Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Experiencia maravillosa (marvelous experience$

Posted May 12, 2017
After two long flights from Puerto Rico, I felt touched and lost of words when the maids were very kind to knock my door upon my arrival to greet me, and gave me some delicious fruits. The staff was always willing to help me. I hope they complete the hotel renovation very soon even though was funny to need to open various doors, and walked upstairs & downstairs to get to/from reception, room, and elevator. I got two spectacular full body massages, and enjoyed the pool after spending all day walking, taking pictures, and sightseeing. I will highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Very nice hotel in an antique building

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, facilities (gym, swimming pool), kindness of staff.
Cons: It is being refurbished nowadays, so its difficult to say.
Location: convenient location, close to main historical attractions
The hotel was being refurbished when we arrived, but everything was organized in a way we didn`t notice any discomfort. Everything went perfectly well and the hotel staff is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel & brillent location for drinking!

Posted May 3, 2017
I would highly recommend the hotel lovely and friendly lush rooms and great location for site seeing, eating & pubs/bars would defiantly come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Very good location close to shops, restaurants

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Difficult to say as the building works are obviously going to improve the rooms and hopefully access Also no evening meal restaurant just a snack menu
Location: Near Princess Street, train station and excellent public transport system. Walking distance to Edinburgh castle, shops and some very nice restaurants
Hotel was in a very good location. Everything was within easy reach - shops, restaurants and public transport. BUT it was undergoing major refurbishment. The hotel had a temporary entrance and was covered in scaffolding and plastic sheeting. Our room was quiet and nicely furnished but you needed a map to find it! Breakfast was located along a temporary corridor and staff escorted you there so you didn't get lost. There was no direct access to reception or dining area. The staff were pleasant and apologetic but I had booked this break as a special 70th birthday treat for my partner and feel that with such major work in progress we should have been informed of the disruption so we could make a choice as to changing the Hotel venue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We were not informed of refurbishment works.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and well presented.
Cons: See above.
I paid a lot of money for this trip as a treat for my partner. At no point during the booking was I informed that the hotel was being refurbished. It was completely covered in scaffolding - there was no bar and we were put in a room right at the back of the hotel, up two staircases and down several windy corridors. This was really upsetting and ruined our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel but currently under renovation

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Loved the authentic look of the rooms, clean and spacious too. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just off Princes Street so we could walk everywhere. Unfortunately the hotel is currently being renovated so getting to our room was a bit of a walk through a maze as the main reception is currently closed. Hot breakfast wasn't being served (but yoghurt, juice and milk were provided in the room which was all we needed and you could go to a sister hotel for hot breakfast). The pool area is dated and no loungers are provided, just chairs. Would definitely visit again once the renovations are done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Average Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Good location. Terrible rooms......when they push singles together and call it a double yeah ok....but at least make an effort.....two single beds with single linen pushed side by side.....i mean really? thats just crap. Hotel is literally a maze, to get to level 5 you need to take 2 seperate lifts and weave your way through a rabbit warren... Coffee and Danishes are a nice touch, if there is any left....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

Nice n comfy classic hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The room is cozy n comfy, a perfect blend of classic n modern. The staff are very helpful (Fernando n Maria). Trully makes our trip a memorable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel undergoing major renovation

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We have been to the hotel before and enjoyed​ the luxury and facilities. Returning this time we were not aware there was a total refurbishment in progress and whilst the staff were nice we should have been made aware. It spoilt our trip and we won't be returning. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything. A great central spot.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We had a lovely stay at The Roxburghe. The room was excellent and the staff were fantastic. Timing, unfortunately, wasn't on our side because the hotel was under renovations, and some of the amenities were unavailable. The location is ideal for anyone looking to explore the city on foot.