rest of the time. The bus stops right near the guest house and we found Edinburgh buses easy to navigate (download the app). And the price, at 4 pounds per person for a day pass, was a good bargain. A taxi ride from the train station to the guess house is about 7 pounds. There are some good restaurants and pubs nearby. Don't miss the Old Bell nearby. Quaint, friendly and great food. There is also a nearby grocery store. The only small downside was that the wifi was a bit spotty (kept going in and out the whole time were were there), but we always managed to get online briefly. All in all, a great experience. We certainly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely review Bob. it was a pleasure to meet you and your family and no trouble whatsoever to cater for your family needs. I can oinly apologise for the wifi connection - there have been ongoing signal problems with the provider during the past few weeks and it has hopefully now been rectified!? Hopefully we will all meet again. Vivienne
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Schönes B&B mit herzlicher Gastgeberin

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Sehr herzliche und humorvolle Gastgeberin, leckeres Frühstück mit frischem Obst
Innenstadt gut mit dem Bus erreichbar (1,60 £ single ticket) oder in 20 min zu Fuß
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Petra it was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for your review. Hope the oats are are still going down well!! Vivienne
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in zentraler lage

Posted Jun 24, 2016
das hotel liegt an einer hauptstraße und daher ist es ziemlich laut. das zimmer und das doppelbett waren sehr klein. die besitzerin ist überaus freundlich und zuvorkommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

What to expect

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Well kept and clean rooms
Cons: Bathroom - to cramped up Breakfast - great but only boiled egg service TV - is as good as non existent - small box TV kept out of the viewing range
Location: Centrally located Most of the city sites can be well toured from here
UPS 1. Personalized care 2. Clean and well kept rooms and services DOWNS 1. Bathroom was too cramped up 2. More of a good quality Bed and Breakfast facility
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of my guest house/bed and breakfast. Continental breakfast is published on the Expedia website, and does not include cooking a variety of egg dishes, however, there is an extensive choice of food for all to chose from. I have taken your comments on board as to the permanent positioning of the TV.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Haus mit guter Busanbindung an die City

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Lage, mit guter Nahverkehrsanbindung. Gutes Frühstück. Guter Pub in der Nähe.
Location: Ca. 10 Busminuten von der City.
Netter Empfang, sehr gutes Frühstück. Wir hatten in den vorhergehenden Bewertungen gelesen, dass die Zimmer sehr klein sind und waren gespannt. Es war tatsächlich so. Es gab keine Möglichkeit, etwas aus dem Koffer zu nehmen und aufzuhängen, was wir uns nach einer bereits längeren Reise durch Schottland und einem dreitägigen Aufenthalt in Edinburgh doch gewünscht hätten. Wenn man sich auf diese Dinge einlässt, kann man das Guesthouse auf jeden Fall weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient location, friendly reception

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Location, Vivienne the proprietor's willingness to be helpful, breakfast.
Location: Easy access to centre of town, either by bus or walking. Nice neighborhood to walk in. Great pub frequented by local folks rather than tourists.
The room was small but compactly organized with everything one needs. Great breakfast. Vivienne has prepared a folder with all kinds of useful information from buses to pubs to things to do. We enjoyed staying there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Klein, aber fein mit guter Lage

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: -die Lage -klein und gemütlich - Preis/Leistung - die Gastfreundschaft
Location: Das Bed and Breakfast befindet sich In Edinburgh (Newington) und eignet sich hervorragend für eine Städtetour.
Bei unserer Ankunft sind wir sehr herzlich von der Besitzerin Vivienne empfangen worden. Unser Zimmer war zwar klein, aber sehr sauber und ordentlich. Auch das Frühstück war sehr gut. Wünsche wurden erfüllt. Vivienne war immer sehr hilfsbereit. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und würden dort immer wieder einchecken.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to welcome you back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtesse accueillante, chambre spacieuse

Posted May 4, 2016
Un hôtel vraiment sympa, proche des sites touristiques, avec un personnel au top. Petit déjeuner de qualité même si on aurait voulu goûter aux plats traditionnels.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to again in the future.