Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Castle and Royal Mile.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great Staff. We loved the shower head with plenty of hot water. Decent sized bathroom. Overall a nice quiet experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We were upgraded to a large suite, which was very nice. The hotel has a great central location which allowed us to walk to everything. With that location advantage also comes the only negative. Both Saturday and Sunday nights were a bit noisy as the bar crowd returned to their cars between 2-4am. The hotel did provide ear plugs, which helped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LOVE THIS HOTEL!!!!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, suites and location!, Beds great too!
Staff was awesome, James and the Concierge staff will go beyond the call of duty to make your day in Edinburgh the best, private drivers available to get you to all the spots you need if the train doesn't get you there. Location is great, walk to everything, the larger suites, great, lamb was great for dinner. Wish I could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

So central to the shopping areas and the tourist s

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The situation and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: Pace of service in the bar and restaurant
Location: So much close by. One can walk to most things. Good shopping, Edinburgh castle and the Royal mile is so beautiful. Recommend the Royal Yacht
We were very pleased with the hotel and staff. We were also relieved that we had previously booked a car parking space as they get filled very quickly. It made our visit so much easier . We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious , although the service was very slow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient comfort

Posted May 7, 2016
This is an older hotel on a very pretty green quiet square, but close to everything. Arrived tired and had booked a single room. Asked for something quiet and was given a room at the end of the corridor on the third floor facing the atrium. The room was compact; the bathroom had a huge tub; the bed was super comfortable. Everything was spotless. I'm a rather picky eater but rate the restaurant as very good. They have a new menu and the seafood linguini was especially good on an evening when I ate in the bar as the restaurant was booked for a special event. I didn't try the breakfast, instead walked around the corner to Waterstones, which has a fabulous view of the castle from its cafe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Arrived to meet friendly staff that helped us to our clean, well presented room. Breakfast was of great, with plenty of options. Massage in the spa was amazing too! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice and central to the city
5 out of 5
by Michael from Eastern Scotland

M&D

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
In general hotel lived up to previous experience - however we were allocated room which, due to temporary works, was on a floor with no direct lift access. This was not a problem for us, but could have been for others. Were not advised of this at time of check-in, which omission was drawn to attention of duty manager on departure.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Lancaster

Fantastic hotel !

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing team 5* service ! Complimentary upgrade . Just fantastic -
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service, very friendly staff

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Central hotel, nice decor. Double room basic but very spacious. Swimming pool somewhat dated but adequate and a bonus really. Very polite attentive staff.