Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice quiet stay.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Cons: The steep downward stairs at the entrance should have been mentioned otherwise a perfect stay.
A quiet room is what I wanted and that is what I got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice B&B close to Edinburgh city centre

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Our room was large, warm and comfortable. Aileen was very welcoming and there was the added bonus of complimentary Whisky and Chocs on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely B&B with lovely helpful staff. Great location not too far away from the city centre, walking distance to a lot of stuff
5 out of 5
by raymond

Victorian Charm

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great! Enjoyed it very much. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Owner is welcoming, helpful, and aims to please her guests.
5 out of 5
by james

Relaxing stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. Aileen is a wonderful hostess. The room was very spacious and we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived. The cooked breakfast is a must, you may not require lunch. Great location with easy access to bus and rail station, and a pleasant walk to the city centre. And a nice personal touch was the decanter of whiskey to enjoy after your day out. Will definitely keep The Victorian Town House, on our to visit again list
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and welcoming bed & breakfast

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The best place we stayed in during our trip to the UK. The place was beautifully and comfortably furnished, the room (Caledonian) was large and cozy, and the location was very convenient, a short walk from the city center. The owner, Aileen, was extraordinarily kind and helpful and very friendly. A couple of mornings during our stay, we had early all-day tours, so we had to leave before breakfast, so instead of the lovely free breakfast she provided on other mornings, Aileen packed us picnic lunches loaded with goodies. There were also complimentary snacks and water provided in the room (as well as a small decanter of whiskey!). Overall, we felt like we were staying with a very considerate friend, rather than mere guests in a hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely returning !

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful base, central and quiet . Free parking over weekends not too far away . Aileen is a wonderful host very warm, funny and helpful. Superb breakfast .Nice touches with decoration , whiskey and chocolates!Highly recommended .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Easy Walking Distance to City Center

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The owner was very welcoming and quick to provide basic information and maps. Breakfast provided everything you could possibly want (made to order).
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing!
Location: Free parking is a 5/10 minute walk away, unless you pay a fortune for street parking that needs to be renewed every 4 hours.
A lovely home that has been well maintained, the king room is very spacious and comfortable, and the location is within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's main attractions, restaurants, and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
A lovely locale close to Princess st Great room and delicious breakfasts and the best was the wonderful owner and hostess