Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Large and comfortable 3 bed apartment on two levels (ground and 1st floor). Two bedrooms upstairs one large with en suite shower. Large living/kitchen area and one large bedroom downstairs with one bathroom downstairs, so upstairs bedroom has to use downstairs bathroom or share the en suite. Not the most convenient, but OK. Great location overlooking The Meadows. Very good service for key collection and explanation of flat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review, we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, VIP Apartments team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to Meadows and Royal Mile

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great launching pad for all the sight seeing and Starbucks, grocery, and huge park just steps away. Perfect place for my wife and I and our 4 kids!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Marc - VIP Apartments, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review, we are glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, VIP Apartments team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review, we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, VIP Apartments team.
4 out of 5
by Amanda from Aberdeen

Well located apartment

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Apartment was spacious & reasonably well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the review Amanda, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Annette from Wales

Nice apartment in ideal location

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This Simpson loan apartment is in an ideal position, overlooking middle meadow walk, next to the university buildings in George square. It is a ten minute walk to the lawnmarket, grass market, station or fifteen to the west end of princes street. The 1 bedroom apartment itself was comfortable and well equipped although I had some niggles. One was that the sheets were too small for the bed and didn't tuck in properly which meant they came adrift during the night. The duvet was similarly only just the size of the bed with no overhang. Ok in the summer, but... There was only one functioning bedside light, the other being in the utility cupboard, presumably defunct. There is a sainsburys and Starbucks on the ground floor which is very handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2015 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the feedback Annette, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly get the second bedside lamp replaced, housekeeping did indeed remove this as it was not working but we failed to pick up on this so my apologies for any inconvenience. All the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great apartment and area

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
great location, perfect for fringe festival. Modern apartment in prestige area with good amenities nearby. Service for early check-in was excellent. Apartment was on 8th floor so fantastic views over Edinburgh. It was very hot inside apartment due large floor to ceiling windows, would benefit from aircon or portable fan. Units in lounge and bedroom a bit dusty and crockery and cutlery wasn't totally clean but didn't use kitchen area much so not a big issue. Overall would recommend and use again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the review, during Summer the apartments can get a little hot so we advise guests to leave the sliding doors in the living room and bedroom area open, by Mid Afternoon the sun is on the other side of the building and this creates less of an issue, sadly Air conditioning is just something that is very rarely used in Scotland. In terms of the cleanliness we do inspect all apartments prior to arrival and after cleaning so apologies if anything was missed here but we are always happy to send housekeeping back if informed. We hope to welcome you again in the future, all the best.
4 out of 5
by James

Great potential but attention to detail lacking

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
"Checking in" process was difficult and complicated by poor messaging Booked room was described as 2 doubles and one single bed but was only 2 double (no single, no pull out) If the sofa hadn't have been a decent size and we'd "found" a spare duvet in a cupboard (we asked for a spare to be told that there wasn't any spare bedding) then we'd have had issues Most of crockery was left in dishwasher and the cycle had just completed but it had been stacked badly so needed another wash Apartment itself was clean and tidy and would have suited most
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Hello James, Thank you for the review. We like to think our check-in procedure is not as complicated as other companies as we do not ask you to come to a separate location to pick up keys but just a quick call 30 minutes prior to arrival and a member of our team will then be at the booked apartment waiting for you on arrival to check you in and show you around/answer any questions you may have in person. I believe that we did not receive this call and therefore there was a delay in checking you in so it is understandable that this was not ideal but it is not necessarily the procedure itself that was the reason for this. In terms of the bedding, you booked a two bedroom apartment for 4 adults and we provide 2 double rooms, guests can add on an extra single bed when making a reservation but this was not added so it was not made up for you, there is also an additional cost for this service which is above the rate that was booked and paid for, apologies for any inconvenience this caused you but thank you for the other positive comments! All the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent new apartment.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We only stayed one night and found the apartment to be comfortable and well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2015 by Marc Hughes - General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review!
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Philadelphia

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
We were meet at the door by a rep. He was very good at showing us around. Apartment was really spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the positive review Patricia we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
3 out of 5
by David from London

Poor service and condition

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in Apartment 28/24 Simpson Loan. I arrived in Edinburgh by train at 9.15pm and called the check-in number provided, arranged to meet the gentleman from VIP Apartments at 9.40pm. Due to apparent issues with parking he turned up at 9.55pm meaning I had been waiting on the street for 15min past the agreed time on a cold Edinburgh evening. I was then apparently at fault as I'd called the check-in number (which is provided on the booking instructions) rather than some other service number which you aren't provided with until after checking in! The apartment was OK but definitely not worth the price. The bed was only partially made (with no pillow / mattress protectors and the mattress base exposed, the bathroom sink was full of soapy water (we thought the drain was blocked but it emptied when the plug was opened). Every wall in the apartment is scuffed / marked, the coffee table and TV cabinet were marked / scratched and the "Flatscreen TV" is a very small (computer monitor size) TV with poor reception. The picture froze / dropped out about every 60-90sec. The saving graces are a lovely kitchen, comfortable sofa & bed and great location. But for the price you could do far better in terms of quality / condition and service. I'd recommend you don't stay in this apartment and perhaps find a company that provides respectful service to their clients.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by Marc Hughes, Hotel Management
Hello David, I'm sorry to hear of some of these issues, however I don't feel the review is entirely pragmatic. As you were made aware the soapy water and the bed being partially unmade was due to maintenance fixing a broken slat in the bed before you had arrived, I myself was not aware of this when I checked you in and it seemed the workman used the sink after finishing the job and did not make the bed back up again, albeit the bed was freshly made. I refunded 10% back to your card because of this and the 9 minute delay in checking you in. The number you were meant to call was emailed to you by us rather than by Expedia and their terms do state you will receive information from us. The apartment has an amazing view out to Arthur's seat and unfortunately as there was no mention of a TV fault we had no opportunity to fix the issue for you. The apartment is large and there are perhaps a couple of scuff marks on the walls from guests bags but I certainly don't think it is fair to say it is in a poor condition as a result of that but we appreciate your feedback and will be planning to repaint the apartments shortly.