Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Very Poor Experience

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The bar food was quite good and the restaurant staff were attentive
Cons: Everything else
Location: Rosslyn Chapel is a fantastic place to visit
We stayed two nights in the hotel as we attended a wedding in the area. The recption area is small and next to a very noisy bar. Hearing the F word repeated loudly as you check in is not a good start. We were taken up stairs to our room and the stairs was badly in need of vacuuming (in fact it was not vacuumed all weekend).. Our room was musty and the carpet was not very clean. The very small en-suite smelled very strange and the towels were thin and scatchy. The shower was old style and poor quality and the washbasin stained. . On day two our clean towels were not in the en-suite but in the bedroom being dried off on the radiator. Although the staff were friendly and in the restaurant, attentive, they need to be more organised and better informed/trained. This hotel was overpriced and very disappointing. The only plus was that the bar food was quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Koji from Canterbury

Good ans cosy local hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient to take bus in front of the hotel. Room key did not work, and found that necessary to pull the door to make it work. Breakfast service was very good. Near the chapel Rosslyn is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SIMONA from Carrara (Italia)

Ottimo rapporto qualità/prezzo

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Locanda vecchio stile nel bel paesino di Roslin, letteralmente a quattro passi dalla Cappella. Ottimamente collegata via bus a Edimburgo (la fermata è di fronte all'hotel)che dista 30 minuti circa. Le camere sono carine e pulite. Lo staff è estremamente gentile e amichevole e il cibo offerto nel pub annesso è di buona qualità. Lovely inn in excellent location: a very short walk from Rosslyn Chapel and 30 mins by bus from Edinburgh. The staff is extremely polite but also very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean and the food served in the annexed pub is very good. Definitely a place to recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aldona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gregory from Greenwich

you seek a grail?!?

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very accomodating for a family of four. Breakfast was excellent. It's a three minute walk to the Rosslyn Chappel, made famous in Dan Brown's The Davinci Code.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from Farnborough

A good choice

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is a nice guest house/pub with friendly staff and a good choice of breakfast available. Room was a little on the small side but otherwise happy with our stay. Sadly did not get the chance to have an evening meal there as we had tickets for the Fringe. Bus stop right outside and took about 40 mins to get to the Royal Mile. Buses run on time and run very frequently back from Edinburgh. A good choice to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 6, 2015
It could be a good place for friends, but definitely not good for family, trust me. Here are the reasons 1. The pub downstairs is loud until 2 am and one can hear everything from upstairs. It was very disturbing, I had to ask them to tune down the music!!! 2. The WiFi is awfully slow and not working most of the time, assume there is no wifi connectivity, definitely false advertisement. 3. Supposed to have breakfast in the morning and nobody was there in the morning. We waited and waited and left. No breakfast! The guy in the front desk, I could not catch his name, who is also running the kitchen and the pub downstairs at the same time was nice and accommodating. When my son got sick he helped us quite a bit. He is clearly well-intentioned. When asked, he can accommodate quite a bit. But the point is, you do not need to ask for what is standard in many 4 star places in the world. They are clearly understaffed, it is not a nice place to stay with family. Unfortunately, as a person who traveled all around the world and stayed in very different places, I can attest to this without any reservation. I am sad to leave this review, but this is the fact. They are quite pricey for what they offer, the niche old Scottish experience in an authentic Scottish village close to Edinburgh, because they cannot meet this promise. For a couple of bachelor friends it could be very nice, but for family stay away from it,. Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely place

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Lovely place the food is very good. Nice place for a drink and a wonder about the area. Make sure you walk down to the castle well worth the walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lyn from Worcestershire

Review

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
We were realy close to Roslin Chapeel, whch was great, as that was why we were viitng the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near Roslin Chapel and Roslin Castle

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Very helpful staff, really good food, easy walk to Roslin Chapel/Castle. Convenient bus to Edinbrugh central district.