Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Nice hotel in the city centre

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location and stylish communal areas.
Cons: Clanking fire doors and some bedroom decor.
Location: 10 - 15 min walk from Waverley Station, a similar distance from the Castle and Old Town, 2 minutes from great shopping.
The hotel is in a great position for all attractions in Edinburgh - sights and shopping.The communal areas are very stylish but our room was not - it was comfortable enough and spotlessly clean but just bland and maybe in need of a makeover (we also had a fire door outside our room that banged shut during the night, seemingly whenever anyone went through it - annoying). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location, attentive staff

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The staff was always polite and helpful. New Town is great and access to the Mile was quick and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Staff were great - nothing too much trouble.
Cons: Only one small lift!
Location: Shops ands eat! Also close to Princes St, bus routes, tram and great view of the castle.
Great hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Princes St but close to all the eateries and upmarket shops in the New Town area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Good access to the main city. Staffs are helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Quality hotel at the Centre of Edinburgh.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
There to perform in and enjoy the Festival, hotel is well placed on Charlotte Sq and George St, all amenities close by and a very convivial reception from the staff. Excellent stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Decent business hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Polite staff and well maintained. The rooms in the new wing (to the back of the hotel from reception) are generally better than the old ones.
Cons: Lift to the new wing is small and frequently full or there is a queue to use it. WiFi cover is patchy.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and bars in the new town on George St. Short walk to the old town.
I stay at the hotel reasonably frequently on business as a choice based on allowed expense budget and proximity to work. For the price it is clean, quiet, and has a good location. Have never tried the hotel food or other facilities so am unable to comment on those. WiFi cover is patchy. If I was in Edinburgh for leisure I would probably stay somewhere with more character but is is a reasonable choice for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n ireland

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: close to city centre but still quiet
Cons: review bar prices
excellent weekend stay. price of alcohol in the hotel higher than other comparable sites
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from tn

A chic hotel in the city center

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location, comfortable place to stay.
Cons: Elevators need a lot of improvement. Housekeeping issue. And WIFI, please improve.
Location: Location is perfect. We literally walked everywhere, shopping, tourist spots, park, scott monument, etc
I love how cute this hotel is. The lobby is very well decorated. Staff are very courteous as well. I like the location because it is close to many restaurants and easy access to all tourist spots. It is center but far enough from noisy crowds. I like that they have indoor pool, and gym and a nearby spa. we only got to use the pool which was good after a long flight. the elevators were quite small and very slow if you have big luggages, it can be quite a challenge. The elevator light don't light up so you do't really know if it is working or not. Often we had to used the stair as it is faster than waiting for elevator. the room was perfect, it was perfect size. The bathroom was clean and updated. Overall it was great at first. Then on one day, we came back, the room carpet was very wet, window was broken, luggage on our bed, trash bins on tables. We assumed that they haven't finished cleaning. Someone fix the window, we waited and hoped that floors would dry up but it did not so we had to ask for alternative because apparently it will take too long to dry out. So eventually they had to give us another room, this time king size bed with view of the castle. The bad thing about this hotel is the poor wifi service. It was ridiculously slow. for young couple who like reading news online, social media etc, this is big disappointment. Overall, stay was still comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

outdated and overpriced but not bad

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: staff were all welcoming and attentive. location. pool, gym and sauna. good aircon. tea/coffee facilities. comfortable bed.
Cons: entire property needs renovating. wifi was poor. bit overpriced due to scruffy features.
Location: very central and near to all.
staff were very attentive and polite. property is old and outdated from top to bottom. one old small lift. scruffy walls and carpets throughout. old fixtures and cheap artwork. gym is extensive and functional but machines and locker room are all old and worn. seems as if the property has never been renovated since it opened. definitely not a bad place and the room was comfortable however the old unrenovated conditions do not justify the price. however, I may choose again due to staff, location and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n.ireland

5 star treatment

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: charming and helpful staff, and the food was great, afternoon tea was lovely
Cons: £17.50 for breakfast a bit expensive
Location: 2 min walk to princess st, try the japanese restaurant around the corner, lots of bars nearby on rose st,wildfire restaurant is very good
Fantastic staff , from the minute my wife and i checked in to this hotel we were treated like movie stars. its the best hotel i have stayed in, if you are looking for a hotel in edinburgh look no further , you will love it