Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gina from Newcastle

Great family run inn

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely family run hotel. My mother and myself stayed for one night and found the staff really friendly and the room very clean and well equipped. Breakfast and lunch were excellent. Great location for bus services to Edinburgh and for local tourist attractions and walks
4 out of 5
by Denise from Hitchin

The Original Rosslyn Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly B & B linked to a pub. Food and hospitality was great. There was a bus stop right outside which took you to Edinburgh ( also ran a night bus service which was useful for the New Year Party !)
5 out of 5
by Kim from Battle

Fantastic hotel - highly recommended

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights over New Year and had a brilliant stay. Room had a four poster bed that was really comfortable with complementary toiletries and refreshments. We had an evening meal at the hotel and the food was amazing, large portions and really tasty. The breakfast was fantastic, lots to choose from and a full cooked breakfast that fills you up all day! Food again was great. What a fantastic hotel, great food, great hospitality. Great location for sightseeing, good regular bus service into Edinburgh opposite the hotel. Would highly recommend the hotel, really friendly and welcoming with nothing too much trouble. We will definitely be staying again. 100% recommend this hotel, great place. Thank you for your great hospitality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Very Poor Experience

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The bar food was quite good and the restaurant staff were attentive
Cons: Everything else
Location: Rosslyn Chapel is a fantastic place to visit
We stayed two nights in the hotel as we attended a wedding in the area. The recption area is small and next to a very noisy bar. Hearing the F word repeated loudly as you check in is not a good start. We were taken up stairs to our room and the stairs was badly in need of vacuuming (in fact it was not vacuumed all weekend).. Our room was musty and the carpet was not very clean. The very small en-suite smelled very strange and the towels were thin and scatchy. The shower was old style and poor quality and the washbasin stained. . On day two our clean towels were not in the en-suite but in the bedroom being dried off on the radiator. Although the staff were friendly and in the restaurant, attentive, they need to be more organised and better informed/trained. This hotel was overpriced and very disappointing. The only plus was that the bar food was quite good.
4 out of 5
by Koji from Canterbury

Good ans cosy local hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient to take bus in front of the hotel. Room key did not work, and found that necessary to pull the door to make it work. Breakfast service was very good. Near the chapel Rosslyn is very good.
4 out of 5
by SIMONA from Carrara (Italia)

Ottimo rapporto qualità/prezzo

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Locanda vecchio stile nel bel paesino di Roslin, letteralmente a quattro passi dalla Cappella. Ottimamente collegata via bus a Edimburgo (la fermata è di fronte all'hotel)che dista 30 minuti circa. Le camere sono carine e pulite. Lo staff è estremamente gentile e amichevole e il cibo offerto nel pub annesso è di buona qualità. Lovely inn in excellent location: a very short walk from Rosslyn Chapel and 30 mins by bus from Edinburgh. The staff is extremely polite but also very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean and the food served in the annexed pub is very good. Definitely a place to recommend!
4 out of 5
by Aldona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Greenwich

you seek a grail?!?

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very accomodating for a family of four. Breakfast was excellent. It's a three minute walk to the Rosslyn Chappel, made famous in Dan Brown's The Davinci Code.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Farnborough

A good choice

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is a nice guest house/pub with friendly staff and a good choice of breakfast available. Room was a little on the small side but otherwise happy with our stay. Sadly did not get the chance to have an evening meal there as we had tickets for the Fringe. Bus stop right outside and took about 40 mins to get to the Royal Mile. Buses run on time and run very frequently back from Edinburgh. A good choice to stay.