Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Close to the city

Posted Aug 3, 2016
It was a great stay at your hotel. Old fashion but very up to date. Great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

The Bonham make us love Edinburgh

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great discovery. Beautifull location, surrounded by a peaceful neighborhood and near local bars and restaurants Precious building and excellent staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In die Jahre gekommenes Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Der an alte Zeiten erinnernde Charme.
Wir hatten zum Ende einer 14tägigen Schottland-Rundreise 3 Übernachtungen per Internet gebucht um Edinburgh kennen zu lernen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, UK

Restful Georgian Elegance

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Georgian old-world charm. Lashings of hot bathwater and a good cooked breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Despite having no heating turned on, the room was quite warm. Slept with the window open.
Location: Convenient for tram service and Princes Street as well as castle, Arthur's Seat etc. Walked a lot, but that's what you do when visiting a city.
Situated within 3 minutes walk of a tram stop and 5 minutes from Princes Street, my wife and I stayed here for a recent city break. The hotel oozes Georgian charm whilst being well maintained. Staff were friendly and very helpful and overall the atmosphere was very relaxed. Other than breakfast we didn't eat here, however the menu on display looked comprehensive and the restaurant always appeared to be popular,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated (in a bad way)

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We stayed for one night before returning to NY. We stayed at a different (and nicer) hotel when we first came to Edinburgh about 10 days ago, but chose the Bonham this time because it appears more convenient to go to the airport. The room assigned to us was a "maid" room in the basement with very small window on the door directly going to the parking area, though the size of the room was ok. (When we had a drink in the lobby, even the wait staff couldn't recognize the room). There were few amenities in the bathroom. On top of all, the front desk person who checked us out gave us a receipt for a wrong room... I would definitely not recommend the Bonham.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Service, location, and a top notch restaurant.
Cons: Physical condition of the property needs attention.
Location: Lovely, quiet residential location near restaurants, cafes, and walkable to the sights.
Overall, the Bonham was a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh. The front desk staff are all helpful and pleasant and provide a great service experience. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel, which is on a quiet, residential street of elegant Georgian row houses. It is just steps from some lovely restaurants and cafes, and is walkable (if you like a good city walk) to nearly all major sights in Edinburgh. The hotel restaurant itself is quite excellent, and I recommend it highly. Our third floor room was large enough and had a beautiful view over Edinburgh towards the Firth of Forth and the countryside. The only downside to this hotel was the physical condition of the property. It is in a string of beautiful stone row houses, and is therefore the perfect type of property for an elegant, urban, boutique hotel, as it bills itself. However, the decor, furnishings and finishes are getting quite tired, I'm afraid. there are worn carpets, loose tiles and floorboards, walls that could use a fresh coat of paint, and plumbing that is loud. None of this was bad enough for me not to recommend the Bonham, and I would stay there again. However, it could do with some freshening to truly merit its four-star rating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great proximity to old town

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Overall really nice stay. Beautiful combination of an old traditional house with a modern touch. The restaurant, lounges etc were great. The room was smaller than expected and dustier than it should be (the latter should be easy to fix). Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Good location but well below expectations

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor Atmosphere in reception Lack of friendliness of some of the staff
Location: Great location for city shopping, castle, walking to near by Stockbridge with its individual shops.
This was a disappointing visit to the Bonham and I would not return. When I arrived the receptionists welcome was non existent other than to tell me I could not park outside the hotel and would have to move my car immediately. I was aware of the parking situation before I arrived but wanted to drop my bag off and ask if there were any spaces in the hotels car park. Fortunately there were. My room was located to the rear which was fine - nice views to Dean village. The room was in a "tired" condition to say the least. The once stylish curtains were torn down the side, the base of the bed was covered in hairs, a black line ran across one wall where the chair had been place and moved around. The paintwork, furniture etc had simply seen their day! Reception area was attractive but lacked atmosphere. Location is best point of this hotel but overall a very disappointing experience.