Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at The Howard Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Excellent Breakfast, lots of choice Great location Parking (£15 per night) Butler service Lovely room
We had a three night stay at The Howard Hotel, we were booked to stay in the petit small room, I phoned up as I was concerned the room might be a bit small for a couple, having read some reviews after booking the room. When we arrived we were upgraded to a larger room which was lovely. Andrew the Head Butler was very welcoming and helpful, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Charming, historic building in a great location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location, historic charm, butler services
Location: The Howard is within walking distance of all of the city sights, great restaurants, shopping, and the train station.
We loved our stay at The Howard. It is located in New Town in a 1700's era converted town home. I enjoyed feeling like we were actually living in Edinburgh and not staying at a traditional hotel. The unique aspect of staying at The Howard are the services provided by the butlers. If you would like, they will unpack and repack your clothes, iron your clothes, and bring tea or coffee to your room. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Charming small hotel, great staff.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Charming small hotel, with really great staff. The Butlers were always happy to help whether with unpacking, drinks or simply a chat. My room was advertised as one of the "petit" ones - perfect as I was travelling alone but probably a little small for two. The decor was a little dated in places, but in many ways part of the charm. A lovely small hotel in the new town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Definitely more of an upscale boutique hotel located in the new town section but still within walking distance of old town. The room and bathroom were huge. Only small miss was the condition of the furniture. It was all good condition, but looked a little old/worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the hotel isconvenient and close to centre

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: very good
very good service and breakfast was good. they make you a pot of tea when you ask for it and bring it to your room. lots of other butler services but i did not use any. near to centre (train station- waverley). i thoroughly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Excellent position in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: It's country house feeling
Location: Easy walk to the centre of the city
Our room was large and comfortable with a nice siting area. Good sized bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great location. Staff was extremely helpful and fr

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Location. Small great attention from staff
Cons: Double beds instead of two singles pushed together.
Location: Edinburgh Castle. Royal mile. Botanical Gardens.
Fabulous we had a great time despite the rain. I only wish we had longer to vIsit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

disappointing stay

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Food was excellent at breakfast and the complimentary tea/coffee being made for you
Cons: Building work
Location: good pubs very reasonably priced. Bus tours were very good as well
disappointed with the hotel - needs building work to level the rooms and beds in the room. Felt seasick walking around the room especially from the bed to the window. Big crack in the wall. Supposed to be one of the better rooms as was for a special occasion would not like to see the other rooms then. Free tea and coffee at all times was a nice touch. Bit of a hike up and down from Edinburgh to the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Professional Refurbishment Required

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Breakfasts were excellent and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Cons: A professional refurbishment supervised by professionals )architect/designer) and not using maintenance quality workers.
We'd previously stayed at the Howard just after it initially opened and were very impressed by the traditional style and overall high quality of this hotel. On returning last week, and having now read a few recent traveller reviews, I can only say that this hotel is now long overdue a major refurbishment. Our main criticisms were with the bathrooms which were extremely poorly maintained (presumably by what is known these days as 'multi-trade' operatives) who were clearly not the same people who originally converted this hotel. Broken and chipped tiles, blackened and missing floor grout, shower wall tiles with black fungus, poor silicone work, peeling paint at shower bases, shower valves with rusted and missing incorrect screws, plastic poorly fitted mirror surrounds and wallpaper (why in bathrooms?) peeling off walls. Bedrooms are lovely spaces, beds are extremely comfortable but the choice, quality and condition of some of the furniture left a lot to be desired. Staff were on the whole very attentive, although when we insisted on moving rooms (we were placed initially in one of the Howard's "best terraced rooms" (a below ground basement room) as the space was dark, people could look in from the pavement above and there was a door with direct access to the outside (a security issue) the initial butler looked very displeased with us. Sadly, we won't be returning to the Howard as this hotel seems to be be living on it's past reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Relaxed stay in a great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The Howard is a discrete hotel in a great central location. A few aspect feel a bit tired and in need of refurb, like the entrance door could be re painted. The breakfast was superb and a mid day check out is very civilised. Nice bar area. Staff very friendly.