Ratings based on 803 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Buon albergo in ottima posizione. Gradevole sorpresa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 's-Hertogenbosch

Tophotel , vriendelijk , rustige buurt in centrum

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Alles
Location: In centrum
Heerlijk , we konden in de morgen koffie of thee zetten. We hadden een koelkastje en een grote kamer .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Up to scratch!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Ich habe das Hotel gewählt, da es in Gehweite zu meinem Kongress Tagesort lag. Aber bereits bei der Ankunft um Mitternacht wusste ich, das Hotel ist ein Volltreffer. Meine Hochachtung und Dank an das Personal. Besser geht es nicht. Gäbe es einen Oscar für Hotelpersonal, hieße es wohl: And the Oscar goes to....10 Hill Place Hotel. Cheers guys!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Sleepless in Edinburgh

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Classy hotel in a dreadful area, nowhere to park and surrounded by homeless people. Food and drink a little more expensive than I expected and I object to £2.00 for a small orange juice, but I guess, we don't have to pay it do we? Long delay for everyone checking in as their computers gave up the ghost and they have no manual view of what's going on, so we all had to wait.......... Would not go back there, ever. Sorry. I travel all over the world and recommend the Apex in the Grassmarket if you are contemplating Edinburgh, more expensive but faltless plus plenty of own free parking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Comfortable hotel just outside the main city area

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: The room (Deluxe) was very comfortable and spacious.
Cons: Reception didn't leave a good first impression and could do with being tightened up
Location: A couple of minutes walk away from the Festival Theatre, and a ten minute walk from the Royal Mile.
The city is slightly outside of the main city core and away from the main road so doesn't suffer so much from traffic noise. Our arrival at reception was a bit confused as a trainee (or new starter) looked blankly at me as I tried several times to explain I had a booking. We left our bags in the luggage room as we'd arrived early but they weren't there when we got back (and the reception desk was unmanned). They'd actually been taken to our rooms (nice touch) but the manager hadn't been made aware of this. Aside from this, we enjoyed the stay. We were impressed with the room which was spacious, clean and nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. We tried breakfast on the last day (fairly pricey, although this seems to be standard for hotels now) and the breakfast room was a bit cramped but actually had a good selection of warm food, cereals, yogurts, juices and pastries. We would definitely consider this hotel again for our next stay in Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to many downtown sites

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: location, cleanliness, front desk staff
Cons: price for breakfast.
Gabor, the young man working the check-in, was very gracious and accommodating. We stayed at this hotel both before and after our tour of Scotland. The breakfast is very good was a little expensive. Easy walking distance to the Edinburgh Castle and many other interesting places and good restaurants and pub. There are some nice views from the fifth floor and the rooms on both the fifth and second floors were very clean and nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to attractions city centre

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Cons: Staff could be more personable
Good time in Edinburgh, hotel was clean to come back to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Gutes Hotel in günstiger Lage

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Das Hotel hat eine günstige Lage, in 20 Minuten ist man am Castle in 10 Minuten auf der Royal Mille. Auch zum Hauptbahnhof gelangt man in 15 Minuten. Die Zimmer sind sauber und geräumig, die Betten sehr angenehm. Das Bad bietet viel Platz, besonders positiv, die große geräumige Dusche. Trotz einer Straße vor den Fenstern, war es sehr ruhig. Zwei Aufzüge sind im Hotel. Eine Bar befindet sich neben der Lobby. Das Personal war freundlich. Im Frühstücksraum war man bestrebt, das Buffet immer gleich aufzufüllen. Einziges Manko war für mich, dass kein Schnittkäse angeboten worden. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und aufmerksam. Der Preis für ein Frühstück beträgt 14,75 Pfund. Alles in allem haben wir uns wohlgefühlt und würden wieder kommen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great hotel for Royal Mike

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Spectacularly comfortable and clean hotel close to Royal Mile (10 min walk). Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - cramped conditions

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: High standard of service and cleanliness with location being the prime benefit
Cons: Simpler options on food menu. More comfortable seating in 'wine bar'
Location: Grassmarket, Royal Mile, uni. buildings all within easy walking distance plus ready access to bus service (multiple routes). Varied eateries nearby
Located just off Nicholson St. this hotel proved a good choice as a base to access Edinburgh Festival venues on foot. Also very accessible to excellent bus service. Services in hotel were of a high standard but the main disappointment was the size of our room. With the emphasis on optimising space - it all proved to be too crammed. Guests of a larger stature would struggle. Relatively quiet despite the revelries of the Edinburgh Fringe