Ratings based on 1,761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to upgrade

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel staff is phenomenal. Very welcoming and helpful. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are quite outdated. And overall it was very loud at night when trying to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Nice view and location (downtown), room service overpriced ($50 for 2 salads, no wine or anything else) washroom was a bit outdated and not very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. The Chateau Lacombe Hotel is currently undergoing renovations in order to modernize our rooms and amenities. We hope we can have these issues fixed before your next stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Definitely will not stay here again.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Our room wqs extremely outdated, bathtub chipped, and overall dirty. There was so much dust on the glass of the wine bar it was disgusting. Hair all over the bathroom floor, tub and sink. Was not impressed at all. The beds are rock hard as are the pillows. Just a terrible overall experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience with our hotel did not live up to your expectations. The Chateau Lacombe Hotel is currently undergoing renovations in order to modernize our rooms and amenities. We hope we can have these issues fixed before your next stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Hotel looks like it should be nice but it's not.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location is the best thing about the hotel.
Cons: I'm not quite sure. The quality of the hotel in general.
Location: Lots of food and easy transit.
Food was rotten at breakfast and overpriced. Cleaning staff accidentally took my wife's glasses cleaning cloth and hotel didn't even seem apologetic or even in the slightest bothered by it. Drunk people in the hallway banking on the door handles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience with our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We will follow up with our staff members as this is not the standard of the Chateau Lacombe Hotel, and we hope to have this issue addressed before your next stay. Thank you again, your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

nice close to every thing

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: I like that the hotel was close to downtown with in walking distance . Also that the room I had was clean .
Cons: I notice that it was a little noisy at time in the room but there were working on new windows .
Location: there is a great walk path close to river valley and shopping was close by to walk to city center .
I felt the reviews I have read on line were not fair to hotel , it self . yes it was a little dated in some area , but hotel staff were very friendly . it had a great view of city .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

aqdequate

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Nice outdated room with excellent bed downtown location
Valet parking @ the price is exorbitant. Room cost to extend was an extra - for really nothing more so declined. Impression - trying to make money on extras. First am breakfast on the concierge level - inclusive- elevator would not work. DID throw in the first breakfast because of this, but, at the point, it was too late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you had a less than wonderful experience with us, and we will work hard to fix the areas that you've mentioned. Thank you again for your feedback, we greatly appreciate it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice but not close to good food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel nice and clean. Very fancy lobby area. Could hear kids racing up and down halls outside of door. Not close to good restaurants. Walked to pizza place down block but didn't feel safe. Homeless people and druggies were hanging around. Did not like having to PAY for parking at $16 per night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, but we regret that you had a bad experience in the areas that you have addressed.. We will work hard to have this remedied before your next stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Cons: Showing it'sage and needs to be refreshed
good and convenient location to the downtown and river valley
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. The Chateau Lacombe Hotel is currently undergoing renovations in order to modernize our rooms and amenities. We hope we can have these issues fixed before your next stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Friendly front desk, rooms and fitness rooms need updating but was clean. 24 hour access to computers and printer was very useful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westlick

Nice view of downtown

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great stay for the most part. Loud hallways at night though. You could hear every door shut and every voice in the hallways. Difficult to sleep well because of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Katelynn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us despite the issues you experienced due to the noise level. We hope we can make this up to you next time, and we look forward to hosting you again.