Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient and comfortable guest house, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Darwin, Australia

Lovely little gothic castle close to bus stop.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The unique castle experience with interesting nick knacks on the walls. Yummy Scottish breakfast and nice hostess. Was exactly how imagined.
Cons: Nothing. It was exactly what expected.
Location: Walking distance to Bonnrigg and a nice restaurants. Bus stop only a short 2 min walk for an 1 bus trip to Edinburgh.
Our family of 4 had a lovely stay at the Retreat Castle. The hostess was lovely and friendly. The rooms were beautifully maintained. All the decorations throughout the castle made for an interesting experience. Can not fault anything of the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quirky Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Completely different from usual corporate hotels only sorry I stayed for 1 night only and will certainly stay again for longer when I am in Edinburgh
Location: The local pub "The Sun" serves excellent food at very reasonable cost.
A charming hotel with excellent host. Warm, cosy and with real character.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Plano, Texas

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Unique property, nice owners. Disappointed the play area was closed for high insurance cost reasons, and although there's a beer garden advertised the hotel does not sell beer or have a bar. Looks like this used to be hotel but is now under new ownership and is definitely a B&B and not a hotel.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Great Place

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Orbitz
We stayed at the Retreat for two days while visiting Edinburgh and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, the place is beautiful, and the woman who runs it is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Amazing castle-like guesthouse

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Large room, period decor, wonderful hostess.
Location: Very conveniently located for trips into Edinburgh by bus or by driving to park and ride.
Beautiful guesthouse, spacious room with 4 poster bed, excellent full breakfast, wonderful hostess. This little piece of paradise is full of character and charm. A real gem that is convenient for day trips to Edinburgh by bus (across the street) or by driving to a convenient park and ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant and so welcoming!

Posted May 26, 2016
A lovely hotel with a very warm welcome and delicious breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great Night in a Historic Hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Historic, clean and a great night of sleep
Cons: The laundry had a very pungent vinegar odor to it - It was exceptionally clean but just had a bit of a peculiar smell. Even so - a great stay.
Location: I did not do a great deal of sightseeing in the area - I did visit Rosslyn Chapel but that is about it. There is a small town nearby.
Hotel owner exceptionally friendly and went out of her way to make my stay a pleasant one. The room was spacious and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. I woke up feeling refreshed and went downstairs for a delicious breakfast. The owner made sure that I was happy with my stay and gave me suggestions and maps of the area for things to do.
5 out of 5
by Rubyanne

Quirky hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel this weekend to attend a wedding at the nearby Borthwick Castle. Throughout the weekend, the staff at the Retreat Castle were delightful and no request was too much. We stayed in the 4 poster room in the turret - WOW! This was an experience we will never forget, this hotel is the quirkiest we have ever come across and the decoration in the room and the main bar was brilliant and left us speechless. All meals were value for money and a high quality. If needing to be in the area again we would definitely stay here again though it is a shame that the hotel is being surrounded by a new build housing estate but once in the hotel you will not be disappointed!