Ratings based on 747 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central for the fringe

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The Wardorf was in an excellent location for getting from airport by tram with a short walk. We were also a 10 min walk from the centre of the fringe festivalue and cathedral.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Wolf in Sheeps Clothing

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The bar under the large skylight near the lobby was nice. Large open seating and live music.
Cons: Re-train the staff. Get the NYC Waldorf staff to show how a luxury hotel staffer is supposed to be. Also, remove the poor extension building.
Location: It's in a great location to sights and restaurants.
Don't waste your money. The fact that this hotel is allowed to carry the Waldorf Astoria badge is a joke. A disappointing joke. As a hotel it can rival Marriott however, it carries the name that tells you that it's worth what you paid for. When you arrive you quickly see that it is not. With a reservation to their in house restaurant, my wife and I sat down to eat about 1 1/2 hours prior to the restaurant closing. The waitress told us that all of the seafood was no longer being sold. Our room was not in what appeared to be the original portion of the building. We were put in a small room with a view of the parking lot. The building part of the hotel that they put us in looked like the steerage section of the Titanic. In the morning we could hear every little, and big, noise that the staff were making in the hall way. Being an avid traveller, I don't expect much. I understand that cultures do somethings differently. However, being someone that has lived in the UK for some time now, I know what to expect from British hotels. I also know what to expect from luxury hotels and the Waldorf brand. This was not it. I say again....DO NOT STAY HERE.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great building lots of character.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The hotel is in a convenient location close to the castle and train station the building is spacious and has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. It's a bit expensive but I suppose that's to be expected in a place like this
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your very positive and kind review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay in our historic building and I hoep you will return in the not too distant future. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location, classic British hospitality

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Proximity to Edinburgh castle and major shopping streets. Safe neiborhood so you can explore and nights of the city and walk back to the hotel. Services are classic, hey it is a Waldorf Astoria hotel whose name speak for its standard. Definitely stay here next time I visit Edinburgh
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear Samuel, Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yen

Luxurious hotel proximity to Edinburgh castle

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Just next to all major tourist attractions so no need to drive around the city. Staying here with its British traditional hospitality added a special touch in visiting a traditional British city. Big full breakfast starting the day and a drink at its bar ending the day recommended for tourists to fully enjoy Efinburgh
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear Samuel, Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. I am thrilled to read your wonderful comments which will be shared to the entire team. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Old hotel redone in indifferent style

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Junior suite for $960 per night with one wash basin (not two) and bath shower combo. Windows that don't open because they look onto a roof and are up high, like in a basement. No heat, just air-conditioning that is freezing cold and not adjustable. Breakfast room is unpleasant at teensy tables with flimsy chairs. Bar with no decent seats and no atmosphere. Staff is pleasant and the hotel has a good location. But it is a horrible value
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear tom, Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay and whilst I am pleased that you were pleased with the service you received from our team in addition to our central location, I do apologise that overall you were not satisfied with your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the team to make any necessary improvements which we hope we will be able to demonstrate to you if you grant us the opportunity of returning to visit us in the future. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

excellent hotel close to centre ideal base

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Helpful staff, breakfast a bit hit and miss, dinner in the brasserie excellent. overall a great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear A&H, Thank you for your feedback and your comments are appreciated. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but don't stay here for the food

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Lovely staff, especially Thomas, the Concierge. Location is great, near train station. Small room, but it's the food that's the biggest challenge. Powdered eggs are not acceptable in any restaurant, especially the Waldorf. Lunch and dinner were equally disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and I am delighted that our central location perfectly suited your needs and that you were thoroughly satisfied with the service you received from our team. I apologise however, that you were disappointed in our food and this will immediately be passed on to our Food and Beverage Management team to review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: A destacar la amabilidad y eficiencia del personal, que nos ha facilitado mucho la estancia.
Cons: Los ascensores necesitarían una renovación.
Es un hotel fantástico. El servicio estupendo. La habitación muy espaciosa y cómoda. El desayuno muy completo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Mari Carmen, Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I very much hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Lovely Stay in a Lovely Location

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Stayed at the Waldorf for my mums 50th trip to Edinburgh and it was wonderful. It was the kind of place that is luxurious but the staff and atmosphere doesn't feel daunting or ostentatious. Also booked my mum a spa treatment for the morning and the staff were incredibly helpful. She had a wonderful time and there was even a nice birthday plate set up in the room for when we arrived. We also opted for breakfast which was very nice, the pastries and fresh fruit especially. Overall very pleased with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that it was everything you wanted such a special occasion to be and that we were able to make the stay that bit more memorable. Please do come back soon! Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager