Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Everything, we stay here a lot
Good hotel, centrally located with up to date facilities. Concierge Paul was amazing and managed to get us Tattoo tickets on the day of the performance with practically no notice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Perfect location with great staff

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The concierge staff and The Printing Press.
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The staff was excellent, especially the concierge staff. Hotel is close to everything, including the Edinburgh Castle. The Printing Press, the restaurant and bar connected with the hotel, were also excellent. We were told by a waiter that international guests like The George which was evidenced by the many languages we heard spoken in the lobby, restaurant and bar. Rooms are modern. Small closet. Comfortable bed. Good shower. When we return to Edinburgh, we will stay at The George.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Flawless experience

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The George is always our first choice when visiting Edinburgh and continues to impress, with friendly, highly professional staff and beautifully refurbished room. All great although sorry to find that the Tempus bar had been replaced by the smaller Printing Press bar and a separate coffee shop (Burr and Co.). We felt neither were an improvement in terms of ambiance and menu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrallymlpcayed

Posted Aug 8, 2016
No shelve/drawer storage in room Toilets don't flush properly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great location near Princess Street and Royal Mile. Very nice staff, nice clean room. Location of our room required two flights of stairs which was not the best if you have a luggage to carry. Overall I would choose this hotel again, great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heart of the city centre

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, grand and elegant. Lovely location. Walk-able distance to many tourist attractions - Edinburgh Castle, Scottish Parliament.
Cons: Heavy noise from the street - building works, heavy good vehicles into the night and early hours. Distrupted stay and sleep.
Location: Heart of the city centre. Lots of eateries and fast food chains. Lots of high street and designer names all within walking distance.
Hotel is beautiful, grand and elegant. Lovely location. Walk-able distance to many tourist attractions. Lots of eateries and fast food chains. Lots of high street and designer names all within walking distance. Unfortunately, my visit was disappointing as my room back off onto building works which resulted in a high level of noise - from building works to heavy good vehicles into the night and early hours. Room was also situated in the hotel's corridor which resulted in high levels of noise intruding into the room. Customer service was inconsistent. Many staff were helpful and lovely to speak with. Had an early morning flight and needed to check out in the early hours of the morning and one member of staff was extremely unfriendly and treated me like I was a bother.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The George, Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Completely sophisticated, but also felt completely local and timeless.
Location: National Gallery and public gardens just down the hill. Easy walk to the Castle. Completely central, yet quiet.
Centrally located hotel, charming, quirky and elegant. Thistles on all the tables in the lobby, warm and welcoming atmosphere, easy and walkable from Waverley train station. In the midst of the Georgian architecture of Edinburgh, a little gem of a hotel. Guest rooms tiny, but efficiently built. Ours had a window seat looking out over rooftops and toward the bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice Hotel in Center of Edinburgh

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Central location and room cleanliness
Cons: The Concierge position was covered by several staff persons. They were not well versed in where things were, distance and time.
Location: Location is this hotels strong point.
The Hotel was located very centrally which made seeing the city sites extremely easy. Quite simply you could walk anywhere. The breakfast was also a plus which friendly, attentive service.The Hotel staff was friendly and mostly helpful. The George is a big hotel which seemed to work well for the many large groups staying there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Loved the whole experience!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was amazing! The coffee shop and bar is really top notch. The George is centrally located within walking distance of lots of neat shops and bars. Get the tram or bus from airport as they both stop near the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from København

Dejligt tæt på centrum.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Skønt hotel til en fair pris. Syntes dog der er lidt for meget at man skal ligge 50£ i depositum pr. dag man har booket, når man checker ind. I tilfælde af at man skulle bestille noget roomservice. Men man får selvfølgelig det tilbage man ikke bruger. Vand, dansk vand og mælk fra køleskabet er gratis. Der er alm. og decaf kaffe, the og sukker på værelset, som bliver genopfyldt hver dag. Man får endda en lille pakke cookies hver, hver dag. Skøn stor seng. Finishen på den store renovation kunne have været lidt bedre på vores værelse. Der kunne godt have været nogen knager til håndklæderne på badeværelset og til jakker på værelset.