Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Wonderful hotel, we loved our stay

Posted Dec 22, 2015
This is a wonderful hotel above a nice pub. Very stylish and comfortable. We were impressed with how well equipped the room was and how efficient and welcoming the staff were. Loved the huge bed and the GHD hair straightener. Very central location in the picturesque old town. If we're ever able to make it back to Edinburgh, we would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Indulgent Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and welcoming. You knew when you were in the hotel, you were somewhere different and special.
We were greeted very warmly on the Friday evening, the bar was busy and had a great atmosphere. We were shown to our lovely room and very impressed with the condition and quality of it. We then had dinner in bar and were given complimentary drinks which was a very nice touch. The hotel was in great location, 10 minute walk from St Andrew's Square tram stop and 5 minutes from Edinburgh Castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Have stayed in Edinburgh quite a few times .

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The Inn on the mile was one of the best hotels we have stayed in! Brilliant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lossiemouth

Perfect hotel, brilliant location.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The Inn on The Mile made my first experience of Edinburgh phenomenal. Stayed for a night with my girlfriend, right in the heart of Edinburgh near all of the attractions. Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful. The room itself was beautiful, huge bed, biggest I've ever seen, and an incredible bathroom! Could not have enjoyed it any more if I had tried.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne & Wear

Fabulous!

Posted May 21, 2015
Beautiful, clean and spacious room with added touch of chocolate dipped strawberries and welcome drink on arrival. Friendly staff and amazing breakfast.. Couldn't ask for more, well worth the money.. Can't wait to stay again! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell GA

Great location and accommodations!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Staff and service, room cleanliness and amenities, location, location, location!
Location: Located halfway on the Royal Mile, easy access to the castle, Hollyrood, the countless pubs, restaurants and shopping. Easy walk to Princess Street
Loved the location right in the middle of the Royal Mile. Great pub downstairs, friendly staff and the room had been recently renovated the year prior and looked great. Nothing to complain about, we had a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Our towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working. Perhaps this could have been checked prior to our arrival. It's the only possible minute snag I could
Location: Right on the Royal Mile so a perfect location for exploring Old Town and just a two minute walk over the bridge to Princess Street.
Great bar area, fabulous food, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very pleasant and surprisingly quiet especially given the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Convenient location, but that's about it

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Close to everything you need to get to in Edinburgh. We never had to walk more than five minutes to get to a tour pickup, and it's a ten minute walk to the train station, Edinburgh castle and Holly Rood palace. Tons of restaurants and shops around as well. Clean Lovely decor Cons: Once you enter the bedroom hallway, and in the room itself, everything smells horrible - like sewage. There's no lift. Which, if you're in rooms 7-9 as we were, means 90 stairs to get to your room. I counted. If you're not able bodied, or if you're tuckered out from climbing and walking on tours all day like we were, the stairs aren't nice. I know European hotel rooms are tiny, but this room was TINY. Like, we had to turn sideways to get along the wall to the bathroom. The shower is trying to kill you. It's an open one with a smooth stone floor and its slippery as all get out. Turns out Edinburgh has a rollicking night life. Not only will you hear everyone yelling on the busy street that you're next to, you'll hear pumping music from clubs, angry taxi drivers, etc. Also, the bottom of the inn is a rather popular bar so the noise from there drifts up too. Plan on not going to sleep until 3 am, and bring some earplugs. Speaking of the bottom being a bar, good luck getting prompt check in service if the bar is busy. Honestly, I could've forgiven everything else if it weren't for the horrendous smell. If we hadn't been there only two nights, we would have moved hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We had a great time at the hotel, the location was super central and the staff were really very helpful at advising on places to go. We also enjoyed quality pub food and live music on the Saturday night. The room itself had a huge and very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom - only quibble was that the WC door wasn't full length (separate from the bathroom). Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Within walking distance of where we wanted to go.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: . The staff were excellent, they could not do enough for us, free drink on arrival. a very high standard of room, and a good breakfast.
Cons: They could sell OVD Rum!!
Location: Just up the Bridges, on the Royal Mile, so close to shops and all attractions
We actually stayed at the Radisson Blu next door as part of a wedding party, but as we wished to stay an extra night in Edinburgh, and the Radisson was more expensive, we booked the Inn on the Mile. It does not look all that special from the outside, but we discovered that we had made an excellent choice. We would definately recommend to all visitors to Edinburgh.