Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel undergoing major renovation

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We have been to the hotel before and enjoyed​ the luxury and facilities. Returning this time we were not aware there was a total refurbishment in progress and whilst the staff were nice we should have been made aware. It spoilt our trip and we won't be returning. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything. A great central spot.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We had a lovely stay at The Roxburghe. The room was excellent and the staff were fantastic. Timing, unfortunately, wasn't on our side because the hotel was under renovations, and some of the amenities were unavailable. The location is ideal for anyone looking to explore the city on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The staff are incredibly polite and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean, I would highly recommend this Hotel we had a lovely experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great design, great location, zero soundproofing

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel was under construction when we were here so I can't rate the restaurant or bar which we're both unfortunately unusable. However - the room itself was beautifully designed and very comfortable. One thing to note is that the window of our room was on a side street and over a few bars which provided a lot of noise in the wee hours of the night. And then on the other side of the room, each time someone opened the hall way door it sounded as though they were inside our room it was so loud. I don't think I got a single good nights sleep despite the very comfortable beds. Also the man who was checking us in quite late at night was either very very tired or very something as he was super slow not helpful in any way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

could have been nice but was a building site

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: Staff
Location: Great location, near transport, pubs, restaurants, shops and sights.
Nice room, rude defensive staff. Had to go through a maze of hallways, stairs and ,ifts to get to our room as the hotel is u dergoing extensive renovations and because of renovations there were very limited amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in perfect location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Our hotel was absolutely perfect as it was so close to Edinburgh City Centre and everything was accessible. The room we had was amazing and we were upgraded for free which was brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Lovely hotel in quiet location.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Excellent hotel with friendly staff. Good location for all the sights, shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel - but parking a problem

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Rooms and location brilliant. Most staff helpful and went out of their way for us.
Cons: Car parking, communication and the reception staff, who were insolent and unhelpful on every occasion I had to deal with them.
Location: Edinburgh centre - enough to do for 4 days just walking down Princes Street!
I only found out that I would need to book parking when I arrived and was informed by the unhelpful and insolent reception staff that I needed to. Conceiege very helpful on this point. Unable to book Christmas Dinner - again not assisted by unhelpful and insolent reception staff, so had to get it on room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia.

Beautiful hotel in the heart of old Edinburgh.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We were upgraded on arrival; it was a beautiful room. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, rooms are clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Excellent Hotel in the Centre of Edinburgh

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: The only thing which could be improved upon is sound dampening on the doors as they slammed shut which late at night could get a little irritating!
The location of the hotel is perfect for getting around the centre of Edinburgh. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who were more than happy to help carry our bags to our rooms, check in only took a matter of minutes. We decided to have breakfast in the hotel every morning and the food and service was excellent even though the restaurant was always packed, a clear sign of how good it was. The rooms were very clean and spacious, with excellent heating and a great shower which I think is an absolute must in any hotel. Conveniently located plug sockets with USB charging points right next to the bed.