Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Much More than i expect!!!!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Its a heap place for a nice room the only thing is the shower is to small. Bus then all is excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Welcome. Good location within walking distance to city centre. Spotless large rooms.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Near to city centre. On main bus routes.
Nice welcome from staff when we arrived. Shown where everything was and times of meals. Very friendly. Room was lovely. At the back which was very quiet. All you can eat buffet breakfast with large choice of cereals, fruit juices, fruit and hot food etc. Beautiful dining room. All in all to be highly recommended. Will def stay again. Great value for money. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Córdoba

Trato muy bueno, instalaciones algo mejorables

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Desayuno, trato del personal, conexión con el centro de la ciudad mediante múltiples líneas de autobús, habitación y baño limpios, cama grande
Cons: Conexión wi-fi
Location: Algo alejada del centro pero bien conectada. Algunos bares, restaurantes y sitios de comida para llevar a menos de 10 minutos andando.
Está algo alejada del centro, pero muy bien conectada por varias líneas de autobús. Cada pocos minutos pasa alguno que te deja en el centro en 15 minutos, y lo mismo para volver. El trato del personal es muy bueno, amable y atento. La habitación estaba bastante bien, pero algo ruidosa por el tráfico de la calle. El suelo enmoquetado debe ser de madera por debajo y crujía bastante. Puede ser algo molesto con los huéspedes de habitaciones contiguas. El baño compartido estaba bastante bien, limpio y con una bañera-ducha espaciosa. La presión del agua justita, pero podías regularla de temperatura tan fría o caliente como quisieras. No tuve problemas en usarlo cada vez que quise y ducharme sin esperar o hacer esperar a los demás huéspedes. El desayuno variado y abundante, y a un horaio (de 8 a 9) que considero adecuado. El wi-fi probablemente lo peor, buena señal pero problemas de conexión cada dos por tres (estás conectado al wi-fi pero no tienes internet). Tenía que trabajar con el portátil y me costó mucho, tuve que desconectar y conectar manualmente una y otra vez para restablecer la conexión. Pregunté si podía sentarme a trabajar en otra sala y me dejaron utilizar el salón de desayunos, me despejaron una mesa y allí pude trabajar con menos problemas, pero no iba del todo bien. Con la llave de la habitación abres también la puerta de la casa, así que eres libre de entrar y salir a tu antojo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Great location in characterful B & B

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We stayed for 4 nights and overall a pleasant stay. A clean and comfortable room and good selection of buffet breakfast. Bus stops nearby and frequently so perfect for easy access to Edinburgh centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Excellent B&B just a short walk from the Royal Mil

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Our stay at the Ben Doran was fantastic. They serve a full breakfast in the dining area each morning and the owners are just lovely people. It's just a nice walk into the main tourist attractions in Edinburgh and there are some excellent restaurants along the way. Softpour and The Apiary were our favourites. The Apiary is excellent for those looking for gluten free options. We even found a laundromat nearby. I would highly recommend this B&B for those looking for a reasonably priced place to stay and don't mind walking. There is a bus that stops right across the street for those rainy days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and very affordable

Posted Sep 20, 2016
My friend paid nearly 4 times more for his room at a hotel. Ben Doran is clean affordable and across the street from a bus stop. Buses 3 7 8 29 31. Will take you into town for 1.6 pounds great place to stay if you are on a budget. Good breakfast and efficient staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Great location, accommodating staff and a lovely hot breakfast buffet in the morning!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very generous breakfast, close to bus stop
Location: long walk from train station, laundromat and restaurants, but once worked out buses, much easier.
nice bed and breakfast on a main road, Its a bit dated but nice to take a step back in time. Located on a busy street so a bit noisy, but close to bus stop. Staff very helpful. Dining room was very roomy and well set out. Lots of variety for breakfast. Share bathroom very clean and comfortable. Room nice
3 out of 5
by Peter Malte from Værløse

OK til prisen - må acceptere lidt støj.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Blev mod ekstrabetaling opgraderet fra et meget lille værelse til et større renoveret kælderværelse, som var OK. Dejlig by, selvom den er blevet meget turistet. Busstop udenfor døren.
4 out of 5
by Inge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels