Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Lives up to the wonderful reputation

Posted Dec 22, 2016
My Girlfriend and I decided to plan our first trip away for our birthdays and we settled on our favourite city, Edinburgh, staying at The Balmoral Hotel. Our welcome was wonderful. I had previously mentioned we was traveling to Edinburgh as it was the week of our birthdays. Not only was we upgraded, but we was greeted with a plate of macarons with the words 'Happy Birthday' written. A card from the manager was handwritted, wishing us a great birthday week and a pleasant stay. The house keeping was great, The view was great, The facilities was wonderful, and the staff was so helpful. I was so impressed. I'd most certainly recommend this hotel and it was beyond what I was expecting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Timeless Treat

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Wonderful service and rooms
Location: Stockbridge is a wonderful area to visit and grab a scrummy lunch at The Grain Store.
Excellent as always, we stay every year near Christmas and always relax the minute we walk through the doors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, gorgeous hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Surrounded by stunning scenery, everything was within walking distance. Hotel staff were warm and welcoming. No where else i would look to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Luxurious hotel in superb location .

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and room service was excellent. Our room was large & spacious with city scape views - really comfortable. The spa facilities were wonderful too . We are already planning our return trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

the place to stay in edinburgh!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
for a first-time visitor to edinburgh, the balmoral is the place to stay! great location for exploring, accommodating staff, authentically scottish, variety of dining/drinking options, and lovely room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath Somerset

Faded glory

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was it central location
Cons: see above
Location: Central Edinburgh has so much to see and do it is impossible to list.
We arrived to be greeted by fairly indifferent reception staff who were too busy talking to each other to bother with us. We were given a "classic" room i.e small. Very dull boring room up in the eaves .The bath, with a showere over it, was so high and therefore deep that even my husband at 6 ft struggled to get in and out. Ordinary internet was free in rooms but fast broadband was £15 a day in communal areas only. This meant we were unable to download The Sunday Times which is ironic as free wi-fi on the Edinburgh trams allowed us to download it. Our room key failed to work so we took it back to reception who told us it had not even been programmed. Overall there were many small niggling problems like the heating working intermittently which meant it was overpriced and overhyped. The room staff were lovely as were the concierge staff but some waiting staff were over familiar and some were disinterested. I would not go there again. There are other hotels in Edinburgh which offer better value and better amenities/service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ox

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great central location
Lovely clean rooms great staff brilliant whisky bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, excellent location.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Fantastic location right in the heart of Edinburgh. Everything is in walking distance. Fantastic hotel staff, very helpful and friendly. Good size rooms, always clean and with everything you need. Only downside being that a double bed is actually two single beds pushed together. Would thoroughly recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip Off

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I booked a "Classic Suite" for two nights. I was led to a first floor room that had windows on TWO busy street's Prince's and the road that runs up to the Royal Mile. This space was never a "suite" it is converted servant's quarters or linen storage (room 152 over the front door just about). Aside from the street noise and no view to speak of my bathroom had an octagonal window with no curtain with the toilet in the window and the shower visible. When I looked out a man on the top deck of a double decker bus was looking in at me. I had to shower, etc., with the lights off so as not to be seen by people in the building across the street and people on the far side of the street---and bus passengers. I went immediately downstairs and said I did not think this was a "suite." They did apologize but said there was nothing they could do---this was odd because I checked in at like 3pm. My wife and son had a similar experience here with a lower grade room---they stuck them looking at AC/ Heating units and soot. I suppose people they deem to be important get decent rooms. My wife is from the West Indies so maybe she got a bad room due to race. This hotel is not worth it UNLESS you can be assured of one of the good rooms. I have had great experiences at the Caledonian and will stay there in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Flying Visit

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Princess Street and Gardens Edinburgh Castle
We arrived very late following a delayed flight- Staff were attentive and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was immaculate and the facilities excellent We had a drink in the Balnoral Bar were staff were again attentive and service and drinks could not be faulted We had to catch an early train and therefore didn't have time for breakfast - a great shame as I'm sure it would have been excellent We will definitely return and the location is ideal for rail travellers or those wanting to be right in the heart of the city