Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean little over prices

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired but comfortable.

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
We were only there for 1 night. The property is "tired" looking apart fro our room which had been brightened up. Our evening meal was good and was exceptional value for money. Breakfast was also more than adequate. The staff were all friendly and a bit "laid back" but efficient at the same time. Overall it was good value for Edinburgh and we would certainly cosider staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for Edinburgh break

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Staff really friendly - room was bright and clean. The bathroom is not super modern but was clean and everything worked :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced, decent, and well located Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The fabric of the Hotel is in need of some TLC, but that said, the room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and accomodating, free parking was on the premises and the breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. The bar was friendly and there was a bus stop into the city close by and a tram stop ( Murrayfield ) 10 min walk through the park opposite the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall this was a decent hotel for the money. i would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolerable

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet room.
Cons: The bed sheet and mattress cover were not big enough for the bed so wouldn't stay on the mattress. The smell from a brewery(?) nereby was really awful
Room was spacious and clean. It's an old building with some refurbishments. Is a pub with rooms upstairs. Would find somewhere else to stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

Large room above nice pub

Posted Sep 23, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The rooms are just above a pub with really good food. The room was spacious with large bed and tall ceilings. Easy access to city centre with bus stop out front. I would definetly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Yoek

Nice quiet neighborhood

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Food, Staff
Cons: Little updating
Location: Residential
Hotel staff, great, food was very good. Breakfast traditional Scottish. Only drawback Hotel is little old and might need little updating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Lovely Little Place, GREAT Staff

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We made a quick walking-trip to Edinburgh to include a conference nearby. Hotel was nicely located, but what made it great was the staff, their friendliness, & atmosphere of place. Tiny, but well-maintained. Wish road was a bit quieter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 nights

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Good food and location
Cons: Needs A/C
Location: Easy 15 minute bus ride to Royal mile
Lots of stairs, good food, had to leave a window open facing a busy street since there was no A/C. Had it been warmer we would have been very uncomfortable. Easy access to public transportation which is important when visiting downtown Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good alround hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel good food n menu