Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in perfect location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Our hotel was absolutely perfect as it was so close to Edinburgh City Centre and everything was accessible. The room we had was amazing and we were upgraded for free which was brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Lovely hotel in quiet location.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Excellent hotel with friendly staff. Good location for all the sights, shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel - but parking a problem

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Rooms and location brilliant. Most staff helpful and went out of their way for us.
Cons: Car parking, communication and the reception staff, who were insolent and unhelpful on every occasion I had to deal with them.
Location: Edinburgh centre - enough to do for 4 days just walking down Princes Street!
I only found out that I would need to book parking when I arrived and was informed by the unhelpful and insolent reception staff that I needed to. Conceiege very helpful on this point. Unable to book Christmas Dinner - again not assisted by unhelpful and insolent reception staff, so had to get it on room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia.

Beautiful hotel in the heart of old Edinburgh.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We were upgraded on arrival; it was a beautiful room. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, rooms are clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Excellent Hotel in the Centre of Edinburgh

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: The only thing which could be improved upon is sound dampening on the doors as they slammed shut which late at night could get a little irritating!
The location of the hotel is perfect for getting around the centre of Edinburgh. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who were more than happy to help carry our bags to our rooms, check in only took a matter of minutes. We decided to have breakfast in the hotel every morning and the food and service was excellent even though the restaurant was always packed, a clear sign of how good it was. The rooms were very clean and spacious, with excellent heating and a great shower which I think is an absolute must in any hotel. Conveniently located plug sockets with USB charging points right next to the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We loved this hotel. Excellent central location but quiet too. Beautiful decor and staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from linlithgow

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Hotel was great with excellent facilities. Rooms are deluxe and extremely comfortable. Hotel in a great location within the capital.highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast trials

Posted Dec 24, 2016
1st day, waitress slapped my coffee down in a cup, no saucer saying I should use the cup & saucer already laid up on table. Day 2 cafetiere delivered to table, lovely. Communication problem between Maître D & reception led to us being asked for over £200 for two days breakfast. Otherwise staff were really good & helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction work taking place at hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Reception staff and baggage staff.
Cons: Breakfast quality.
Location: Good
Okay hotel disappointed after asking for table for dinner told to wait in bar for half an hour,went back after waiting 35mins to be told our table had been given to someone else ? Not very happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

good location for shopping and restaurants

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: bedrooms were lovely and friendly welcome on arrival
Xmas Trip , party of 4 ladies booked in to two twin rooms we were upgraded on arrival and welcomed with a glass of champagne , service over 3 day stay could not have been better