Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Location. Friendly, Helpful Staff.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: As above.
Cons: As above.
Location: The Inn is located centrally on the Royal Mile that runs to Edinburgh Castle. also close to museums and the university.
Once a bank, the ground floor is now a gastro-bar. Above the restaurant are three floors consisting of 3 bedrooms per floor. The top floor is 80 stairs up (without an elevator). The rooms are, clean, modern, very small but cleverly designed to contain all that you might need. The mattresses are firm! Breakfast was situated on the ground floor. with basic cereals, toaster, jams etc. There is an additional menu of hot dishes from full, eggs Benedict, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on toast. Our room was at the top of the building. The wind howled through an old metal framed window which did not close properly. When informed of this, the manager was apologetic and had the window fixed as soon as possible. The staff remained friendly and helpful throughout, however busy they were. It was a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Hotel in the Heart of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Awesome location. Beautiful, modern room. Great, friendly staff. Nice pub downstairs. Lovely complementary drink upon arrival.
Cons: Zero counter space in bathroom. A little table in each bathroom would be an easy fix.
Location: We were almost exactly halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Hollyrood Palace. Easy to walk to each. Tons of shops, restaurants, and pubs to go to.
Unique hotel in the heart of Old Town. You have to walk up several flights of stairs, which wasn't an issue for us. Clean, new, stylish room. A little noisy at night from fun on the streets, but I used earplugs and it was fine. Nice to receive a complimentary drink upon arrival. Nice touch. Friendly staff. The room was great, but no place to put things in the bathrooms. Absolutely zero counter space. A little table in each would have been really great. And, I guess it's a European oddity, but you have to use the hairdryer in the bedroom. We've run into this before, though. Everything was within walking distance, which was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Hotel needs to give better directions. Hard to find
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toulouse

Excellent hotel with a friendly welcome

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Proximity to centre of Edinburgh - friendliness.
Cons: Bathroom fittings need attentionHugh
We enjoyed our stay on the Mile - great service including a free drink!
5 out of 5
by Mona from Oslo

Flott lite hotell med fantastisk beliggenhet

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Et lite , meget hyggelig hotell med flott og romslig rom med herlig bad ( plass til to i badekaret :) ) Alle fasiliteter på rommet. Fantastisk beliggenhet med gangavstand til alle severdigheter. Vennlig og serviceinnstilte personale, gratis drink i baren ankomstkveld. Noe bråk fra gaten om natten (sykebiler ol) grunnet gamle vinduer uten isolasjon. Fungerte bra med sov i ro. Anbefaler hotellet og drar gjerne tilbake. Passer veldig godt for par.
4 out of 5
by Tor from Oslo

Flott hotell!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Flott hotell!
3 out of 5
by isabelle from Montreal

Décevant mais très bonne localisation

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre au dessus d'un bar avec concert et il est inpossible de dormir Service correct avec personnele sympatique mais l'accueil est au bat donc pas pratique quand c'est bondé La chambre semble être rénovée il y a quelques années mais les défauts ressrtis pas pris en compte (tapisserie, verre brisé, fenêtre qui ne ferme pas et laisse entrer l'air froid) Bref le rapport qualité prix n'y est pas pour un hotel de ce prix
5 out of 5
by Jamie from Detroit, MI

Great stay in Edinburgh

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the Inn on the Mile were very accommodating when we arrived first thing in the morning. They even set us up in an extra room for a couple of hours since our room wasn't ready yet. My wife doesn't travel as much as I do, and the jet lag + no sleep on the plane was killing her. The 3 hour nap was a life saver. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and comfortable; and the location of the hotel is very central to everything we wanted to see. The staff was friendly, very knowledgeable about the area, and made our stay great. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dundee

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Nice enough stay. Staff were a bit uninterested. Hotel itself is gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Basel

Boutique Hotel im Zentrum von Edinburg

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Kleines Boutique Hotel im Zentrum von Edinburg. Alle wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten von Edinburg wie z.B. das Schloss oder Grassmarket sind 5 min. zu Fuss zu erreichen. Sehr freundliches und Hilfsbereites Personal.