Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Easy Walking Distance to City Center

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The owner was very welcoming and quick to provide basic information and maps. Breakfast provided everything you could possibly want (made to order).
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing!
Location: Free parking is a 5/10 minute walk away, unless you pay a fortune for street parking that needs to be renewed every 4 hours.
A lovely home that has been well maintained, the king room is very spacious and comfortable, and the location is within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's main attractions, restaurants, and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
A lovely locale close to Princess st Great room and delicious breakfasts and the best was the wonderful owner and hostess
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
I was welcomed by the very cheerful "Aileen" who couldn't do enough to make my stay comfortable (this included the decanter of whisky and box of chocolates!). Breakfast was normally served at 9am, but as I had early tours booked on 2 mornings she insisted on serving my (excellent) breakfast at 8am. Nothing was too much trouble and it was an absolute pleasure to stay in such a lovely B&B with every facility to could possible need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful B and B in the West End

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Good location in West End. Close to restaurants and transportation. Wonderful personable staff, more like friends who went out of their way for us. They packed us a tasty lunch for the road. Very knowledgeable about things to do, good restaurants and transportation in Edinburgh. Great hardy breakfast to start the day. Extra candy and drink in the room. Large very clean bedroom and bathroom. Would definitely stay there again just to talk with Aileen and company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Welcoming B&B close to the city

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome, caring host, and large, well furnished room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Our B&B was close to transport and the CBD. It was a great spot from which to walk to the commercial precinct and the Edinburgh Castle.
A great place to stay within a short walk to Princess Street! The host gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and continued to care for our every need throughout our stay. Our room and ensuite were very large, well furnished and very tastefully decorated with an African theme. The bed was very comfortable, and we were provided with a beautifully prepared hot breakfast each morning. The final touch was being presented with a packed lunch on the day of our departure, which was much appreciated. We can't recommend the Victorian Town House more highly. We would certainly stay there again if we had the opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

The Victorian Townhouse

Posted May 31, 2016
Not far from Haymarjet Train Station. Aileen, the hotel host was hospitable and friendly. We enjoyed our stay, which has been a pleasant b&b experience. Good breakfast and packed lunches for our day tours. Many thanks to Aileen again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington DE

A Lovely Spot

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The hostess, the location, cleanliness, friendliness, decor.
Cons: nothing
Location: it was easy to get around from here.
Aileen is the perfect hostess, she had the room all ready for me and my 21 year old daughter and even gave us our choice of rooms. We got there earlier than expected but Aileen worked with us and everything went smoothly. Our room was sparkling clean and she even had a nip of whiskey and chocolates for a snack. The beds were great, best on our trip, so we got a good night's sleep. The room was beautifully decorated as were the other rooms. There was a nice sofa and chairs to sit and write postcards. Breakfast was delicious and Aileen packed us a "to go" bag for our train ride to London. We really enjoyed staying at The Victorian Townhouse and chatting with Aileen. She even went online & played a song for me with my name in it. We wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore Maryland USA

Made to feel like a member of the Family

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: We prefer the ambiance of a Bed and Breakfast to the formality of a hotel. The full delicious breakfasts were memorable and filling.
Cons: Cannot think of a thing.
Location: Victorian Town House was only a couple of blocks off the main thoroughfare and within walking distance of almost the entire City.
Our stay at the Victorian Town House was a pleasure and memory that will last forever. Our Hostess was the epitome of graciousness, yet made us feel comfortable and like a family member. The room was spacious, the bed most comfortable, the bathroom very large and bright. In spite of cold, often dreary weather during our stay, our room had a large window looking out on a walled garden area. Anything we required was provided, including the friendliness of our Hostess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wedding Scotland

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Service, King Bed
Cons: Availability of cold drinks (water, soda). In room hot water tea pot provided.
Location: Walking distance of shopping, restaurants and Train station for day trips.
Excellent location within walking distance to Old Town shops, Edinburgh castle etc. B&B owner Eileen was wonderful and in true Scottish hospitality, started our days with a smile, pot of coffee and a scrumptious breakfast. When we arrived with no luggage the day before our daughters wedding, Eileen quickly offered the use of her phone to call airlines, recommended "The House of Fraser" for wedding attire and a cup of tea for a frantic mom. Many thanks for making our visit a wonderful time. We will definitely return to Scotland and the Victorian Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place yo stay.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: Edinburgh is at your doorstep.
Close to Edinburgh centre. Very spacious, well designed. Beautiful room, large bathroom. Great service from owner.