Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Increible

Posted Oct 2, 2016
La ubicacion, el servicio, las instalaciones de Primera. Limpio, espacioso y muy chic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

full service with great location

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We stayed as a family in 2 adjoining rooms which were lovely. Teenagers enjoyed the pool and spa. The location is central and so convenient to exploring. Enjoyed Scotch bar, the breakfast, and all staff were pleasant and professional. Would delighted to return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LS

Fabulous location

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Room was much smaller than I would have expected. We couldn't get a reservation for two days on a wait list for their main restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from

Elegance

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Extremely helpful staff. Elegant surroundings
Cons: Improved shower/tub configuration. Edge of the tub is high so climbing into the tub to take a shower difficult. Grab-bar poorly placed not a help.
Location: Located next to the train station
A wonderful experience. One negative, I was told the hotel has only one handicap bathroom available. All other bathrooms have a shower tub combination that is a challenge to get into/out of if a person has mobility problems.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Elegant hotel with excellent amenities, service, furnishings, location, with two excellent restaurants, a cafe, a bar and high tea. Close to many of the Fringe Festival venues, International Festival venues, Edinburgh Castle Military Tattoo & shopping. A fabulous home away from home.
5 out of 5
by Iain from STIRLING

Value for money

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 nights high price but great value for money the number 1 should be 2 star
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

In the Lap of Luxury

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Enough good restaurants that you don't have to go anywhere else. Although there are other good places to eat in Edinburgh.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing.
Location: Right across from Waverly train station is convenient and a two block walk to the "Hop On- Hop Off" buses was helpful. Easy walk to Calton Hill.
The Balmoral Hotel is in a great location, the service was superb, and the restaurants excellent. Dinner at Number 1 offers not only top notch food, but service and presentation that was an experience in itself. The "Scotch" Bar specializes in Scotch whisky with hundreds of choices. But they also have the best chocolate around! Served with the scotch, but unfortunately, none for sale separately. Hadrian's was also a delicious experience. The room was a delightful surprise. Booked a regular, medium priced room, not a suite. Nevertheless, it was large, had lots of amenities, and was quite comfortable. Not an inexpensive hotel but worth every penny of the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night, but didnt enjoy it

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room and the hotel were great, but too boring if you are planning to stay in the room for a couple of hours. they literally blocked all the good free TV channels. having stayed in other hotels in the area we had access to many TV channels and hence could just spend a day relaxing in bed. but in the Balmoral it was impossible.
4 out of 5
by Erika

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
We came for a single night stay so it's rather difficult to judge the hotel properly, but the cost definitely outweighed the opulence. We felt like it was only okay in terms of rooms.
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Sonoma, CA

THe Balmoral: FEEL like you are in Scotland!

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay en route to St. Andrews. I arrived by train into Waverly Stationa Dan walked to the hotel. Great welcoming doormen (in kilts!) and very, very courteous checkin and staff. Perfect room with view across the river to the old town. Comfortable bed, nice amenities, quiet room with a feeling of elegance. Easy walk to many of Edinburgh's attractions and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again!