Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burgess Hill, West Sussex.

Quiet. Easy walking distance to the city centre.q

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Glad we stayed here. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We stayed twice while in Scotland and both times were great. The staff are very helpful and the accomadations were great. Good location to pubs, restaurants and the Castle. Would certainly stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine

Charming and convenient lodging.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Excellent service. Room size. Hotel location. Breakfast. Price.
Cons: Bathroom size and amenities (shampoo/conditioner).
Location: Haymarket offers fast, convenient access to the City Center, as well as easy train access to St. Andrews, Glasgow, Aberdeen, or London
We stayed at this small hotel a total of eight nights, following a stay at the luxurious J.W. Marriott in London. Even though it was only a fraction of the cost, we enjoyed this small hotel a lot more. The place was recently purchased by a Lithuanian family, and the ever smiling daughter was hard at work every day, helped by a small staff, making sure that everything ran smoothly. Service was friendly and warm. Every attempt was made to satisfy guests.The cooked-to-order breakfast was good. The rooms in this old building were very large and comfortable. The location was ideal, a very short walk to the train station, buses, tramway, and taxi stop. It is a short and cheap taxi or express bus ride to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 28, 2016
We loved the ambiance and facilities ,nice hotel to stay in Edinburgh , ...,,,,,,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Very nice location. Convenient for travelers to go around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, Ontario

Quaint and cozy

Posted Oct 6, 2015
close to haymarket station, chip shop, and M&S, half our walk to the castle, and princes street. amazingly helpful and kind staff, food there was everything you need to start your day. the rooms are clean and nicely arranged, the beds are not the greatest- and it really is no fun walking up all those stairs with sore legs, but those are my only complaints. but yes I would defiantly stay there again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A great Scottish welcome

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, huge bedrooms and excellent food.
Cons: Could just do with some updating of the decoration but would not stop me coming again.
Location: Only ten minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh, but transport links for elsewhere right on your doorstep.
If you want a lovely, homely guesthouse run by owners who give you a wonderful Scottish welcome then this is it. Bedroom was huge, meals were excellent and the extras such as coffee all day and night made this an experience I would happily repeat. Guest house was close enough to walk into the centre of Edinburgh without it being to busy and the transport links were right on your doorstep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guest house close to the city center

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Softer beds
Location: Right near the Haymarket station which made transport around the city a breeze. The house was on a quiet street which was great for sleeping.
The staff here is what really made our stay. They were friendly, informative and helped us book several sightseeing tours and gave us some great places to eat. The location was also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho, USA

The St. Valery Guest House - best part of our trip

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The hosts were helpful and kind- the room was clean. For a small fee, well worth it, they washed and folded our clothes while we went to the zoo.
We arrived on the doorstep after a four and half hour train ride, exhausted and stressed. Our kind host welcomed us in and let my kids explore our room while I finished checking in. Then he gave us some tips about how to get around Edinburgh and save money. After dinner in town, we spent a quiet evening in our room. At one point, I realized that I hadn't printed out our boarding passes for a flight later in the week. I struggled with my email and getting the passes to actually print. Our host kept going back and forth to the printer for me - what a patient man. That night, we had a fantastic nights sleep on great beds and a great breakfast cooked to order by our hostess the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Quaint B&B

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Historical building
Cons: The female employee could smile once in a while
Location: There's a pretty good Chinese food place as well as two small grocery stores within walking distance. Trains, trams and buses are all close by, too.
I have stayed here several times and have always been satisfied. Book room 8 for the best views, avoid room 6 if you want views or an en suite bathroom. The lady that cooks breakfast has only smiled once in all the times I've seen her but the males that work the counter are much more friendly. This B&B is within walking distance of the Haymarket train station but will be a hike if you get off at Waverly Station. The new trams are also nearby so that's a bonus.