Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Wales

A grand Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Service and location
Cons: Temperature of food at breakfast
Location: You are right in the heart of Edinburgh close to Princes St and the Golden Mile
The George is a top class hotel situated in a prime location in the heart of Edinburgh. It is very expensive so it needs to be judged harshly. The positives are the brilliant staff, the grandeur of the building and of course the location. On the negative side the room that we had was rather small and although well equipped the air conditioning was quite intrusive. The view over the church next door with the castle in the distance made up for the room to a certain extent. The breakfast was pretty expensive at £16 and although the quality of the food available at the buffet was very good it was rather let down by being tepid and also served on stone cold plates - a pet hate of mine. The bar was very attractive but as you might expect drinks were expensive - £5.50 for a pint of lager. We did not use the coffee shop or have any other meals. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and commend the excellent service. Next time we are in Edinburgh, however, we would probably opt for a hotel that is a little bit less expensive as unless it is special occasion the extra cost is not really justifiable if you only want bread and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Within walking distance to city centre

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very helpful staff. Room lovely and wonderful breakfast. Plenty to choose from. Evening meal not too big in quantity for price but still very nice. Would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central to bars, restaurants and sites

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Super hotel, centrally located with pleasant and welcoming staff. Many bars, restaurants and amenities close by and brilliantly located for all the key 'sites' Edinburgh has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Weekend away in Edinburgh

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Booked this hotel for our weekend away in Edinburgh. It was a great location for the bars, restaurants and sights. We had great service from the hotel staff from start to finish. The room was classy & kept with the traditional look. Overall it was a good experience with this hotel if your visiting Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel but noisey

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We spent two days in Edinburgh in February. The hotel was well-located for all the tourist sights and the airlink 100 for getting to and from the airport. It was clean, stylish and grand, however our ground floor room was rather noisey - we were woken on Sunday by a choir and there was a small gap under the door meaning we could hear everything in the corridor. Overall we would recommend if in a different room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mirfield

Location spot on , but cleanliness poor

Posted Feb 18, 2017
This hotel is in an amazing location of Edinburgh easy to walk to all the local attractions, great restaurants around it Staff absolutely welcoming , no maps of Edinburgh in the room which would have been helpful while walking around Edinburgh. For a top hotel I was very disappointed to see mold on the bathroom wall , tiles not correctly positioned under the bath making it look really cheap, The air conditioning for the room just didn't work , requested the setting to go hot and all you got was mildly warm . Poor room environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with good access to all attractions

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Could not fault this hotel and staff from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome the room was lovely and even had free complementary tuck box. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide range of food to choose from. We had a wonderful stay here in Edinburgh and would stay at this hotel again as its location is central and it was the little things that makes the difference with this type of hotel we were even given a little tin of mints and small bottle of water on our departure nice touch thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Really nice hotel in the centre of the city. Room was very comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. We really enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Not what it appears to be

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We checked in very early so I'm assuming this was why we were given a mediocre room. That being said, i would expect even a mediocre room in such a hotel to be better than what we got. Room was clean but cramped, shower was temperamental, toilet was tricky to flush, could hear noise from the lift (which i was convinced we were going to get stuck in at some point) and the heat...my god the heat!! I assumed all rooms were like this until i looked at the book in the room. Some rooms do have air con. Sadly not the room we got. Why doesnt every room have air con? We were given a fan which didnt help. I dont like to kick up a fuss but was planning on advising staff at check out about how unhappy we were. But we werent even asked how our stay was. Just sent on our way. That lift is an incident waiting to happen so i would encourage management to get it fixed asap
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service in the perfect location!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: * staff * location * room * restaurant
Location: Location is <5 minutes walking from the train station. It is very central, ideal to explore the city.
We had a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh and this was for a large part thanks to the kindness of the staff at The Principal. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful, and several of them went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable! Ros and Steve, who were working their night shifts, helped us with a late check-in and were unbelievably affable and welcoming. Much thanks to Steve for recommending the best brand of Haggis and directing us to the right person at the Printing Press bar to try out whisky! The waiters and waitresses were also incredibly accommodating in getting my girlfriend haggis in the morning for her breakfast, even though they don't officially serve as part of their menu. As for their breakfast- it was delicious! It is very good value for the amount you can eat, but also the quality is superb (as a Frenchman, I can tell you the croissant here was absolutely delightful, you can smell the butter from fresh pastry they serve). The hotel is ideally located, the rooms are very nice (although our bathroom was maybe a bit small), and the bar staff is very keen on guiding newbies through the immense range of whisky flavours ;) Credit must be given to bartender Bart for patiently guiding me through different taste notes, I have now found myself a new whisky to love! Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely at the Principal, we will be coming back for sure!