Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully situated across from a private park

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Loved the historic architecture of the hotel. It was located within walking distance of many restaurants and city sites. Easy to catch sight seeing buses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

A very pleasant hotel close to the shops retaurant

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Its closeness to all amenities and the cleanliness
Cons: A little relaxation on the no jeans rule for the dining room after breakfast time would help but not overly important.
Location: The hotel is cloe to the pick up points for tour buses. Close proximity to Rose Street and all it possesses. Recommend you take a few days to visit lo
Rooms very clean, beds very comfortable and breakfast excellent. The hotel is well positioned for access to trains and buses. All within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Only had breakfast in the hotel but very filling and hot. recommend the kippers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great traditional hotel close to city centre

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The room was very comfy and its location fantastic.
Cons: The room could have been a touch cleaner. Being in an older style building I appreciate this is not often easy to achieve.
Location: Great restaurants, shopping, parks and activities all close by.
We stayed for a wedding and had a long weekend. The hotel met with all expectations and the staff were fantastically helpful arranging little things for the wedding and my Birthday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chepstow

Great location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Location is great. Close to the shops, restaurants and tour buses. Reception staff very friendly. the only negatives were in our room, although lovely (room 16, four poster bed) it was very dirty behind the bedside tables and on the radio etc. They also provide a hairdryer, but the closest socket is a bit of a stretch to the dressing table. Loved Edinburgh and would definitely go back again and stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Very Satisfied

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Haggis added to the breakfast menu would be nice 😊
Location: Castle within walking distance, a must see.
Lovely hotel, staff helpful and friendly, room very comfortable. Very close to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Royal Scots Club Edinburgh

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great location, and beautiful hotel. Rooms were really nice, and the breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Charming but needs improvement

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: I had stayed here before and had a great experience, so I rebooked. This time around I was not pleased with my stay.
Cons: The wifi does not work. Building is old/charming but the floors and water pipes are very loud and need to be improved.
Location: Location is good, it's the reason this hotel was booked. Close to everything.
I stayed for 5 days, the beds were made everyday but the sheets were never changed. The same stained bedsheet was on the bed the entire time. We were never told there was going to be construction and there were no notices to indicate construction. The main floor and second floor were being renovated, there was a lot of noise and the smell of paint or solvents. The room had terrible condensation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Beautiful clean. Short staffed and fireplace didn't work Beautiful stay though
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very lovely building it premium condition

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff and well restored building
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Great Hotel for summer.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Very friendly with easy access to all facilities.
Cons: In winter make sure the central heating is not switched off
Location: Has previously stated, great for shopping and seeing the sites. I would think a great problem in parking in the area.
The hotel is very well situated for the sites of Edinburgh, great for shopping, George St. 5 minutes walk away although uphill. we stayed in one of the four poster bedrooms, room 3, but on returning in the evening about 10 o clock the room was ice cold. The radiator although switched on to maximum temperature would not work. the bathroom radiator in the bathroom being in the same state. Reported to situation to the duty Manager but he stated nothing could be done but that it should soon come warmer after he had bled the radiator. We asked if they had any room heaters but he claimed they didn't. The radiators stayed cold and we virtually had to sleep in the clothes we were wearing. In the morning we found that the radiators were hot which led me to the opinion that the heating is on a timed situation. speaking to other residents at breakfast, they even found that their radiators were in the same situation and cold in both room and bathroom. Reported the fault to the receptionist in the morning who claimed she was unaware of the faults. We said we asked for a room heater but informed that informed you had none, her reply, they must all have been being used in other rooms.