Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location to explore Edinburgh

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: Bathroom design in our room
Location: Short walk from Waverley station and tram and bus stops. taxis readily available. Really good restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
very close to good restaurants, just a a short walk. easy to pick up buses and taxis to all the big attractions. Staff super friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Rooms very comfortable. Only downside for us was design of the bathroom with a shower that was awkward to operate and ended up drowning the bathroom whoever it was used. One of those nasty overhead showers which have have to be underneath to figure out how to turn on the handset rather than the overhead. Would definitely recommend staying here and we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan

Great hotel, good location and awsome staff

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The staff, the quiet location, the restaurants nearby.
Cons: Rooms were not that big, but nothing too small either.
Location: Location is quiet, close to many hotels, with some good location even for a nice breakfast. At walking distance from tram and bus stations too.
The hotel is on the other side of old town, close to the busiest street for shopping and easy to reach from the airport shuttle bus station too. It is a very well decorated, classical style hotel, with a warm and kind staff to welcome you. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. There are plenty of places to dine at close to the hotel. If you are not looking for something directly inside old town, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

A Good Hotel in an Excellent Location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The best things about the Principal are it's truly friendly and helpful staff as well as its location. The hotel is in the center of Edinburgh. The rooms were not spectacular by any means. I've paid less to stay in better properties. But being there for a few days and needing to be in the city center, the Principal served my purposes. Amazing location and I just can't say enough good things about the hotel staff. They really were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Fabulous!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms, location, the hotel staff!
Cons: Not much!
Location: Location was perfect, we walked almost everywhere!
The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable! But what really made this hotel great was the staff. I've never dealt with such warm friendly people at a luxury hotel. Loved it! ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Excellent Scottish experience

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location and atmosphere
Cons: The rooms had no drawers or cabinets, you could only hang things up so you litery lived out of your suitcase.
Location: A block off Princess street, close to Waverly train station. Edinburgh Castle a short walk, Hop on Hop Off bus a half a block away.
The hotel is in a Great location just a block off Princes Street for sight seeing with many excellent restaurants and cafes. The staff was helpful and the hotel had many little personal touches, Complimentary snack tray in the room, free bottled water in the fridge in the room, fresh milk in the fridge for coffee, hot coffee and muffins and fruit in the lobby for guests leaving for early flights. All white giving that feeling of a very old established Scottish hotel. Hotel restuarant had a varied menu and a small attached coffee shop to let you get a quick coffee and crousant or a place to sit outside and enjoy the city atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama, USA

Fantastic hotel--excellent breakfast!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The room, services, and the breakfast are excellent!
Cons: The walls are a bit thin so we can over hear a faint conversation in the next room.
Location: Excellent location with lots of restaurants and the attractions are 10-20 minutes walk away!
The Principal is less than 5 minute walk from the Waverly-Edinburgh train station. Location is great! The attractions are walking distance from the hotel. The cost of the room includes a fantastic hot (made to order) and cold breakfast (fruits, yoghurts, fresh fruit juices, cereals, bread and pastry. We left our luggage with the concierge since our train does not leave until 5pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly disappointed! Take your money elsewhere.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: A room that overlooks industrial-sized air conditioning fans should be a storage closet and not a "hotel room." Please add a shelf in the bathroom.
Not worth the price tag it came with. Cramped spaces with barely enough space for two suitcases, hardly any room in the closet to hang clothes. I guess space wasn't taken into consideration when they designed the room. The bathroom is the worst, no shelves to place your toiletries and barely enough room to fit in a toothbrush and toothpaste. Not only did the room have a gloomy dark atmosphere, the lighting in the bathroom was so bad. Poor lighting! The view of the room overlook industrial-sized air conditioning fans and we had to keep the curtains closed constantly because the the rooms on a higher floors had complete view of our room. For a hotel that charges close to $300 USD a night this was a huge disappointment. Spend you money wisely. The management photos of the rooms are deceptive so I've attached my photos. Other than the comfort, the location of the hotel is convenient and the staff are very friendly and hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Great centrally located hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
I love this hotel when I'm working in Edinburgh. Great location on George street. Lots of the touches that you'd hope for; Elemis products, complimentary tuck shop and I was given a little tin of mint imperials and a bottle of water to take on check out. Staff great. Only tiny niggle is a limited room service menu but with so many great restaurants in the area it's really not the end of the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, ideal for Edinburgh centre and sight

Posted May 8, 2017
Comfortable with excellent front of house staff particularly Concierge. Did not use restaurant or bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location near Prince's St and Castle

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location and restaurants.
Cons: Mattress was too soft. Comforter too heavy.
Location: Location excellent, near Prince's St and Castle, as well as Waverly train station. Many restaurants nearby within walking distances.
Good comfortable classic hotel with excellent attached restaurant (Printer's). Room and bathroom were spacious. Good location, near Prince's St and shopping. Bed mattress was too soft for my liking however.