Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Welcoming B&B close to the city

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome, caring host, and large, well furnished room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Our B&B was close to transport and the CBD. It was a great spot from which to walk to the commercial precinct and the Edinburgh Castle.
A great place to stay within a short walk to Princess Street! The host gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and continued to care for our every need throughout our stay. Our room and ensuite were very large, well furnished and very tastefully decorated with an African theme. The bed was very comfortable, and we were provided with a beautifully prepared hot breakfast each morning. The final touch was being presented with a packed lunch on the day of our departure, which was much appreciated. We can't recommend the Victorian Town House more highly. We would certainly stay there again if we had the opportunity.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

The Victorian Townhouse

Posted May 31, 2016
Not far from Haymarjet Train Station. Aileen, the hotel host was hospitable and friendly. We enjoyed our stay, which has been a pleasant b&b experience. Good breakfast and packed lunches for our day tours. Many thanks to Aileen again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington DE

A Lovely Spot

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The hostess, the location, cleanliness, friendliness, decor.
Cons: nothing
Location: it was easy to get around from here.
Aileen is the perfect hostess, she had the room all ready for me and my 21 year old daughter and even gave us our choice of rooms. We got there earlier than expected but Aileen worked with us and everything went smoothly. Our room was sparkling clean and she even had a nip of whiskey and chocolates for a snack. The beds were great, best on our trip, so we got a good night's sleep. The room was beautifully decorated as were the other rooms. There was a nice sofa and chairs to sit and write postcards. Breakfast was delicious and Aileen packed us a "to go" bag for our train ride to London. We really enjoyed staying at The Victorian Townhouse and chatting with Aileen. She even went online & played a song for me with my name in it. We wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modena

MEMORABILE

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location, servizi, gentilezza e professionalità della ptoprietaria.
Location: West End, zona residenziale silenziosa e distante solo pochi minuti dalla fermata del tram Haymarket (5 min. a piedi) e da Prices Street (10 min.),
Soggiorno alla Town House per quattro notti insieme alla mia compagna. La posizione è eccellente: zona residenziale silenziosa e distante solo pochi minuti dalla fermata del tram Haymarket (5 min. a piedi) e da Prices Street (10 min. a piedi). La stanza (ce ne sono tre, la nostra è la Dunedin) è molto ampia. Contiene due letti a due piazze, spazio con divano e tavolino, guardaroba, bagno con box doccia e televisore. La presenza del caminetto e di decorazioni natalizie, unitamente allo stile vittoriano, conferisce all'ambiente un'atmosfera intima, casalinga e piacevole. Bevande (tè, caffé, whisky e acqua), dolciumi e connessione wi-fi sono compresi. La colazione è fantastica: frutta fresca, cereali misti e yogurt ed in più, su ordinazione (ma compresi nel presso, ovviamente), English muffins, toast e marmellate, pancakes con sciroppo d'acero e una fantastica colazione scozzese con uova, bacon, salsiccia, funghi e pomodori. La vera protagonista è però la proprietaria. La Signora Reeves merita un capitolo a parte: gentilissima, sempre pronta ad una parola gentile, letteralmente ossessionata dalla qualità di tutto ciò che può fare e predisporre per gli ospiti. Da sola, vale una visita alla Town House, che consiglieremmo a chiunque per un soggiorno in città.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore Maryland USA

Made to feel like a member of the Family

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: We prefer the ambiance of a Bed and Breakfast to the formality of a hotel. The full delicious breakfasts were memorable and filling.
Cons: Cannot think of a thing.
Location: Victorian Town House was only a couple of blocks off the main thoroughfare and within walking distance of almost the entire City.
Our stay at the Victorian Town House was a pleasure and memory that will last forever. Our Hostess was the epitome of graciousness, yet made us feel comfortable and like a family member. The room was spacious, the bed most comfortable, the bathroom very large and bright. In spite of cold, often dreary weather during our stay, our room had a large window looking out on a walled garden area. Anything we required was provided, including the friendliness of our Hostess.
5 out of 5
by MARTIN from Leicester

