Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We are now ruined for any other place

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
From the moment we were greeted by the doorman to the moment he saw us to our taxi we lived in a world of luxury and elegance. The staff was beyond gracious, in particular Rene, who assisted our check in, and Andy, our concierge. The restaurants and lounges were lovely with the scotch whisky bar a stand out. Amidst all this old world elegance you might think that the rooms would be old world, but they were spacious, modern and spotless. We are now ruined for any other lodging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spledid Hotel well situated for a short city break

Posted May 21, 2017
The Balmoral Hotel is a splendid building close to Waverley Station and at the head of Princes Gardens. It's very well situated for a short break in Edinburgh. Edinburgh Castle and other attractions are in close proximity and it is possible to walk through Princes Gardens to the National Gallery on the Mound or get the bus from there to go to the Belfont Road Galleries (Modern Art and Dean galleries). There are excellent spa facilities at basement level which include steam room, sauna and swimming pool. There are also 3 places to eat within the hotel: a place for afternoon tea, a brasserie and a Michelin star restaurant. If that's not your thing, fast food places are also in close proximity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Great character hotel in centre of Edinburgh

Posted May 1, 2017
Incredibly friendly staff and a classic piece of Scottish architecture. Great hotel and very warm welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great hotel right on the heart of the city

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Home away from home comfort.staff were very welcoming , breakfast was amazing and delish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Perfect service in the best location!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Edinburgh is a stately yet charming old world city. It's a thriving seat of government within sandstone architecture from a bygone era. Gorgeous historical hotel located within the center of Edinburg. The hotels finishing details are modern and of high quality. The decor has a fun and fanciful James Bond twist. Try the daily bar for people watching. There you'll observe mature singles eyeing each other over martinis and young couples in love oblivious to the world around them. Table One is one of the best dining experiences I've ever enjoyed! The menu and wine selection were superb! Only outdone by their attentive staff. Red lacquered wall panels and deep comfy chairs make you so comfortable that you won't realize two or three hours have gone by while you dine on sumptuous little bites in between expertly prepared courses. I'll be back more than one time. True pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Very nice hotel. Recommend to everyone. 1 min from train station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Fantastic hotel very friendly I will definitely be back couldnt fault it in anyway 10 out of 10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington d c

elegance where the action is

Posted Mar 25, 2017
staff helpful and courteous good restaurants nearby lovely old hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room very small, OK for 1 night.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Lovely hotel, booked it for the great breakfast. However, room very small and on 1st floor overlooking street - lots of traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Hotel close to Railway Station and all amenities

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Pleasant and relaxing
Cons: Nil
Location: Located on Princes Street,good location for shopping and close to the Cathedral.Excellent location to public transport.
Our weekend break was perfected by excellent hotel, good shopping and wonderful Spring weather