Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to attractions city centre

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Cons: Staff could be more personable
Good time in Edinburgh, hotel was clean to come back to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Gutes Hotel in günstiger Lage

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Das Hotel hat eine günstige Lage, in 20 Minuten ist man am Castle in 10 Minuten auf der Royal Mille. Auch zum Hauptbahnhof gelangt man in 15 Minuten. Die Zimmer sind sauber und geräumig, die Betten sehr angenehm. Das Bad bietet viel Platz, besonders positiv, die große geräumige Dusche. Trotz einer Straße vor den Fenstern, war es sehr ruhig. Zwei Aufzüge sind im Hotel. Eine Bar befindet sich neben der Lobby. Das Personal war freundlich. Im Frühstücksraum war man bestrebt, das Buffet immer gleich aufzufüllen. Einziges Manko war für mich, dass kein Schnittkäse angeboten worden. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und aufmerksam. Der Preis für ein Frühstück beträgt 14,75 Pfund. Alles in allem haben wir uns wohlgefühlt und würden wieder kommen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great hotel for Royal Mike

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Spectacularly comfortable and clean hotel close to Royal Mile (10 min walk). Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - cramped conditions

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: High standard of service and cleanliness with location being the prime benefit
Cons: Simpler options on food menu. More comfortable seating in 'wine bar'
Location: Grassmarket, Royal Mile, uni. buildings all within easy walking distance plus ready access to bus service (multiple routes). Varied eateries nearby
Located just off Nicholson St. this hotel proved a good choice as a base to access Edinburgh Festival venues on foot. Also very accessible to excellent bus service. Services in hotel were of a high standard but the main disappointment was the size of our room. With the emphasis on optimising space - it all proved to be too crammed. Guests of a larger stature would struggle. Relatively quiet despite the revelries of the Edinburgh Fringe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smart hotel in very convenient location.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Everything we needed from a city centre hotel. Only thing to mention was we thought the breakfast very expensive so went to cafe up the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointing bathroom.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Amazing breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom. Didn't change sheets. Nowhere to place items in the bathroom. No fresh towels.
Location: Location was okay.
I didn't enjoy my stay in this hotel room. The breakfast was delicious and the set up was inviting. But that was my only positive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great location for the fringe. Not cheap but good quality all round. Friendly staff and good late available breakfast. Stayed 2 years running and will do a third next year. Says it all really.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

In the centre of it all

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Great hotel. Room, although a little worn in some places eg scratches on bedside table. Very clean and plenty of nice touches in the superior rooms eg. Toiletries, robes and slippers etc. A good hotel for a base to see a great city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhig gelegen und trotzdem zentral

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Niedliches Hotel, nettes Personal, ruhige gemütliche Zimmer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

convenient to city center and Royal Mile

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Rooms and location of the hotel
Cons: Offer more vegetarian options in their menus
Location: Walk along Royal Mile, museums etc are close by
Good overall. It would have been convenient for us if breakfast was offered Ala Carte instead of Buffet. We don't eat 15EU worth of breakfast.