Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what expected from "boutique" hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Nice resteraunt. Some rooms are nice. Some are incredibly small. Be careful which room you select.
Cons: Custoer service. They frequently mislead me.
Location: Good location. Plenty of things nearby.
There are two buildings for the hotel. They are seperated by a busy road and traffic. You are not given the option which building to stay in. For that reason, I had to cross a busy road everyday to get to the main hotel and resteraunt. I was placed on the "2" floor. Instead of the "2" floor (3rd floor in the UK), it was unexpectly the basement. I have allergies and cannot stay in basements. Therefore, I was sick for a day and had to ask for another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Birthday Breal

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Very kindly got a free room upgrade.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: Just on the outskirts of Edinburgh about 15 minutes walk into Princess Street. great Position.
Great stay. Staff friendly and helpful.Great location. Lovely breakfast. Excellent room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable. Easy to get to
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideally situated on main bus route
Comfortable, well-kept boutique hotel with great character. Good bus links to airport and city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, shower and room.
Cons: No lift.
Location: Centre of Edinburgh.
The room was spotless, lovely and warm. There's no lift so that may be difficult for some travellers but it wasn't an issue for us. The hotel is near all local shops etc and the city centre of Edinburgh. The room was also very quiet which is surprising for a hotel of this size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londob

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great hotel, superb staff and excellent rooms. The staff were courteous and accommodating to my needs. The hotel is located about a 5 min walk from the town centre, with transport links very close by. The rooms were very well kept, very clean lovely and spacious. Would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness, the food.
Location: It's quite a walk into the city but there's a bus stop outside. Royal Yacht Brittania is well worth a visit. Giant Pandas at the zoo, Arthur's seat.
We got to Edinburgh early. Dropped out bags at the Dunstane and spent the day sightseeing. When we got back our bags were in our room. The whole hotel was clean and all the light fittings and brass sparkles! The room was clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished with plenty of tea and coffee. The bathroom was spotless and shower gels etc. were replenished when used. All staff were lovely. Breakfast was plentiful, both continental and cooked had lots of alternatives. We ate in Skerries restaurant and we both had an excellent meal. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Elegant Hotel B&B

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Very classy room and facilities. Great Staff. Parking, Dining and Bar are all available.
Cons: We really liked this B&B and had no complaints. Everything was great!
Location: Bus stops in front of hotel, 20 minute walk to Edinburgh sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Trip with daughter.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hotel was clean and staff was very helpful. Would stay there again. Great location. Wonderful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Excellent stay although I would have rather stay in the main building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois, US

My stay at the Dunstane Hotel.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Proximity to bus stops.
Cons: Stock coffee in the lounge.
Location: Nice neighborhood. Walked a lot. Explored fabulous Edinburgh.
Very comfortable. Close to bus and train stations. Very convenient for exploring Edinburgh! Lovely time.