Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, too much noise from main road outsi

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: New beds required. New double glazing to cut down outside noise required
Location: Edinburgh city centre.
Getting renovated now, will be nice wen completed. Staff are very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do have an unrivalled location in the city centre, perfect for exploring the vibrant city of Edinburgh. As part of our multi million pound refurbishment, we will be replacing all of our beds and all of our windows which will aid in providing even more luxury to our guests. I hope we can get the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, NH

Great location, no concierge, electrical problems

Posted Jan 9, 2016
This hotel is perfectly located just off the Royal Mile. It is clean & comfortable. We were just perplexed at the lack of helpful people. There were no bellhops to help with our luggage, point out the hotel amenities or explain our room, etc. There were not even any luggage carts available! We know there must have been a pool somewhere in the building because occasionally we could smell chlorine, but no one told us about it and there were no signs, etc. I wonder what other amenities were there that we didn't know about. There was no concierge. There was a prominent concierge desk that was never manned during our 5 day stay. When we asked the receptions desk staff for info about the city, sites, etc., they were uninformed and unhelpful, but polite. There also was no doorman to help with luggage or hail a cab, etc. The housekeeping staff were excellent and attentive. A big problem was the electricity to our room. First, the blow dryer which was hard wired into the wall didn't work. They gave me a plug-in replacement. Next day, maintenance tried but couldn't fix the hardwiring. The next day, there was no electricity on that side of room! TV, outlets, hot pot, lamp all out, so they moved us. But the new room was much smaller, with only 1 window (our original room had 2). Very inconvenient to have to pack everything up in the middle of our stay, and land in a smaller room! I'd recommend The Carlton for its location only if you're self-sufficient for concierge, luggage, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review. I do apologise for the issues that you experienced whilst with us, this is not the usual level of service our guests have come to expect of us. We have a very busy front of house team who are normally commended on their first class service and helpfulness. During the quieter part of the year, our concierge team are based behind reception as this allows us to assist our guests more efficiently. We do try to assist our guests with luggage as much as we can however, there are occasions when unfortunately the team are already helping other guests. We do have a multi million pound refurbishment taking place at the moment which will see our hotel truly transformed, including a rebrand to Hilton International in the summer. With a very exciting future ahead, I do hope you would keep The Carlton Hotel in mind for your next visit to Edinburgh. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Breakfast included food to answer any taste: eggs, ham, haggis, sausage, cold cuts, milk, oat mill, juices, pastries, etc.
Cons: small fridge and microwave to be added to the room.
Location: 50+ pubs with delicious Scottish food and drinks and deserts are in the walking distance, all major museums - 5-10 min walk
Close to all the sightseeing places, restaurants, shops. etc. We could return to hotel for a small tea/coffee breaks, to drop purchases, etc. in between touring the city without much time lost. Room was just renovated and very clean. We had a great view out of the window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mega Lage

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Ab 5 Etage ausgebaut da von Hilton angeblich gekAuft worden ist...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
It is all about location, the room was pretty big but old. Staff was awesome. You get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Centraal

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Perfecte ligging centraal in Edinburgh, prima Sfeertje tussen Kerst en Oudjaar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Posizione perfetta con qualcosa da migliorare

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Posizione
Cons: pulizia
Location: Al centro della old town, praticamente sul royal mile. Zona con tuto a disposizione: musei, attrazioni, negozi, bar ristoranti
L'Hotel ha una posizione perfetta per raggiungere le migliori attrazioni della città. Vicino ci sono pub, ristoranti, negozi. I servizi dell'Hotel in complesso suono buoni: personale gentile, bar aperto 24 ore, colazione abbondante, spa e piscina. L'unico problema è la camera: i mobili sono vecchi sia come stile sia perchè "rovinati" e la pulizia non è eccezionale...anzi lascia a desiderare. Dopo una cena in camera, al mattino successivo è stato portato via il vassoio ma non è stato pulito il tavolino..... le briciole presenti lo testimoniavano. Il lavabo del bagno non è mail stato pulito e il letto veniva rifatto in modo molto approssimativo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roma

POSIZIONE

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Centralissimo, vicino a tutto, vicinissimo anche a shuttle per aeroporto. Colazione abbondante e ottima. Personale accogliente e disponibile. Camere ben arredate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lANCASHIRE

Just the place to stay

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, close to Princes Street and the Royal Mile
Nice and comfortable hotel. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. The dinner menu is a little restricted, but the food is good if it is to your liking. This was our THIRD stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great Central Location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, excellent breakfast and good facilities. Very good location.
Cons: There is quite a lot of noise from the local clubs at night so better sound insulation would improve the quality of sleep!
Location: Near to Waverley Station, The Royal Mile, Prince's Street, Edinburgh Castle and many other central attractions.
Our first room was located furthest from the lifts and as I had recently sustained a leg muscle injury I was not very mobile. We requested a change of room the next day and it was organised for us by the time we returned to the hotel later that day.