Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Hotel close to Railway Station and all amenities

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Pleasant and relaxing
Cons: Nil
Location: Located on Princes Street,good location for shopping and close to the Cathedral.Excellent location to public transport.
Our weekend break was perfected by excellent hotel, good shopping and wonderful Spring weather
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely location and gorgeous hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very helpful. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of Arthur's seat. It was magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect city centre location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
This is a very traditional hotel with an old world charm.It was a perfect stay. For a special occasion the meal in their Number One restaurant was outstanding ,an unforgettable experience.I would make a return visit without any hesitation.The staff's personal presentation with the Scottish theme was immaculate and this was matched with their impeccable customer service.You were made to feel special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Beautiful, classic and great location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The bellmen and checkin were exactly what I expected at a hotel if this quality. While our room was very clean, it could use a slight freshening up, carpet at some seams were coming up and needs new wall paint. Very pleased with the amenities and speed/quality of room service. The spa was nice, I just happened to not get a good masseuse, but my friend loved hers. The palm court and high tea were lovely, even a harpist there as well. Checkout was easy and they had a van waiting for us. You also cannot ask for a better more centrally located hotel. Would certainly return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Beautiful exterior and lovely staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The overall experience was great. Central location, beautiful exterior and lobby, great food in the restaurants. Rooms are comfortable but expected a nicer and bigger room, slightly old and very ordinary opposed to what we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
An excellent hotel in the heart of an amazing city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was celebrating a birthday with my daughter

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Everything about the hotel suited us very well
Cons: I was not there that long to answer this. While we were there it was very nice.
Location: We went to the Britannia, the National Gallery and did some shopping
It was a most enjoyable stay though only a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Perfect for exploring Edinburgh.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The welcome was good. All staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing I would have liked was menus for the hotel restaurants in the room.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight only but staff were great and very friendly and helpful. Great location, big, comfortable bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Lives up to the wonderful reputation

Posted Dec 22, 2016
My Girlfriend and I decided to plan our first trip away for our birthdays and we settled on our favourite city, Edinburgh, staying at The Balmoral Hotel. Our welcome was wonderful. I had previously mentioned we was traveling to Edinburgh as it was the week of our birthdays. Not only was we upgraded, but we was greeted with a plate of macarons with the words 'Happy Birthday' written. A card from the manager was handwritted, wishing us a great birthday week and a pleasant stay. The house keeping was great, The view was great, The facilities was wonderful, and the staff was so helpful. I was so impressed. I'd most certainly recommend this hotel and it was beyond what I was expecting.