我们被房主称赞为非常美好的香气

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
在这里的两天非常愉快,这是我与移民英国的母亲难得的一起度假,能选择这里我们真的很幸运。我们到的很早,但还是被Aileen很热情的欢迎了,Aileen是一个非常亲切并且非常勤劳的房主。我们入住后她马上就给我们介绍了去各个景点的路线和附近餐饮,讲解的非常详细,房间内还备有各个景点的介绍和旅游地图。当时正好是接近午餐的时候,Aileen还给我们拿来了玛芬蛋糕和红茶,让我们非常感动,像是家人一样被照顾着。 预定的时候已经知道房间会很大,但还是出乎了我们的意料,房间有超过20平米,卫生间也很宽敞并且非常干净,还有绝对够大的衣柜,沙发,完全不会有拘谨的感觉。房间内有巧克力和苏格兰威士忌作为欢迎我们的礼物,还有巧克力威化,巧克力饮品,咖啡,红茶包和矿泉水,我们很喜欢苏格兰粉色格子的杯子。 早餐很丰盛,首先会有水果,是蓝莓树莓加草莓等等,这是英国非常经典的水果搭配。之后Aileen会告诉我们都有什么可以选择,我们选的早餐是英国非常经典的烤面包片(并且是三种面包都有的),烤肠,烤蘑菇,培根,薯饼,鸡蛋,烤西红柿,搭配英国红茶,这些都是现做的,但等待的时间并不长。可以自选的区域摆放着牛奶酸奶咖啡果汁和各种茶,酸奶有很多口味,果汁应该是橙汁和苹果汁,还有各种谷物餐,香蕉,桌面上的各种酱料可以搭配不同早餐食用。 这里的地理位置非常好,不处于闹市但各个景点、火车站、汽车站都可以轻松步行到达,路边就有直达飞机场和各地的有轨电车站,附近餐厅酒吧超市都不会让你觉得距离很远。 下次再来到爱丁堡,我想我们一定还会入住这里。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wedding Scotland

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Service, King Bed
Cons: Availability of cold drinks (water, soda). In room hot water tea pot provided.
Location: Walking distance of shopping, restaurants and Train station for day trips.
Excellent location within walking distance to Old Town shops, Edinburgh castle etc. B&B owner Eileen was wonderful and in true Scottish hospitality, started our days with a smile, pot of coffee and a scrumptious breakfast. When we arrived with no luggage the day before our daughters wedding, Eileen quickly offered the use of her phone to call airlines, recommended "The House of Fraser" for wedding attire and a cup of tea for a frantic mom. Many thanks for making our visit a wonderful time. We will definitely return to Scotland and the Victorian Inn.
5 out of 5
by Jane from derby

The best ever

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is the best we have ever stayed in. From the beginning of our stay right until the end everything was perfect. There was a decanter of whisky and a box of chocolates which were complimentary. The room had a western theme which was huge as was the bathroom. Ailleen was so friendly and helpful. She bought us muffins every morning which was lovely. She also got black pudding in especially for my partner because he mentioned that he liked it. We would definitely recommend this hotel highly and we will definitely be back. Thanks Ailleen x
5 out of 5
by Caroline

Would stay again

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely townhouse about a 10 minute walk from main areas of Edinburgh. We stayed in the Dunedin Room and the photos don't do it justice. I did see one of the other rooms and it was very nice as well. The hostess was most welcoming, and let us know how to get around and the popular places in town. There is a large breakfast every morning with some set items such as cereal, yogurt, juices, etc. with the rest made to order. The beds are very comfortable and the room was spacious - more than 2x larger than a typical European hotel room. The only thing that was lacking was good water pressure, but otherwise, we loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great welcome to Edinburgh

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding B&B. Beautiful room, with great ensuite bath. Wonderful, generous breakfast. Delightful, engaging hostess. A long walk to city center, take the bus. Great place to stay in a Edinburgh.