Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Friendly helpful staff and good location within walking distance of city centre. Staff will also help with good places to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Beautiful location! Easy to navigate in town. Enjoyed and would love to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but probably not for Americans

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: In a building that's over 100 years old, so it's charming. The tiny staff tries hard to be helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Bus to city close by.
Cons: No elevator. Not walking distance from The Royal Mile unless you are quite young and vigorous. Not many restaurants near the hotel.
This is a quirky little boutique hotel that's not very close to the major tourist locations in Edinburgh, although it's very close to a bus stop and right next door to the Botanical Center. OK for short stays; it's actually more like a B&B than a true hotel. Staff is pleasant and helpful and the 100-year-old building has charm. Most Americans would likely complain that the rooms are too small and they would be truly shocked that there is no elevator (lift, for you Brits). Hefting big suitcases up and down the spiral staircase to the lower level was challenging. Breakfast was well prepared, but the menu does not change from day to day. One of us found the bed a little too hard.
4 out of 5
by andrew from Pontefract

Well priced hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A well priced hotel located next to botanical gardens. Regular bus service to city centre 50 yds away. Lovely breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Great location for the price

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Room was exactly as I expected. Quick bus ride to old town. Friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Per from Holstebro

Småt men godt

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Godt
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gezellig hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Gezellig, klein hotel. Het ontbijt was heerlijk. Vooral de scrambled eggs met bacon zijn een aanrader. Het hotel ligt op een kleine 20min stappen van het centrum, dicht bij verschillende restaurantjes en pubs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

further from the train station than i expected

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The manager was strange and not very friendly. My room was downstairs below street level. It made me feel unsafe and made the stay very uncomfortable. I would never book there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a bit far from the city center but the buses go regularly. The room was very small but it had everything we needed. It is a nice hotel for a short stay. There are several very nice cafés offering a wonderful breakfast near to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Martin from Linköping

Edinburgh

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Bra hotell med ett trevligt ägarpar som gav bra tips och hjälp under vår vistelse