Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a-s

Great boutique hotel, good location, amaxing staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The hotel has only 12 rooms and is very intimate and stylish. We had room 12, on a previous stay we had room 9. Some rooms are standard others junior suite. We loved the staff who were incredibly friendly, helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic as was the steak house Kyloe. Just stunning facilities. Besides so machine in each room, great amenities in the bathroom, paper in the morning. Everything was just perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rutland hotel stay 3 days

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We had a standard room and it was really elegant and chic. The view was great and we were near everything so we were able walk around easily. The hotel bar the huxely was our favorite hangout! Everyone was super friendly and helpful! We loved the hotel would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quiet hotel at the west end of Prnces Street

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: How quiet it was.
Cons: Wash basin adjacent to the wc.
Location: It is located at the west end of Princes Street within easy walking distance of the main Edinburgh attractions.
This was a comfortable very quiet hotel and the Kyloe Restaurant was excellent.The staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Upgraded to an apartment

Posted May 2, 2016
We were upgraded on arrival to an apartment - it was incredible! Big, bright open rooms, perfect central setting and the attached restaurants were also excellent. Staff were great and very helpful. Would definitely go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul from Boston

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
Small hotel right in the middle of things. Our room was a bit small and , if you prefer a shower, gettign in and out of the bathtub is a bit treacherous. Other than that, the staff was super friendly and helpful and teh included breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a find!!

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is one of those places that you hope you end up staying in. Everything was excellent. I will always look to stay at the Rutland everytime I go to Edinburgh. If they are full, I'll try another place. Just fantastic. Large rooms, excellent bathroom, warm, great bed, friendly staff. FANTASTIC breakfast downstairs. I travel constantly and cannot say enough good things about this place.
5 out of 5
by Athol from Scotland

Great little hotel in fantastic location

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel in fantastic location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Perfect location in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Everything...
Cons: No idea...
Location: As above...in easy reach and walking distance of so many things
The Rutland Hotel is one I would recommend to everyone. The staff were delightful and so helpful. It's luxurious and really comfortable. Clean, well appointed with everything you could want. The Huxley Bar (underneath the hotel) for your breakfast is fabulous also with amazing staff but is also excellent for drinks, snacks and getting together pre-dinner in the Kyloe Restaurant on the 1st floor. All situated in easy reach of Princes Street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and loads of other .attractions and bars/restaurants
3 out of 5
by Charlotte from Surrey

Could be better

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Super location and very friendly and efficient service. Was let down by the room condition - the windows were constantly wet with condensation and the shower tray liked and flooded the bathroom. Little things I know but they make a difference to the experience especially considering the Rutland is not a cheap hotel.