Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great hotel right on the heart of the city

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Home away from home comfort.staff were very welcoming , breakfast was amazing and delish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Perfect service in the best location!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Edinburgh is a stately yet charming old world city. It's a thriving seat of government within sandstone architecture from a bygone era. Gorgeous historical hotel located within the center of Edinburg. The hotels finishing details are modern and of high quality. The decor has a fun and fanciful James Bond twist. Try the daily bar for people watching. There you'll observe mature singles eyeing each other over martinis and young couples in love oblivious to the world around them. Table One is one of the best dining experiences I've ever enjoyed! The menu and wine selection were superb! Only outdone by their attentive staff. Red lacquered wall panels and deep comfy chairs make you so comfortable that you won't realize two or three hours have gone by while you dine on sumptuous little bites in between expertly prepared courses. I'll be back more than one time. True pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Very nice hotel. Recommend to everyone. 1 min from train station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Fantastic hotel very friendly I will definitely be back couldnt fault it in anyway 10 out of 10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington d c

elegance where the action is

Posted Mar 25, 2017
staff helpful and courteous good restaurants nearby lovely old hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room very small, OK for 1 night.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Lovely hotel, booked it for the great breakfast. However, room very small and on 1st floor overlooking street - lots of traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Hotel close to Railway Station and all amenities

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Pleasant and relaxing
Cons: Nil
Location: Located on Princes Street,good location for shopping and close to the Cathedral.Excellent location to public transport.
Our weekend break was perfected by excellent hotel, good shopping and wonderful Spring weather
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely location and gorgeous hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very helpful. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of Arthur's seat. It was magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect city centre location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
This is a very traditional hotel with an old world charm.It was a perfect stay. For a special occasion the meal in their Number One restaurant was outstanding ,an unforgettable experience.I would make a return visit without any hesitation.The staff's personal presentation with the Scottish theme was immaculate and this was matched with their impeccable customer service.You were made to feel special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Beautiful, classic and great location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The bellmen and checkin were exactly what I expected at a hotel if this quality. While our room was very clean, it could use a slight freshening up, carpet at some seams were coming up and needs new wall paint. Very pleased with the amenities and speed/quality of room service. The spa was nice, I just happened to not get a good masseuse, but my friend loved hers. The palm court and high tea were lovely, even a harpist there as well. Checkout was easy and they had a van waiting for us. You also cannot ask for a better more centrally located hotel. Would certainly return