Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at The Howard Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Excellent Breakfast, lots of choice Great location Parking (£15 per night) Butler service Lovely room
We had a three night stay at The Howard Hotel, we were booked to stay in the petit small room, I phoned up as I was concerned the room might be a bit small for a couple, having read some reviews after booking the room. When we arrived we were upgraded to a larger room which was lovely. Andrew the Head Butler was very welcoming and helpful, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 24, 2016
서비스 끝내줌. 정말친절하고 버틀러가 참 좋음 무료로 다림질 서비스까지 가능항. 다만 조금아쉬운점은 입구찾기가 조금 힘들었다는점임. 그래도 모두친절하고 특히 방에서 마시는 애프터눈티는 하루를상쾌하게해주었음.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Charming, historic building in a great location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location, historic charm, butler services
Location: The Howard is within walking distance of all of the city sights, great restaurants, shopping, and the train station.
We loved our stay at The Howard. It is located in New Town in a 1700's era converted town home. I enjoyed feeling like we were actually living in Edinburgh and not staying at a traditional hotel. The unique aspect of staying at The Howard are the services provided by the butlers. If you would like, they will unpack and repack your clothes, iron your clothes, and bring tea or coffee to your room. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfect! The room was beautiful and spacious. The service was impeccable. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Royal Mile and castle. We had a fabulous stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Excellent location

Posted May 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Fantastic service and warm welcome.
Cons: Parking spots more accessible
Location: Great walking tours and close to old town.
The Howard was in an excellent location to see the amazing sights of old Town Edinburgh. We loved the beautiful touches for our stay in Edinburgh. Warm, friendly staff. Great bed And bathroom suite.
4 out of 5
by Francois

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Benoit from Paris

Très bon hôtel avec un service impeccable

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very discreet hotel, ideally located (15 minutes-walk from the castle), with extremely warm and friendly staff. Cosy rooms nicely decorated. Hôtel charmant et discret, idéalement situé (1/4h de marche du Château), et très sympathique. Personnel très chaleureux, toujours prêt à rendre service. Chambres agréables et bien décorées.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very comfortable boutique hotel

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
very comfortable boutique hotel with great butler service and an excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Charming small hotel, great staff.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Charming small hotel, with really great staff. The Butlers were always happy to help whether with unpacking, drinks or simply a chat. My room was advertised as one of the "petit" ones - perfect as I was travelling alone but probably a little small for two. The decor was a little dated in places, but in many ways part of the charm. A lovely small hotel in the new town!
5 out of 5
by margaret from Sunderland

Great little break

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel quite central Staff could not do enough for you Coffee and paper delivered to ur room also do a shoe shine