Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel centrally located

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: It seems all the rooms either have a city view or a worthwhile garden view. The room appointments are top quality.
The Glasshouse Hotel is located at the center of New Town and within easy walking distance from Old Town making it perfectly located for anything you would want to do or visit while in Edinburgh. It seems everything is within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel, Close to the center of things

Posted Nov 20, 2016
We stayed here, because is was close to the train station. We had tickets at the Playhouse for Van Morrison and this is right next door. Easy walking to every thing we wanted to do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel, really Central

Posted Nov 20, 2016
I loved this hotel and would highly recommend. The room was amazing the staff at hotel were so nice and helpful they could not have done any more to make sure me and my friends stay was any better. The breakfast was outstanding, we got a fantastic price with Expedia for this boutique hotel so it really was amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Drumbeg

Great Location Great Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location is great and a short walk to most sights and Royal Mile. Big shopping center across the street.
Hotel is unique and very comfortable. Rooms are a good size and well decorated, staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Breakfast is on the expensive side but was very good and plenty of variety on the menu. "Honesty Bar" which is staffed sometimes but not always was good enough for a drink or two before heading out but it would be nice to have a full bar in a hotel as nice as The Glass House.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Galway Ireland

An Oasis

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Central Location Decor
The Glasshouse is centrally located, providing easy access to many attractions. It would be great for theater lovers, as it is next door to the Playhouse. The hotel decor is modern, sleek and soothing. The roof garden is a fabulous place to hang out and relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Matthew Bystrzejewski, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us a review - and what an amazing review at that. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. Regards, Matthew Bystrzejewski Duty Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Short trip to Scotland

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Perfect location for exploring the Royal Mile!
The room came with great view. We could walk out onto the rooftop garden and enjoy our coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Matthew Bystrzejewski , Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie, Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. I do have to say that plenty of our guests specifically request or book the our garden view rooms. Our rooftop garden seems like a little oasis in otherwise very busy city centre - glad you enjoyed it. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. Regards, Matthew Possibilities Duty Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Great, but preferred previous room ....

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff at check in and throughout. Loved the Honesty Bar Location was great and the hotel had a Classic style
Cons: The elevator service and lack of access and the fact that you have to go up only to walk back down two flights of stairs! NOISY AIR CON
Location: Great location......central to lots
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, England

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Really lovely hotel. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help and were very polite. We stayed in a suite room 53 and it was amazing. Great location and food and would highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from niagara falls, ontario

Central Edinburgh hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious.
Cons: Put in some elevators, elevators and more elevators.
Location: Edinburgh is a very walkable city with plenty of places to have a meal or just a coffee. Beautiful city.
This hotel has one elevator to room level. Then we had to walk quite a distance and descend 3 flights of stairs to find our room. It was not easy for this older couple to climb all those steps each time to get to street level. After 2 days of this we had more than enough. Their car park was located half a kilometre from the hotel through a small mall and several more steps where we had to haul our own suitcases. And to add insult to injury the hotel does not pay for car parking in their own hotel complex! Certainly not recommended for the unfit or anyone with knee issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by VictoriaSimpson, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review The Glasshouse. I am sorry to read that you found the layout of the hotel not to your liking. It is certainly a larger building than it appears from outside. I am sorry if staff did not fully explain the layout of the hotel to you. There is one main elevator to take guests from the entrance on the ground floor up to the hotel proper which is located on the top 3 floors of the building. From there the rest of the hotel is accessible via stairs or another elevator for your convenience. Unfortunately the hotel does not have a car park but we are able to offer a discount against parking at the closest local car park situated right next door to the hotel in the adjacent building. I do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Victoria Simpson Rooms Division Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Cons: all of the above plus the expired coffee sachets in the room need replacing. Coffee expired 2 months ago.
spent one night two rooms one for myself and another for my parents for a weekend trip to Edinburgh from London. Pros: - good location for city sightseeing. just a short walk from the main train station if you arrive by train. - rooms are nice and clean with a pretty high standard of comfort level. Cons: - Elevators don't go up to the 1 or 2 floor so if your room is on those levels it's a pretty long walk inside the hotel. Was not cool when I found out my card key was not working as I had to walk through the maze of corridors back to the front desk. - Parents room were near a function room on the garden level where there was some party going on and they had trouble sleeping because of the noise. The negative points about my experience: - Receptionist gave us a map guide for the city in Italian (we are koreans with an american accent) - Asked day before check out if we could check out an hour or so later than the usual time. Phoned the front desk guy says he will call me back in 10min no call phone him again says he'll call back again nothing so had to speak to the morning shift receptionist next day. - Receptionist asked which newspaper I would like in the morning so said xxx and found out when I was checking out that they were intending to charge 3.50 for the paper. Have been to many hotels of varying degrees but never got charged for a newspaper. When you spend in excess of 300 GBP for a room you expect that marginal gain in attention and detail. all not there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Victoria S, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Lee, Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry to read that elements of your experience did not meet your expectations. I will speak personally to the front desk and Housekeeping teams regarding the points you raise to ensure we are consistently providing the high standard of customer care we pride ourselves on here at The Glasshouse. I am very sorry that this was not your experience on this occasion. I apologise if the cost of the newspapers was not clearly explained to you upon check in. We offer a wide range of local, national and international papers to our guests with the Independent being our complimentary paper choice for any guest who wishes. Thank you for your comments regarding access to level one. I will ensure your comments are passed to our General Manager for his consideration. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future. As a valued member I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary room upgrade to one of our third floor city view suites on your next visit. Please contact me directly to make the arrangements or if I can be of any further assistance. Kind regards, Rooms Division Manager