Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel on the edge of Edinburgh

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We had a great stay. Staff were lovely and the food was great.
5 out of 5
by Anne from Inverness

Great small hotel and restaurant

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay to visit family nearby. Very comfortable. Beautiful room. Loved the bath at the foot of the bed. Food superb. Staff lovely.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Linköping

Förvånansvärt mysigt värdshus med superb mat

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Otroligt bra och vänlig personal, trevliga och mycket serviceinriktade. Rummen mysigt inredda och utrustade med stooor säng, badkar/dusch, tv, strykjärn, hårfön, vattenkokare, te, kaffe etc. Heltäckningsmatta på rummet, dock inte i badrummet. Frukosten ingår och är väldigt generös. Består av kall och varm mat, juicer, yoghurt, flingor, färsk frukt m.m Läget var dock problematiskt, 30 min bussfärd från Old Town, hårt trafikerad landsväg utanför värdshuset med tillhörande trafikbuller, knappt några övergångsställen, dålig gatubelysning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from zwickau

So kann schottisches Frühstück auch schmecken

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Schickes Hotel . Wir wären vorbei gefahren, wenn wir es nicht schon gebucht hätten. Aber innen ist es schick Und das Essen / Frühstück ist super.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cypress, TX

Worth the stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Quite outside of Edinburgh, but the room, staff, and restaurant were all worth the stay. The price for the room was low, and the room itself was comfortable and spacious. The staff ensured that we felt welcome and the restaurant downstairs serves excellent food. Provided helpful information about travel in to Edinburgh and various things to do/see.
5 out of 5
by Susanne from Fiskbæk

Landlig idyl

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Perfekt kroophold.
5 out of 5
by james from Scottsdale

Shockingly Good Food

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was in good condition. The towel warmers even worked. Homemade cookies along with tea and coffee in room. My wife really appreciated the fact that there was a fan. Only drawback is the Inn is on a busy street. Request the suite if road noise bothers you. The best part of Inn is that the Resturant is top quality that means you must have reservations. Not handicapped friendly long staircase with no lift.
5 out of 5
by John from Healing

Business trip JR

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay on business, Staff were friendly and helpful - food was good breakfast was excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

What a Gem! So lucky to find this!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Everything It's cleanliness it's friendliness and it's excellent food
Cons: Renovations taking place outside will be great when finished meantime it's a bit muddy down the bottom end of the car park
Location: Handy for Edinburgh City centre easy car journey
We were so lucky to find this great stay whilst looking to visit "Britannia" although the location is noisy at night the room itself was clean, comfortable and luxurious. SKY in the room made my husband happy The food was first class and what you would expect from a top London Hotel - we could understand why the restaurant was so busy and had a buzz of contentment when we went in! Major renovations taking place out back but plenty of parking Staff were very accommodating and friendly nothing was too much trouble Would recommend to anyone wanting a first class stay just outside Edinburgh City centre
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Situated on a busy road. Excellent food.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, modern, excellent food, helpful staff.
Cons: Unfortunately, the location cannot be altered!
Location: Busy road. Nothing much within walking distance. Major building work did not affect stay but part of car park a bit of a building site at present.
The Sun Inn is on a busy road. The room was comfortable and the road was not extremely noisy, we still got some sleep but it was not ideal. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was excelllent.