Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Great hotel, fab location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Beautiful room, staff great. Nice touches like a complimentary tuck box and elemis bath products.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday weekend

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great location close to everything perfect for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Hotel very central to everywhere... highly recommended... will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Iconic hotel on George Street

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Stayed for 1 night in February 2016. Located on George Street, centre of Edinburgh's business district, 5 minutes walk from Waverley station. Excellent on all counts, as one would expect. Comfy and cozy room, high quality bed and bedding. WiFi was fast and reliable. Wake-up call was made, as agreed. Very good breakfast - plenty of hot and cold choices and a decent cup of tea. Spent the evening in the cocktail bar - very good range of drinks, all well made alongside decent dinner options. Top choice for the business traveller, excellent location for a city break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel; poor handling of fire alarm incident

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Stay was great! Staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating. However there was a fire alarm at 1.40am on Boxing Day and this wasn't well handled. There weren't enough fire marshals to offer inofrtmsiom and or explanations to gets who had been roused from their Beds and kept outside in freezing temperatures for early ten minutes while The fire men checked out the source of the alarm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel in a Good Location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Principal Edinburgh is a good hotel in a good location in Edinburgh where most of the sights of Edinburgh is within walking distance. The hotel is tidy and clean and luxury, although the room may be a little bit of cold but one can ask for an extra heater.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, UK

Great Hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The hotel is in a great location, central to everything. Rooms are spacious and well decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Wkend before Xmas 2016

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The staff apart for the lack of info regarding the fire alarm issue. That's a management issue.
Cons: There were NO cupboards in the Delux Suites to store T-Shirts, underwear, socks etc SO we had to store them on the floor of the sliding doors wardrobe
Location: Castle, Gallery, Royal Mile, Lots of great restaurants.
Hotel was nothing too special but above average. The location was good but Edinburgh is FULL of homeless on every street corner - we counted over 35 in 2 days. Edinburgh is also FULL of drunks. The weekend before Xmas may be a clue but the extent to which folk got drunk and their aggressive actions was appalling. On the Saturday we were there we were awoken in the night/early morning by the fire alarm sirens going off and the hotel was evacuated. In the street with only robes on we watched drunk revellers filming the melee and the arrival of the fire engines. NO hotel staff were advising us of anything. Nothing was said to us on checkout the next day. If I had to guess I would say a drunk set of the alarm as we were fairly soon let back in 20 mins - freezing cold. We had never been to Scotland before and will go again because of the history and how the Scots are when sober but NOT here in Edinburgh so the hotel review is pretty pointless. Its about the city itself. The Scottish Xmas market was absolutely *rap. The EU Market was 80% rubbish. The Castle and Royal Mile were excellent !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Staff were great! Rooms were amazing! Close proximity to a lot of shops and tourist attractions!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Central hotel, friendly staff and clean

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Upside - central location, friendly staff, recently renovated, very clean with a nice 'tuck shop' sweetie offering in the rooms. :-) Downside - lift broke when I was in it (they seem tired and given the amount of use running up to Christmas I would say use the stairs !) interior is a bit bland despite an extensive refurbishment. They forgot to put slippers in my room :-(