Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great location in the center of the city!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The Glasshouse was fantastic!!! We stayed their for the first night of our Honeymoon in August and the accommodations were incredible. We were fortunate to stay in a great room with access to the third floor rooftop garden! The Snug lounge and the Honor Bar were a great treat. Also the food at the Observatory for breakfast was wonderful. The location to the Omni center with its variety of restaurants and shops was perfect. We visited Edinburgh during the annual Fringe Festival and the Glasshouse was a great place to stay to be in the mix of everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by The Glasshouse Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Erin, Thank you sincerely for this excellent five star review. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Edinburgh. Warm regards Ignacio Sans Assistant Rooms Division Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It wasn't what I had expected from the pictures

Posted Jul 13, 2016
It was very dark and dank in the inside and they played very creepy music in the hallways. I stayed on the second floor and to get to the second floor I had to take the elevator the the 3rd the. Walk down a flight of stairs. (All while carrying my luggage) and down some dark corridors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice amenities but technical problems

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Central location, nice view.
Cons: Needs to sort out its technical shortcomings.
Location: Royal Miles, Waverly station
Nice staff, but had to move from one room, where room temperature was fixed at 26° and could not be regulated, then the second room featured a loud groaning noise related to plumbing throughout the night.
4 out of 5
by Stig from Oslo

Overrated, but excellent location in Ediburgh.

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in itself. Advertised as a 5 star hotel, but is really a 4 star hotel. Relatively expensive compared to product offering. Excellent location, good facilities, but staff is not very well trained. Many misunderstandings as none has english as their native language. Cleanliness in the rooms not very good, dirty under beds, counters and in all corners. We had 3 rooms and all were the same. Long corridors and a very stretch layout giving long walks to the rooms.
2 out of 5
by charles

Graduation

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
I wouldn't rush back. I booked well in advance so got a good price. However the hotel lay out is nonsensical. Our room was on the 1st floor. You had to go up to the 3rd, walk down a very long corridor with rooms off both sides, in to the bar, then down 2 flights of stairs to the first floor rooms! The hotel generally is dark. The room was spacy, bed comfortable. Just a shower, no bath. And lastly the boiler broke down. There was no back up so we did not have hot water until 11:30 the next day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast USA

Quiet, quirky

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Tops in comfort. You could not hear ANY noise from adjacent rooms or the hallway. Comfortable beds and pillows. Bathrooms were fabulous.
Cons: Staff bends over backward to please, but effort not always successful. Fix the elevator. All communications go through an operator, not efficient.
Location: Next door to the theater and good restaurants. Short walk to all old town attractions.
Absolutely the most quiet rooms, beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds. Bathroom floors are heated.The staff are friendly. Most are not Scottish...some do not speak English as well as one would expect of a hotel of this quality. The major problem with this hotel is that you enter the lobby at ground level and have to take an elevator to the third level. After a long walk, you come to a lovely fire pit and bar, but then you have to walk down either one or two levels to your room. There is no elevator access to this part of the hotel and bags must be carried by the bellhop. Don't forget something in your room as it can be a VERY long walk back. There is an elevator, but it has been broken for 6 weeks, which, again, is unacceptable for a property of this stature. I was told that my expectations were out of line because this was a boutique hotel. Two terrific concierges. Both that I used were knowledgeable and helpful as were desk staff when the concierge was busy helping someone else. Hotel is in a great location, very near the Royal Mile, good restaurants, and the theatre.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you can get there...

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Access to the hotel by car is extremely complicated. There is no valet parking and no place where you can legally leave the car while you check-in. The parking is far away. To access our room, we had to use an elevator up, walk through 2 long corridors, descend 2 floors and walk another long corridor. The window in our room did not open. The rest was OK but, at that price, you would expect more.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Glasshouse wasn't as good as I expected , not much of a bar, made a coffee in the room milk was 5 months out of date !!! Hotel didn't seem bothered once I complained
5 out of 5
by Gary from Ft Lauderdale

Best in Edinburgh

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is top notch. Amazing staff, amazing service, comfortable rooms... I can't wait to get back!