Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what expected from "boutique" hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Nice resteraunt. Some rooms are nice. Some are incredibly small. Be careful which room you select.
Cons: Custoer service. They frequently mislead me.
Location: Good location. Plenty of things nearby.
There are two buildings for the hotel. They are seperated by a busy road and traffic. You are not given the option which building to stay in. For that reason, I had to cross a busy road everyday to get to the main hotel and resteraunt. I was placed on the "2" floor. Instead of the "2" floor (3rd floor in the UK), it was unexpectly the basement. I have allergies and cannot stay in basements. Therefore, I was sick for a day and had to ask for another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Birthday Breal

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Very kindly got a free room upgrade.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: Just on the outskirts of Edinburgh about 15 minutes walk into Princess Street. great Position.
Great stay. Staff friendly and helpful.Great location. Lovely breakfast. Excellent room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, but cold room through the night.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
On checking in I explained I had parked on the street due to car park being full, and as I was in a rush a member of staff offered to nip out and put some change in the meter due to it being 5pm. This was excellent service as I was in a rush to get to an event. Thank you! Room 5 was a lovely room, and decor was lovely. However I woke at 5am in the morning and the room was very cold. Radiator not on at all. I called reception to be told that the hearing would come on at 6.30am. However, the night porter did offer to put the heating on, and said it would take 15 - 20 mins to get up to my room. I was unable to get back to sleep for some time due to being cold. I also found the ensuite shower room to be way too small. Although well appointed I think it was no more than a metre wide. Breakfast was good and the staff helpful. I would stay again, but would want a different room to get a larger ensuite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

COMFORTABLE AND WELCOMING

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
EXCELLENT,GOOD FOOD,FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF, COMFORTABLE BED
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and welcoming

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly service, good location. I had a single room which although comforatable was very small. Not a problem for one night as I was however if you were staying longer it would have been difficult.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city, with parking.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good choice for us, close to city with parking. Good breakfast and dinner. Well appointed room, if rather small for a 4 poster, good bathroom. All staff an asset to the hotel, professional, helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect romantic get-away...

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
A delightful romantic overnight stay in a charming and well appointed boutique hotel within easy walking distance of Edinburgh city centre. From arrival to departure, staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive. Our luxury room was superbly furnished, offering scope to sit back, relax and soak in the tub after a long city stroll, before heading out for dinner. Strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and comfortable

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly, good service and well maintained. Really enjoyed the cooked breakfast. I had a very small room but was comfortable. Would have liked a fridge. A really nice mix of a hotel and bnb, with really positive staff that makes the place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice small hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable from the very beginning of our stay, with a special mention to Lewis who made my wife and I very welcome. Room was cosy, clean and very welcoming. Would stay again if we travel to Edinburgh again. Also, easy to commute into the city centre, either with a 20 min stroll or on the bus with a bus stop right outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable. Easy to get to
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideally situated on main bus route
Comfortable, well-kept boutique hotel with great character. Good bus links to airport and city centre